My Proposed Ice Set-up

RAD

Hello!!!

It's time to do up the ICE in my Waja. Have ordered a Pioneer 5750 as the HU. I'm planning to have set-up for ROCK and ROLL. Listen to a lot of classic rock and metal numbers - Iron Maiden, Skid Row, Motley Crue, Led Zep and the likes. So need you guys experts out there to help me out. I'll list out the other hardwares that I have:

Alpine MRV-F340 V12 4 channel amp
The Punch 200W 2 channel amp
Lanzar 3 way E-X-over
BM Boschmann 6.5" comps
Kicker FA12 12" sub

Any ideas how to use the above as a R&R system? Also, any suggestion for a rockin' front comp?(budget not more than RM600 for the front comps) Any ideas are welcomed. Thanks all!!!

RAD
019-370 1887

Hie RAD,
Nice meeting u here.
BTW about ur system, my recomendation would be

HU: Pioneer 5750
Amp: Alpine MRV-F340 V12 4 chn
Comp set: Around 1k region. I'm bias towards Bravox actually because it's bright tweeters which is good for symbals and ease of install inside a Waja w/out need to cut the black power window panel (eventhough I prefer to cut, shave and install a steel plate as what I've inside my Waja)
Sub: any good 12" subwoofer which is capable of going low preferably in sealed (up to personal preferences)

Reason of not using external e-cross actually if u're running passive in a comp set, both amp and Hu has it's own built in e-cross. From my experience, u can deactivate the rear speakers since the front still capable of sending the sound the rear passengers w/out suffering any bass attack if the system is tuned properly. I think about other alternative of speakers, u can refer to napee or mahazam as they will gladly help u :).

Hi RAD,

I can offer you

Amp: Precision Power PCS-440 (RM1000)
Speakers: Helix Deep Blue Mk2 (RM550)
Subwoofer: Helix Deep Blue with Factory Box (RM750)

The PPI comes with a built in x-over which u can use to bandpass and the power ratings are underrated.

Besides that, there are otehr options on amps and speakers... just gimme a call if you are interested at 016 324 9470

ISWARA GT-R said:
Hie RAD,
Nice meeting u here.
BTW about ur system, my recomendation would be

HU: Pioneer 5750
Amp: Alpine MRV-F340 V12 4 chn
Comp set: Around 1k region. I'm bias towards Bravox actually because it's bright tweeters which is good for symbals and ease of install inside a Waja w/out need to cut the black power window panel (eventhough I prefer to cut, shave and install a steel plate as what I've inside my Waja)
Sub: any good 12" subwoofer which is capable of going low preferably in sealed (up to personal preferences)

Reason of not using external e-cross actually if u're running passive in a comp set, both amp and Hu has it's own built in e-cross. From my experience, u can deactivate the rear speakers since the front still capable of sending the sound the rear passengers w/out suffering any bass attack if the system is tuned properly. I think about other alternative of speakers, u can refer to napee or mahazam as they will gladly help u :).

Hi bro!!! What do you think of the Bravox Kevlar comps? Will they rock my car like a hurricane?

I'm thinking of running active - tweets, mids and sub. That's explains the 2 amps and and E-x-over. But only understand in theory hehehe...so need advice how to run active.

Thanks bro.

kicker FA12??? wat woofer is that?
kicker got this model?? i tot their lowest end is just comp c12??

the MRV 340 bridge into 4ohm can get u around 90RMS X2 minimum. that's quite good.
but why dont' u consider the SS Xtream 6.5" or Peerless definition 6?
i can offer u good price for brand new items.
please PM me.

xcheong said:
kicker FA12??? wat woofer is that?
kicker got this model?? i tot their lowest end is just comp c12??

the MRV 340 bridge into 4ohm can get u around 90RMS X2 minimum. that's quite good.
but why dont' u consider the SS Xtream 6.5" or Peerless definition 6?
i can offer u good price for brand new items.
please PM me.

Bro, the Kicker FA12 is an old skool Kicker. Something from the late 90s early 2000s. It is a free air model and made in the US of A. It costed a whopping RM1500 at that time. Definitely not a low end model.

Hi RAD
The reason for that actually is because we try to get as much improvement as possible with ur budget allocated. Running full active doesn't mean anything if the drivers are not up to the par. With the cost that u need to spent on an amp, 3 way e-cross and comp set, u can actually can get a very good comp set to start with. With a good comp set u'll get far better improvement (very possible) eventhough u still running passives. The reason I chose bravox is because of its bright tweeters and strong mid. Since u're driving a waja, normal mounting location is not rigid enough (wira has better rigid mounting for mids) thus will resulting on weaker mid response. To compensate that, u need a very strong mid bass to start with. As for tweeters because it's bright suppose no prob on symbals etc. Another reason will be on mid mounting. Waja can only accept 6 1/2" with small magnet if u dun want to cut the power window panel and so far bravox doesn't require that modification. There few other brands can u can consider but so far bravox doesn't let me down specially when listening to live recordings. Just an opinion :) :P