I am shameful and i'm very sorry

The problem is that many negative habit are socially accepted just as some of you have mentioned. If society miraculously changes overnight and puts pressure on litterbugs, they may feel inclined to change for the better. Some people also compare us with countries in poorer conditions. How can we have aspirations if we compare ourselves with someone who is worse off? Of course lah we compare with people who are better and strive to improve. Unless of course you lack ambition in which case just go on living your life on obscurity.

Too often do we accept the way things are just because everyone does it. Why must we be drones or followers instead of leaders?

I wonder why lately earth pounds back on humans.... 'natural disaster' here and there... hurmmmmm.... mother nature sure can't control her temper lately....

maybe malaysia should do like singapore caught throw rubbish. denda sapu jalan 1 day and clean plubic toilet.......and put many MPK , MPSJ, MPPJ worker walk around......

this may sound harsh but it's most probably true. it's the FAULT OF THE PARENTS. yes, when you do shit like this it reflects on your upbringing. KURANG AJAR.

when you litter in front of your kid, who do you think he's going to emulate? when you teach your kids to squat on the toilet seat of a public toilet. when you blatantly cut queues with your kid in tow. when you tell them that it's alright to LIE to the cashier that you're below 12 so that they can get the children's rate.

in the future if i ever catch my kid littering, i will make him go out to KL and collect 1 black garbage bag of rubbish to atone for it.

and please, Malaysia is not a 3rd world country. we are a 2nd world country, with 1st world facilities but with 3rd world mentalities.

but thank god it's not a nationwide thing. go to Kuching, see how clean it is compared to KL.

prodigy said:
I was in Shanghai few months back and as much as we heard of the really bad attitude of China people, i am very very impressed with their cleanliness of their country. Maybe Shanghai is more of an affluent state as compared to the more backward province we see on TV or hear from the word of mouth. Certainly the city is very very clean and you don't see much plastic wrappers, papers, fruit skin and etc lying on the streets. As a matter of fact, there aren't much ciggarette butts given a country whereby the people smoke the most. But i do believe this is largely attributed to number of public cleaners. They really make sure the city is always clean. One thing though, they love to spit.

In Malaysia, i'm actually quite embarassed with the level of cleanliness and i was bringing one Australian friend of mine around and it was quite an embarassing sight with rubbish strewn all over.
Maybe they shoot litterbugs in the face? They shoot most criminals anyway, so shouldn't be a problem to apply that to fcukers who dirty the place. Plus, when you have a population in the billions its ok to lose a few loser for the greater good.

I feel like those garbage are invisible in our eyes even they are only a feet from us.

Our country is trying to achieve the status of a developed nation but wat they don't realise is that it also includes the mentality of the society.Nowadays in broad daylight also they want to steal.Whack up students in school.Incest and all.How to achieve a developed nation status?Its true no country can have a perfect society but in our country the number of incidences are increasing.This is just my humble opinion which i'm sure a lot of u would agree as well.

Should I say I'm ashamed of being a Malaysian, and that I'm sorry that I'm not a typical Malaysian? hahahaha

hehe

i mean i'm ashamed to be called malaysian, where as we claim to be environmental friendly, and the fact is we are not.

I'm sorry is to mentioned to the Aussie guy, of all the littering mistakes we malaysian done

i hope everyone will take this into account of a healthy society and living place.

so many first world, 3rd world, dveeloped country..make me confuse what malaysia is....

i think malaysia is "developing world's 3rd country".... hehehe....

btw i like this 1 --

Malaysia is not a 3rd world country. we are a 2nd world country, with 1st world facilities but with 3rd world mentalities. [UNQUOTE]

excatly....

There are many facets to why M'sians of all races litter, irrespective of race. Lately, I've seen a Wira with 4 chinese blokes threw a plastic bag half filled with tea outta the window, in Nibong Tebal. He had a M'sian flag fluttering on his car, too. Why? Fly M'sian flag can do such acts, ar? Anyway, since I was right behind this car, I gave a long honk and put up a no-no waggle with my pointer finger.
Psss.... ssttt... this is a non-turbo and non-winged Wira, ok?

Then, a couple of days ago, as I was having my morning TT, a Wira parked right in front of me and the chinese owner walked out and started emptying his dirty floor mats on the road, in front of me. Mind you, he's an educated chap as he later bought the Star newspaper and left.

What's the common factor? Wira? Chinese? :biggrin: Oh... oh... Mr Tate is going to kill me, liao.

BTW, ayam chinese and you can always see a small plastic bag in my car to store rubbish, including used condoms, ok?

driftkingII,
I salute you!!!!

I'm ashamed being a m'sian too, coz we have the oldest rainforest in the world and still it's being shaved for development (fark?) this and that, and it had been documented on National Geographic.

Dun only say at the falls only got ppl liddat... u come to KLCC oso can see the ppl throw rubbish at the park, leave the fast food bags, panties, and watso! If KLCC Urusharta didn't appoint anyone to clean it... then hai lat edi. No one come to KLCC.
Haihzzzz... and they say the urban ppl are well EDUCATED! Educated my arse!

My former kampung is much better!