and just a couple of days ago i inheritted two amps from my dad's car

the amps model are sony xm-5540 and xm-3040

my idea of a decent ice would be
the xm-5540 powering all my speakers and tweeters
while the xm3040 powers my woofers

here comes the problem:
i was actually thinking of using the two rca jacks behind for the woofer
while my speaker output from the back of the player goes to the amp

but everytime i connect the speaker output from the player to the amp, there would be no sound from the speakers (note, i have already connected the speakers to the amp)
and the protection light on the amp would be on?

anyone know what is happening or whether a not this type of connection is allowed
cause i cut one side of the rca cable to connect to the output on the player (negative to negative and positive to positive just like how electrical would be)

please advice
thank

(i am better with electrical wiring as i meddle more of those rather than my ice)

help

this is not type of connection.if u want use speaker output connect to ur
amp with rca u need converter equipment (high input to low output)

your HU only got 2 RCA output?

well, if it does then then you will have to place a Y splitter for it.

if it has 4 RCA output then place the front for speakers and rear for sub.

if it has 6 RCA outpun then place the front for speakers and sub for sub (optional rear for tweeters if u're going acitve).

if you use the speaker output frm the HU to amp then you'll need to wire them to the errrr... high level input if i'm not mistake. don't do it this way lah... small² wire where got keng wan... use RCA to get better power running to your AMP :wink:

oh ya... RTFM :wink::wink:

saga iswara,
what kinda converter is it, can i get it from those audio shops and what
exactly is it called?

DJThoRmented,

i know lar takde geng if connect from those tiny wires, but then better effects marrr
reasoning to it would be if i were to use a Y converter for the rca outputs
all i will get is rear sound without any front sound
that would effect some sound that are meant for the front not being played
(or that is what i think lar)

even if i were to use a pre-amp, the sound would be the same as the input signal is a rear signal

so i think the converter that saga iswara is suggesting best suits my idea for now
but i am always open to more suggestions except for changing to a better player

u can't connect ur speaker wires to ur amp..
ur amp can't receive the signals
u must connect it using RCA

DarkAccoon said:
saga iswara,
what kinda converter is it, can i get it from those audio shops and what
exactly is it called?

DJThoRmented,

i know lar takde geng if connect from those tiny wires, but then better effects marrr
reasoning to it would be if i were to use a Y converter for the rca outputs
all i will get is rear sound without any front sound
that would effect some sound that are meant for the front not being played
(or that is what i think lar)

even if i were to use a pre-amp, the sound would be the same as the input signal is a rear signal

so i think the converter that saga iswara is suggesting best suits my idea for now
but i am always open to more suggestions except for changing to a better player

yes u can get it at audio shop.It is called "HIGH LEVEL OUTPUT CONVERTER".
olso u can use pre- amp coz pre-amp got 3 output.(front output,rear output & sub output)pre-amp have fader control (rear & front) and sub vol & feq.
pls refer pic

"high level output converter"
got it

the reason as to why i dun want to use a pre-amp is
no matter what, the signal sent to the pre-amp is still a rear signal
so the front signal will never be produce if i were to use a pre-amp
unless i connect my front speakers to the built-in speaker output and my rear speakers to the amp lar

your CD recordings are in stereo, not front & rear, so even if u have just one pair RCA output it is ok. i think better get a 3 way crosssover (front, rear & sub)

DarkAccoon said:
"high level output converter"
got it

the reason as to why i dun want to use a pre-amp is
no matter what, the signal sent to the pre-amp is still a rear signal
so the front signal will never be produce if i were to use a pre-amp
unless i connect my front speakers to the built-in speaker output and my rear speakers to the amp lar

brader... what lar u talking round about... aiyah...

your RCA out got either 1/2/3 pairs only (1 pair is 2 output, one for left one more for right)

normally, if 1 pair it's left and right. "Y" splitter RCA will grant you the xs to let it become 2 pairs. So...
1 pair output from HU >
Y splitter (become 2 pairs) >
1 RCA pair Speakers amp / 1 RCA pair Sub woofer

2 pairs RCA outout usually, 1 pair front / 1 more pair rear. Just do what I do...
1 pair Front output frm HU > Speakers amp
1 pair Rear output frm HU > Sub amp

3 pairs RCA output (now this one more flexible) are usually 1 pair front / 1 pair rear / 1 pair sub. So...
1 pair Front output frm HU > Speakers amp
1 pair Sub output frm HU > Sub amp

kalau mau lagi flexi
1 pair Front output frm HU > Mid amp
1 pair Rear output frm HU > Tweeter amp
1 pair Sub output frm HU > Sub amp

This "Rear" thing I think unclear lar for you. Go learn more RTFM dude!!!

Pre amp also got Front/Rear where you can adjust from the Fader.

It is near to NEVER advisable to connect your amp thru small wirings of HU. HU hot nanti lagi susah.

So go "RTFM" :wink:

Ok your HU has 4 preouts. This is how you connect em (Sub take the rear output) :wink:

DJThoRmentedthis is what i did for my setup after two days at work with it DIY style

just got back from testing the setup

results was great thought i think i will need to get a crossover for the back speakers

i spilt the pair of rca out to two pairs and divided them into:-
1 ) amp for sub
2 ) rear speakers

front speakers are still powered by my player which is a pioneer deh 2550

reason for this setup is because i dun want to install a pre-amp for the fading of front and rear speakers
else i would have connected all the speakers to the 4 channel amp for the rear speakers

thought it was DIY, but there is NO
1) aeroplane sound when blasting music and accelerating
2) plak plak sound when pressing the horn

problems faced by me now that will take me some other holidays to fix currently after this setup is done
1) rear speakers are mid speakers so i think i need to get a crossover for it
since the sound will start to break if i increase the volume too much
2) my two white lights at the back will need some padding as it is vibrating when the
bass goes vibrating

did another experiment on my audio system today
here are the conclusions

crossover do not work well with front speakers

i have no idea as to why it is that way but it is true

when i attached the crossover to my mid speakers at the back, it works wonders
but when i attached it to my mid and tweeters on the front, OMG the sound is horrible
worst than two cats duking it out

anyway, re-vamp my audio system once again at night and here are my current setup

this time using a pre-amp instead of a rca splitter
rear and front speakers are powered by the amp
and one more extra amp just for the 2 10" or 8" woofers i am planning for the future

crossover that i currently have will be connected to the mid speakers at the back once i get my woofers
currently using my mid to generate the bass
=P

any good recommendation for a good pre-amp that does not cost a lot
and any suggestions for the woofers????

was hoping u got an electronic crossover (to split 1 rca into 2 or 3) instead of a passive which is connected to speaker wires.

wanted to get an electronic crossover

but no money at the moment
=P
the cheapest one i could find was about hundred something near 2 hundred
and that is those jalan pasar grade wan

passive crossover on the other hand is cheaper
=P

and today i will be testing the new setup for any aeroplane sound and plak plak sound then pressing the horn
considering the fact that i have connected the front speakers to the amp

will post out the details later

and you guys dun wanna know what i found out about speaker cables
ahhaha

you will get the shock of your life

i did a comparison between speaker cables and normal autocables
and guess what
the autocablessounded much more better
clearer and more solid sound

the speaker cables i am using aren't those white thin ones that accesory shop use also
it is those slightly thicker on the inside and insulation bloody thick one

now i wonder why?

Your DIY job really keng. Meet up? :wink:

Like Abang Rosen said, use electronic XO better (IMO).

Is the XO for your mid made for it? Just wondering.

Anyway frm late nite yesterday (which I did not see Abg Rosen) I hope I'm reading things rite. You currently have 3 amps now?

If so, do this... 1 amp 1 comp and hit the rear directly from your HU... he he he :wink:

Active is more fun :wink:

who is abang rosen?

meet up arr, wait till i finish everything first larrr
woofer also haven't find

currently got two amps only
both 4 channels

1 amp is used for speakers and the other is just waiting for the woofers
the XO that i am using is those jalan pasar one, works pretty much great to me after several testing

but it does kinda suck on the low range, mid is okay and high is ....well....... dun see no difference

just got back from testing the system
well, the sound is great
no aeroplane and plak plak sound
all range of frequency is available and clear as crystal
except for the tweeter which will come out a little bit of........"not to my satisfaction" sound when i blast the music

(now i have to wonder why my brother's car has those sound after he installed his amp?)

DarkAccoon said:
who is abang rosen?

that would be me.......... :tongue: