Budget SQ setup

andyxx

halo, newbie here. i got few question to ask before i start my SQ ice setup. i looking for new component, 4 channel amp, and a 12" sub. i plan to spend 400 for component, 300 for amp (tight budget), and 400-500 for Sub. any suggestion? i aim for ss XSC.6, and budget amp and sub can recommend to me? thanks for all sifu

your tight budget for component and sub is ok although you can go for rm300 sub. It is the amplifier that is the problem as you cannot find any 4-channel amp for rm300 that can sufficiently power your setup.
Maybe you can try rm800 for 4-channel amp in 2nd.hand market.

if your budget is only 1.2k i suggest u look for branded 2nd hand items, if u buy new the items are at that range will be all china or local made..

also would change the budget to 300 for sub, 400 for amp and 500 for component set, since for SQ the speakers are more important at the beginner stage.

The SS XSC.6 is a horrible component set. the tweeters are oversharp and painful to listen to. the crossovers don't filter properly. and at certain high frequencies, the tweeters resonate and REALLY hurt your ears. My verdict is stay away from these for an SQ setup.

which component u guys prefer?? i also dun like sharp tweeter... my ear feel pain. BM sub ok? izzit possible to get dual coil around my budget? can i use 2 channel amp for my initial setup wif sub? might go for mono in future.

maybe you all do not realise that most component speakers passive crossovers are optimised for off-axis installation. If you install it on-axis then you have to EQ the tweets down.
I believe this is the reason for most ppl saying their tweets are too 'sharp'... i.e. wrong installation.

So if all are bad, what are the good comp set for sq setup? budjet around 400-500. need sifu help

which brand or model having balance performance? jbl? or BM?