ICE-ing my car:Need help!

adi

Calling all the sifus n ice gurus....
Juz got me a new Kenwood (KDC-MP4029) HU. Quite satisfied by it actually, pairing it with my satria OEM speakers.
Been reading all your posts in this ICE thread & contemplating to get a new front speakers.
Need advice on what brand n where to get the speakers.FYI, im more into rock setup to listen to iron maiden's, linkin park's & metallica songs.
Pls giv in layman terms as i cudnt yet understand jargons like 6.5/component speakers/etc...plus,dun quote me >1k speakers la.No budget ma ....
Your help is greatly appreicated.TQ

adi,

basically the 6.5etc is the size of the speaker in this case 6.5" in diameter.

A omponent set is a pair of mid-bass and a pair of tweeters with a crossover.

A crossover limits the frequencies played by each individual speaker.

So, for a start, get a pair of component speakers for your front and alter on progress from there.

I have Helix speakers at the moment. THe one I would recommend is the HXS-136 esprit which is for 1000. Good set which u will keep for a long time. :)

There are many components in the market these days, you would need to listen to them first and not just depend on what the people says with regards to how well its supposed to perform. Take some time and check out the ones on demo at any installer. With that you will be able to pick out which sounds best to you and is within your budget.

There are a few within the forum that have good deals on ICE stuff for sale too...check them out.

i suggest that you try and read and learn more. If you know too little then you are going to make mistakes or listened to bad advice means more $$$ spend.

i would suggest you go by stages. Buy one thing at a time when budget is a constraints. If you rush to buy everything then you will buy crap stuff which doesnt last you long.

For the speakers, I have listened to alpine comp and its too bright, kenwood not enought mid bass, sony is even worse. Try and listened to other cars, i think they will be glad to show off.

Thankyou Bert, Master D & appleyard for ur comments on this topic.
Yes, i do agree on testing all the goodies first b4 buying but the main thing i want to get from grasp from all of u sifus is what can be considered as good entry level speakers for newbie such as myself.
A kind of warning to me when i start venturing to ICE shops and finding speakers. Also what brand of speakers the kind u guys look for and kind of u guys runaway from....now i kinda of know...time for some more research. TQ

newbie tumpang ur thread...

hi adi...
i oso same like u...
newbie...hope u dont mind i tumpang ur thread man...

i want to ask the sifus...about ice setup oso...

i drive a daihatsu charade...
got a decent HU...

been scanning for a decent component set...
preferably 6.5 "

a shop in serdang recommend me a mohawk orange 6 set...
siap pasang RM380

is this a reasonable price?
is mohawk orange a decent set?
since i dont want to b blasting until pekak...
just want to enjoy wit a small budget...hehe

or is there any other brands out there better wit a budget below RM400?

hope u can help me...
thx a lot sifus! :D

beetle is selling soundstream stream xsc6.5 for 380...
get it..
it's more decent than mohawk

Newbie asks: What's ICE?? Is it any difference from the ordinary audio system when you buy a new car?? And I wanna ask that, do I need to tune/tweak the original audio system if I wanna change the radio/cassette player to CD player?? :)

Spoon DC5 II said:
beetle is selling soundstream stream xsc6.5 for 380...
get it..
it's more decent than mohawk

Thanks for the feedback

Anyone interested can PM me
:)

Anyone for Helix Blue 62MkII 6.5" 2-way component sets, pls contact me.
http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/englisch/produkte/blue62.html

Fresh stocks, brand new, unopened box. Limited quantities.

PM or email me at [email protected]

rafiqos,
no need to say sorry wan,newbies shud stick together hehehehe...

i also got similiar case to tumpang here... i'm using pioneer deh-5650 in my satria... i'm thinkin of getting some component speaker... and i have 2 amp that my brother gave it to me... both 2 channel, 1 is 200watts and the other 1 is 600watts.... do u guys have any suggession what should i do to upgrade it 1 by 1 ar? my budget is low and wanna try out something to install it all by myself... is there any sifu can teach me how to do the wiring thing what kind of wire for the power core and the speaker cable?

pdj2827,

mind telling us your budget for the component speakers?
less than 500?

Beetle said:
pdj2827,

mind telling us your budget for the component speakers?
less than 500?

around 300 - 400... u can recommend me anything that is sound good?
ur soundstream stream xsc6.5 is a new set?

pdj2827 said:
around 300 - 400... u can recommend me anything that is sound good?
ur soundstream stream xsc6.5 is a new set?

yup its a new set, but currently it has been sold out
If you can stretch your budget abit, I have a set of JL Audio XR650Csi
The market price is about RM1300, I'm letting it go for a fraction of it only
Check out my posting
PM me if you're interested
This are pretty high end components :)