[Help~!] : 4 Channel Amp setup

kk9972

Hi all master,

Im having a 4 channel amp. My CD player has only speaker output. So, one converter is being used to split out for HPF and LPF. Then I connected it to my AMP accordingly as

HPF : Red and Black
Red -> Channel 1
Black -> Channel 2

LPF : Red and Black
Red -> Channel 3
Black -> Channel 4

For the output stage, I have 4 speaker but front 2 speakers sharing CHANNEL 1and rear 2 speakers sharing CHANNEL 2 and Woofer is sharing CHANNEL 3 & 4.

My question is, I found that my speaker is only producing Left Channel sound and NO Right Channel sound.

Is my setup wrong? Please help me... :cry_smile:

it should be both front left and rear left to the channel with the black input, and then both front right and rear right to the channel with the red input. remember red = right side, easier like that...R & R

kk9972 said:
Hi all master,

Im having a 4 channel amp. My CD player has only speaker output. So, one converter is being used to split out for HPF and LPF. Then I connected it to my AMP accordingly as

HPF : Red and Black
Red -> Channel 1
Black -> Channel 2

LPF : Red and Black
Red -> Channel 3
Black -> Channel 4

For the output stage, I have 4 speaker but front 2 speakers sharing CHANNEL 1and rear 2 speakers sharing CHANNEL 2 and Woofer is sharing CHANNEL 3 & 4.

My question is, I found that my speaker is only producing Left Channel sound and NO Right Channel sound.

Is my setup wrong? Please help me... :cry_smile:

As I know HiLow coverter c/w 4 wire input (high input) for normal stuff, 2 wire for right ( + & -) speaker & another 2 for left (+ & -) speaker & out 1 set RCA (low output).. Which type of converter you use..? coz yours 1 c/w HPF & LPF which generally available in electronic crossover or pre-amp..

Lastime my frend use 2 HiLow converter in his car, 1 for front speaker & 1 for rear speaker.. each converter connect to 1 unit 4ch amp to drive front speaker & rear speaker.. his 4ch amp have low output which he use connect to another 2ch amp to drive subwoofer..

maybe dia pakai 2 biji hi-lo convertor kot, thats why ada 2 pairs of rca...

Hi all...
Sorry for wrong information. The convertor is actually separate out Rch and Lch. Im being confused by the shop owner... make me blur only... very pai seh...
Yesterday draw out the map by myself can check through all the channel setting and connection. Finally manage to get Left and Right channels sound out. =)

Let start and comment me.

The convertor separate out L and R and then separate out to 2 as below.
Rch -> Rch1 & Rch2
Lch -> Lch1 & Lch2

Input :
Channel 1 -> Rch1
Channel 2 -> Lch1
Channel 3 -> Rch2
Channel 4 -> Lch2

OutPut :
Channel 1 -> Front Speaker
Channel 2 -> Rear Speaker
Channell 3 & 4 -> Brigde it up and connect to Woofer.

How is the setup? At least now I can hear both L and R channel sound from speaker.

Converter Ouput
Rch -> Rch1 & Rch2
Lch -> Lch1 & Lch2

Amp Input :
Channel 1 -> Rch1 - OK
Channel 2
-> Lch1 - OK
Channel 3 -> Rch2 - OK
Channel 4 -> Lch2 - OK

Amp OutPut :
Channel 1 -> Front Speaker - Sure or not
Channel 2
-> Rear Speaker - Sure or not
Channel 3 & 4 -> Brigde it up and connect to Woofer - OK./COLOR]

I dont think you can get balance control if you connect like this but fader should be laa.. Set you HU balance at Left, I'm sure only rear speaker produce sound & set at Right should be front speaker produce sound.. not left or right speaker but above left & right at the same time.. U should connect front/rear Left speaker at Ch2 & Right speaker at Ch1 than U get the balance but U lost Fader control haaa haa.. Why ? coz U only use 1 output from HU.. biasa laa.. jimat cost it's..

Ya lo~~!

oldskolboyz said:
Converter Ouput
Rch -> Rch1 & Rch2
Lch -> Lch1 & Lch2

Amp Input :
Channel 1 -> Rch1 - OK
Channel 2
-> Lch1 - OK
Channel 3 -> Rch2 - OK
Channel 4 -> Lch2 - OK

Amp OutPut :
Channel 1 -> Front Speaker - Sure or not
Channel 2
-> Rear Speaker - Sure or not
Channel 3 & 4 -> Brigde it up and connect to Woofer - OK./COLOR]

I dont think you can get balance control if you connect like this but fader should be laa.. Set you HU balance at Left, I'm sure only rear speaker produce sound & set at Right should be front speaker produce sound.. not left or right speaker but above left & right at the same time.. U should connect front/rear Left speaker at Ch2 & Right speaker at Ch1 than U get the balance but U lost Fader control haaa haa.. Why ? coz U only use 1 output from HU.. biasa laa.. jimat cost it's..

yes, you are right... would balance up the sound. my right speaker will be lower volumn abit... don know y... any ideal to tune it back??

kk9972 said:
yes, you are right... would balance up the sound. my right speaker will be lower volumn abit... don know y... any ideal to tune it back??

buy another converter lee.. easy to know which ch got prob.. sometime amp it self, maybe left output bigger than right.. I only know this decease always happen to Macrom, SS, RF amp..

em... seem like amp itself oso is a problem. Anyway, yesterday get out my convertor, and adjust the Rch and Lch sound to become balance. but cant really get it balance, just agak agak only. but still ok la.
Hey bro, i found that my rear speaker volumn is higher. Based on the setting, anything would cause this happen?

easy way to solve it set your HU fader more at front or reduce amp gain.. Normaly coz by using defference brand/model/series & size of speaker. Each speaker have their own charateristic, example:-

a) Your rear spk sensivity higher than front spk.. like rear >91db vs front b) Your rear spk power smaller than front spk & amp itself..like rear spk 120wrms & amp per ch 75wrms
c) Unbalance amp gain setting, rear more than front

Write your reply...