ICE for pick-up

wideawake

I have a 2005 Toyota Hilux.

Does anybody have any idea on where to install a sub-woofer in my truck? Component speakers and amp is not a problem, the only thing is, where should I put my subwoofer?

And no, can't put it at the flatbed.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

wide

i just saw a hilux at kf audio last sunday, the sub box was placed at the rear but the seats were folded up. i guess that customer doesnt have ppl seating at the back all the time. if the seats were down i also couldnt find any place for a sub box. maybe a small active sub that u can put under the front seat. but i also didnt check the clearance under the seat so i cant confirm if theres space or not.

Hi Zenn,
Probably a good idea also. When people want to sit at the rear, I can keep it behind. My rear compartment has a cover, but not so waterproof.

How does an active sub work? How small is it?

erm...ppl at my place here put 10" sub in their pickups...oso hilux...put it in the small space behind the rear seats....but u onli hav small variety of subs to choose from..due to the compact space...

maybe you can try putting it on the door panels? use the door as the enclosure lo...might be able to work... =) my two cents niaa...

wideawake said:
Hi Zenn,
Probably a good idea also. When people want to sit at the rear, I can keep it behind. My rear compartment has a cover, but not so waterproof.

How does an active sub work? How small is it?

active means u dont need an amp to run, it sort of has an amp built in. u can find some small ones like alpine swd1600, dimension 282 x 195 x 92 mm, weight 5kg only
thumb.php

I've actually given this some thought when I was contemplating of buying a Frontier.

You definitely do not have any space in the cabin for a nice set-up. The only choice is on the bed.

I know you said you do not want it there, but please bear with me. Wiring it onto the bed might not give you as much bass as would in a car. this is because the cabin and the bed are actually seperate. Take a closer look.

My solution is to cut a hole through the cabin and the bed, and then joining them together again. Now depending on how you use your truck, this might or might not be the best solution. Let's say you rarely take it off road(as in really off road, not just visiting building sites), then just patching up the body work would do. Extra measures can be taken in the form support beams across the opening.

If you do take it off road, you can join the cabin and bed together with a rubber wrappng. The kind that you see on modern train ones. Basically the heavy duty/industry/automotive type. this would allow the flexing of the body.

Both of this methods will require that your bed lid to be waterproof, at least the part where you will have the ICE components. And also require a lot of work.

Another way is to extend the space at the back of the rear folding bench. however there aren't that many space you can add hear, and depending on the passenger and music, they might get really sick from all the thumping. You will still have to do some cutting and welding as well, at least it's not as major as the other 2 options above.

ModMaestro,

Wow..... some thought you have there. So I assume you didn't buy the Frontier?
I think I'll target for an active-sub that'll fit under the seat. The guy at the ICE shop said that Alphard has an active-sub fitted standard under one of the seats.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Alpine-Truck-Sound-System_W0QQitemZ290003397896QQihZ019QQcategoryZ18803QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

wonder how the bass sound in that truck.

can see teh seat seals the subs and dunno how the sub sound like.

maybe u want to try using the dashboard as enclosure.
use fiberglass enclosure and put it at the glove box.

wideawake,

yeah, didn't buy the frontier in the end.

About the active sub underneath the bench, it's a good idea. But then again, the bench sits on the body, meaning you don't exactly have any readily available space underneath the seats. Well, that's the last time I check when riding my friend's Hilux.

But hey, maybe you can modify the rear seats at the same time. The rear bench on a pick up aren't known for being comfortable.

All the best. remember to tell us what and how you do it when it's done.

The comfort on rear bench in the 2005 Hilux is acceptable. I am contemplating to cut a whole in the compartment under the rear seat. But scared if I cut a hole, I will see the road instead... :O

Need to investigate further.

another option is to modify the doors lah, put 8" subs in all 4 doors, hehe sure cun...

I have seen someone using the Ford Ranger installed a 8" tube SW below the compartment box at the front. Results are individualistic depending how much bass u are looking for. There is basically no interference on the passenger seat but sacrificing some minor leg room.

hmmm...actually i own a frontier and i use the space behind my rear seats to put the sealed box and its got 2 kicker 10"..its not bad.. :)

due to there is no space to allocate the woofer
thus it is advisable to install those SLIM TYPE woofer with built in amplifier

Write your reply...