setup and wiring

lan evo

here is my current setup,can anybody tell me anything wrong with the wiring and setup

pioneer 7650

dls c6 component

adx 4 channel amp

audiostream

ligthning audio 12 inch single sub

from the rear of the hu,there was 3 rca pre out.so i connect the 'sw' one to the amp input channel 1-2,and the 'front' to the amp input channel 3-4.
channel 1-2 bridged to play subwoofer.channel 3-4 play the front component.

and theres a switch at the amp showing 'mode',i switched it to 4 channel mode.

maybe SW means sub woofer and should be connected to your sub amp if u have one. and the Front output to your 4ch amp. but i think u just need 1 rca connected only (front) and use the crossover on the amp to filter the low frequencies to your sub (ch 3&4 bridged) and the high to your components (ch 1&2).

it is fine with the SW into channel 1 and 2. Coz it is bridged for the subwoofer.

but i do not understand ur audiostream crossover there.
u should have two wires for each of the input. take the
+ and - wires from channel 3 and 4 put into the inputs of
audiostream.

the connect your audiostream output + (low pass) and - to
the passive crossover of the component sets.

why do u need the audiostream? your HU should have built in
crossover already. if u has a 3 way built in crossover in HU,
u don even need the passive crossover of your component...
neither u need the audiostream crossover. make thing simple
here, so that minor mistake can be avoided.

I've checked. Your HU doesn't have 3 way crossover. Only High low pass.
set ur low pass at 80hz and high pass at 80hz too. or both at 100hz.

i don think audiostream is needed tough. since the amp also able to filter
too. find a installer to check for you. and your component has it's own passive
crossover.

i need the audiostream because my amp cant filter,thats why i use the audiostream xover.im using single 12 inch woofer thats why only got 2 wire,is it done it wrongly?i dun like to send to installer,all also cutting my neck:mad:

lan evo said:
i need the audiostream because my amp cant filter,thats why i use the audiostream xover.im using single 12 inch woofer thats why only got 2 wire,is it done it wrongly?i dun like to send to installer,all also cutting my neck:mad:
your HU is able to filter the frequencies for your sub isn't it?
if u want to be secure use the audiostream. coz who knows
once the battery is unplugged.. all memory in HU gone. but can
always reset of course.

Use the Low pass for your sub application only then. run the compo
direct from amp. no problem.

then u will need to take the + and - wire from the bridged channel
and wire it to only one side of the inputs. and get the sub positive
to the lowpass(output) and sub negative back to audiostream negative(output).

strange crossover, i mean the audiostream. it has only Highpass at 150khz
and low pass at 90hz. wht is the main purpose of this crossover? i was
blur.. it mention subwoofer crossover.

if u're using for your sub.. why is the wire so small? won't it melt and cause
fire? try to find anyone in KL willing to check for you. i wish to help.. but i'm
in sarawak. i also do my audio myself after being charge kao kao by installers.
i find it easy.. just time is needed.

good luck.

sounds scary!!!:eek: caught fire!!!

really will it caught fire??if yes i will change it faster!!

i think theres something wrong with my amp cause it cant filter the high pass.
i only use the audiostream xover for the subwoofer,the component direct from amp.

and one more thing,the mode should switch to 2,3 or 4 channel?

When ya'll say `expensive', installation charges, what is expensive? As in let's say you wanna install a HU, with an amp, 4 speakers and a sub. What's the `market' price for such installationl? RM100?RM200 ? RM300 and beyond?

i just know that when more current run through the thin wire it will get
hot and melted the rubber... then exposed.. very dangerous.
be very careful for these elctrical things in car.. i guess u ever read from
newspaper that a car driving properly on the road, but suddenly it caught
fire.

i do see supermarket selling audio wires... it is larger than ur black and white.
normally for sub, we're using larger size one. the price from supermarket is
cheaper than the car accesory shop... exactly the same wire i see. darn.

try to use your pioneer 7650 to filter! it is better! ur 7650 got 2 way crossover.
High & low pass. don even need the audiostream.

First off, you didnt explain what problem u have.. u just asked for an opinion on whats wrong. We dunno what is wrong so what else can we say? Tell us man...

From what u wrote... HU to the amp there is no problem... conenct RCA SW to channels 1-2, FR to 3+4 is ok.

From what I see, you bridge your amp channels 1+2 to the audio stream (AS) x-over then the AS to the subwoofer right? IF so from the wiring you have done, your sub shouldnt be moving or if it moves, very little.

You have a small little problem at your crossover. If you notice, ur x-over allows u to go high pass n low pass and there is a left n right. You do not bridge the sub at the x-over! you bridge at the amp! (Picture 52)

So from amp bridged you will get a + and -, the + and - goes to one input of the x-over. so use left (or right) input + and - to the amp. THen the left output, - to the sub, + to the low pass +. SO ur wires should be white, black, black, white. (+and - to the input of left, -, + to the subwoofer)

This should solve the problem u are facing, whatever it is.

Additionally, you should not use the AS x-over as your amp has a built in low pass x-over which will allow u to tune it better. (Picture 55). Direct connect the sub to the amp, set the x-over switch to 'ON' and set the x-over low pass to the middle and adjust from there. Seems to be max of 240hz and low of (too blurry pic to see)

Lastly, from (Picture 54), please verify that you are bridging the amp correctly. Incorrect bridging will casue the amp to have problems.

No need to scare the fella on the cables lar... 16gauge speaker cables are fine since his amp is at most a 50wx4 amp.

Power side u need to take care and a 8gauge minimum is recommended.

If u still cant solve it, call me... mebbe can help u see in PJ are (Kota Damansara preferred)

bert:thanks for the reply,i hope can let u see but im from ipoh.haha
i will try to get more detail pics,and draw a diagram how the system wire up.
the problem with my system was that,there was vocal(human voice) coming from the sub.isnt the amp will filter it?

and one more the 'mode' switch at the amp should switch it to where?2,3 or 4 channel?

actually i send it to installer but i dun believe them so i ask here.when i ask them they ask me to fix this and fix that.

mmm.. if u bridge it should be 3-way. After u wire it the way I posted, you shouldnt have the voices anymroe. Also, try to go direct from amp to sub.. follow what I wrote to use the x-over from the amp.