Proton generation, satria neo here come d problem!

ken yeang said:
hopefully this thread won't becoming a proton bashing thread.....
dun think so lar.. as long as got ppl try to pull the talk back to the topic once in a while..

hmm.. neo started as "designed by short people for short people", and now its "leaking water and carpet soaked"..

so.. neo is tight and wet lar....

hmmm..

izit just me or it actually sound good for some reason?

fastcx said:
dun js hear other ppl's talk,probably those who talk din even own a neo or driven it

this is not just hear ppl say lo...
dunno la if go witness it your self better...
d widescreen really masuk air... i dint mean all of d neo will...
but some unlucky... sad story

rollakid said:
dun think so lar.. as long as got ppl try to pull the talk back to the topic once in a while..

hmm.. neo started as "designed by short people for short people", and now its "leaking water and carpet soaked"..

so.. neo is tight and wet lar....

hmmm..

izit just me or it actually sound good for some reason?

It doesn't only sound good, it feels good too.

*winks*

few ppl are lucky getting problemless proton???? i think u shoud put it another way, few ppl are lucky getting proton with no major problem... actually with QC at least 99% car u get should be no problem when new...malaysian standard expectation has drop so because of proton...i think they design satria neo according to the movie finding nemo...hahhaa...now water leaking can call satria nemo d... satria nemo still better than new gen 2 last time, flaming gen 2 due to circuit n wiring problem...

proton QC means to check if the lights are working and the wipers are working or not...

after that, stick a LULUS sticker den boleh jalan adi.....

haha....i think to get this new P1 Neo soon, but hear this kinda of feedback i think i should wait for another 2~3 more bacth to clear out this problem b4 i buy.
^_^y

To those who argue that even big guns like Toyota and so on have quality problems and recalls, may I ask a simple question to you;

How many cars does Toyota SELL annually?
How many cars does Proton SELL annually?

Don't kid yourselves. Fact of the matter is, nobody can ensure zero % of faults. So what you do is reduce it so that in the large scheme of things, the number is relatively small.

Hw many Neo's have been delivered to their owners? How many has been recalled? What's the percentage like?

Somemore, one of you actually said that your car is fine, but actrually had problems that you needed to rectify, even by yourself. You paid how much for your new car? Let me reemphasize the word "NEW". A 50k BRAND NEW car and you had to send it back to the shop. And you said your happy with that? Lovely.

I know you guys work hard to get a car and are proud of it but sometimes, although you love your car you got to be able to stand up and admit somethings are not quite as right as it should be.

si|verfish said:
To those who argue that even big guns like Toyota and so on have quality problems and recalls, may I ask a simple question to you;

How many cars does Toyota SELL annually?
How many cars does Proton SELL annually?

Don't kid yourselves. Fact of the matter is, nobody can ensure zero % of faults. So what you do is reduce it so that in the large scheme of things, the number is relatively small.

Hw many Neo's have been delivered to their owners? How many has been recalled? What's the percentage like?

Somemore, one of you actually said that your car is fine, but actrually had problems that you needed to rectify, even by yourself. You paid how much for your new car? Let me reemphasize the word "NEW". A 50k BRAND NEW car and you had to send it back to the shop. And you said your happy with that? Lovely.

I know you guys work hard to get a car and are proud of it but sometimes, although you love your car you got to be able to stand up and admit somethings are not quite as right as it should be.

silverfish bro, sorry la. I didn't mean to get on your nerves.. paiseh paiseh...

You got your point there about the percentage thingy. But my main point is, nothing is perfect. Given the fact that Toyota is a very experienced car manufacturer and proton isn't "tat" experience, i think that it is a bit too harsh on them.

I'm not siding proton or what, actually, i don't really like proton back then. But I sincerely feel that they are putting slightly more effort in making this particular model.

But I also do feel that they aren't putting enough effort to ensure the QC. I also have my fair share of problems like electrial wiring problem and dashboard problem. This are the minor abnormalities that any other car manufacturer won't have for a new car. They are tons of space for improvements.

Overall, what i want to say is that, the car have tons of potential to be the best selling car for the year to come. The design is quite original and one must say that it does look quite alright. But sadly, they let us down at the QC department. No doubt about that.

alexklg said:
silverfish bro, sorry la. I didn't mean to get on your nerves.. paiseh paiseh...

You got your point there about the percentage thingy. But my main point is, nothing is perfect. Given the fact that Toyota is a very experienced car manufacturer and proton isn't "tat" experience, i think that it is a bit too harsh on them.

I'm not siding proton or what, actually, i don't really like proton back then. But I sincerely feel that they are putting slightly more effort in making this particular model.

But I also do feel that they aren't putting enough effort to ensure the QC. I also have my fair share of problems like electrial wiring problem and dashboard problem. This are the minor abnormalities that any other car manufacturer won't have for a new car. They are tons of space for improvements.

Overall, what i want to say is that, the car have tons of potential to be the best selling car for the year to come. The design is quite original and one must say that it does look quite alright. But sadly, they let us down at the QC department. No doubt about that.
Rilek, you didn't get on my nerves. It might look that way but trust me it doesn't. Feelings don't translate well through the keyboard.

Anyway, I give credit where credit is due and criticism where criticism is due.

I gave Proton credit for the improvements that can be seen on the Neo, in terms of build quality in certain areas. Same for the looks. I criticised them for the poor ergonomics and the lack of standard safety equipment. And now it seems the old gremlins that come standard with Protons are also prevailent in the Neo which is rather dissapointing.

about the safety standard, i think they give a little thought about it. The doors are double re-inforced, there is this small little nook at the bottom of the door which claims to keep the door from collapsing inwards, standard disc brakes for all 4 wheels, pre-tensioners, and ABS, Airbags & EBD for the h-line models. I should say, these are quite an improvement from previous models in the safety department.

Nieto said:
eh dun think juara is lotus production.... i heard juara is proton 'independent' work he he~~ yeah, GO SAGA!! ha ha

and savy kinda impressed to, especialy they changed their 'cola tin body' to 'tuna tin body' and got semi auto gear

wat u heard was wrong
juara is actually a rebadge of mitsubishi townbox wif minor tweak here and there.
juara is a reliable car just that, its bloody ugly. oh well, ugliest mitsubishi ever.

If you know me, I maintain that all cars should come as standard with ABS, airbags etc. Even for budget cars. Safety shouldn't be something that only the rich could afford.

I dun understand why someone who wanted to buy a lower displacement Neo, more environmentally friendly Neo, couldn't have an Airbag or two to protect against on a collision. Anyway, I havent had much to complain on the Neo, just that the steering and the ergonomics is a real let down.

Heres a true story for ur verdict.

There was a datuk from PJ, he sent his PERDANA V6 (3 months old) to PROTON SERVICE CENTRE before he balik kampung to Kedah.

One the 2nd last days before RAYA, he went to collect it. But the PROTON customer service told him a terrible accident happened. As they store his PERDANA on a hydraulic
service lift, the lift malfunctioned overnight n his PERDANA toppled n fall flat on the ground. Damaging nearly 60% of the chassis.

He was so furious, and the PROTON insist NOT to replace another PERDANA V6 to him. Instead in the last 2 days before RAYA, PROTON gave him a brand new WAJA instead!

The datuk was like WTF !? V6 cost hundred grands and now u wanna give me a WAJA cost 50K ?

Guess wat....In the end, he had no choice but to take the WAJA. Paying loan of a PERDANA but driving a WAJA now.

Proton insist NOT to do any insurance claim on this case.

CAN U BELIEVE THAT PROTON SERVICE CENTRE NEVER INSPECT THIER HYDRAULIC SERVICE EQUIPMENT ?

I will never send my car there EVER! Even if I buy a new PROTON! This SUCKS!

war... they roask it... they pay it la... FAIR N SQUARE!!!
but... terbalik... itu sudah melebih!!!!
go at d end gotta pay for d price of v6 but driving a waja!!!
char lan dou!!! datuk drive waja, mana good looking,
waja so many on d road... but.. datuk so rich why wanna buy v6 la...
go get merc or bmw also can la

I had the opportunity to sit in my buddies Neo just a few days back. While it felt pretty sturdy, i felt it was lacking in a couple of areas. Keep in mind that these are things I did notice. It may not apply to all Neo's but I wouldn't know having only sat in one.

1) The glove compartment doesn't open smoothly and is rather small!
2) Like the Gen 2, the roof is rather low and while the a Malaysian of average height may not have a problem with this, I find it rather uncomfortable especially if you are sitting in the back.
3) The door handles feel rather fragile
4) I got a headache looking through the front windshield. I don't know if it's the angle or something else. I felt as though I was looking through a pair of powered lenses.

That's all I noticed.

Kendconcerto said:
Heres a true story for ur verdict.

There was a datuk from PJ, he sent his PERDANA V6 (3 months old) to PROTON SERVICE CENTRE before he balik kampung to Kedah.

One the 2nd last days before RAYA, he went to collect it. But the PROTON customer service told him a terrible accident happened. As they store his PERDANA on a hydraulic
service lift, the lift malfunctioned overnight n his PERDANA toppled n fall flat on the ground. Damaging nearly 60% of the chassis.

He was so furious, and the PROTON insist NOT to replace another PERDANA V6 to him. Instead in the last 2 days before RAYA, PROTON gave him a brand new WAJA instead!

The datuk was like WTF !? V6 cost hundred grands and now u wanna give me a WAJA cost 50K ?

Guess wat....In the end, he had no choice but to take the WAJA. Paying loan of a PERDANA but driving a WAJA now.

Proton insist NOT to do any insurance claim on this case.

CAN U BELIEVE THAT PROTON SERVICE CENTRE NEVER INSPECT THIER HYDRAULIC SERVICE EQUIPMENT ?

I will never send my car there EVER! Even if I buy a new PROTON! This SUCKS!
do you have any evidence to support what have you said?

The datuk is my mech's regular customer. And the datuk wife told us on the spot when I was fixing my weber last 2 weeks.

My lecturer told me this today. In order to break even, car manufacturers have to sell 120,000 cars annually. Guess how any cars Proton sold the last year? 80,000. And who's been supporting it all this while with taxpayers money?

It's better if Proton can just sell their manufacturing plant to VW. At least they can finally make a profit from a sale.