Questions about amps and preamps..

1, 4 channel amp

hi brother,
i got 1, 4 channel amp rated at 900W,100RMS

my HU got 1 RCA out, my amp got 2 RCA in, currently i installed a 6 1/2 mid infront of door panel and i plan to bridge the amp for a subwoofer...

so my set up will be 2 channel for mid and 2 channel for a single woofer,

what do i need to add? in order i can control the system?
my amp got 3 turnable switch which stated bass,treble and level, and a switch to switch whether sub or normal....
thanks.

satria4g13p said:
hi brother,
i got 1, 4 channel amp rated at 900W,100RMS

my HU got 1 RCA out, my amp got 2 RCA in, currently i installed a 6 1/2 mid infront of door panel and i plan to bridge the amp for a subwoofer...

so my set up will be 2 channel for mid and 2 channel for a single woofer,

what do i need to add? in order i can control the system?
my amp got 3 turnable switch which stated bass,treble and level, and a switch to switch whether sub or normal....
thanks.

100watt RMS is enough to power your component only, if you want to power component and subwoofer together then you can only hear for a while only, as the amp will cut off due to overheated. Anyway how long do you use your player already? If few years already and your player got some problems, better you change a new player that has 2 or 3 pre-outs, so that you no need to spend extra for the pre-amp. Hope this will help you.

ic

but i just want to power a small woofer, 8inch perhaps...not high end woofer...my components just 200w 8ohms..

soulfly said:
ok guys now my turn... hehe

what should i do/how do i set up/what should i add to these stuffs:
1. deh-p5550mp HU (got RCA out for 'FRONT' and 'SUBS')
2. 1x 4Ch 360W amp
3. 1x 2Ch 800W amp
4. 2x 10" subs (400w) with enclosure

I was thinking:
1. Getting a 6.5" component set with passive crossover

My questions:
1. How is the connection? 4ch for components and 2Ch for subs?
2. For the two amps, what is the best way to power them up? Can they share the same fuse?
3. My HU has built in crossover (hi-pass low pass), where should i connect the passive x-overs, after the 4Ch amps isn't it?

Since your player has only 2 pre-out so 1 is for 4 channel amp which will power all your component or midbass, 1 for sub. Fuse you can share the same, as long as is a big fuse (mine is 60amp I guess) If you want to make full use of your 4 channel amp, the best is you buy a RCA splitter from eletronic shop, not car shop, as the price will diferrent alot, assuming that you don't want to use pre-amp. If you use pre-amp then you need 3 RCA cables, if from your player only 1 RCA and 1 RCA splitter.

Anyway my concept is no pre-amp or eletronic crossover involved. My setup is:
HU DEH-5750mp which has 3 RCA output.
Caliber amp for my front(JVC) and rear speakers(Rockford)
Lightning Audio B300.2 for my sub which blow 2 subwoofer aready, 1 is Rockford and 1 is RDS, the shop asked me to install a eletronic crossover or a coil to reduce the frequency, this will happen when the amp output power is greater than the woofer.

satria4g13p said:
but i just want to power a small woofer, 8inch perhaps...not high end woofer...my components just 200w 8ohms..

What is the brand of your front speakers? I think it should take up most of your amp load already, so is advisable for you to buy another amp/

Like that ah, abit challanging. If the speaker used up 30watt RMS, then you ill have balance 70watt for woofer, if like that better you change to a better 6'X9' 3 way speaker.

satria4g13p said:
can i add a preamp?
or what they call y-spliter cable?
since my amp got 2 rca

Y-spliter cable is same as what I say the RCA cable.
If not mistaken, now your only use 2 channel from your amp, and another set is on 'sleeping mode'. Just say, if you still want to use 2 channel for speakers and 2 channel for woofer, then you have to use 2 RCA cable to do the job.
If you decide to buy another amp for woofer and you still want to keep your 4 channel amp, so you have to buy another pair of speakers, for rear one. Unless you want more control on treble, mid and bass, if not pre-amp no use already.
Since pre-amp no use for you and you want to full use the 4 channel, the best is you get a y-spliter. From your HU the front will goes to your 4 channel amp. Before connect to amp, use the y-spliter so it will become 2 pairs of input to your amp. Then you can set the gains for front and rear.

yes
i used 2 channel out of 4,
so means that i need a y-splitter in order to make the amp run with woofer and components..or?
i connect the RCA from HU > preamp>amp > woofer and speaker? can i do this way?

satria4g13p said:
yes
i used 2 channel out of 4,
so means that i need a y-splitter in order to make the amp run with woofer and components..or?
i connect the RCA from HU > preamp>amp > woofer and speaker? can i do this way?

I make it wrong already, is my mistake, for your setup on 1 amp
No pre-amp
HU(front) > amp > speakers, HU(sub) > amp > woofer.

With pre-amp
1.HU(front) > pre > amp > speakers,
> amp > sub

or
2.HU(front) > pre > amp > speakers, HU(sub) > amp > woofer

Please be remind that the pre-amp that you want to buy should got some brand one, not cap ayam, if not, you will have airplane sound.
On 1. your fader on your player will not serve any function any more.
If you are going to buy another amp for woofer, then my earlier reply applys.

No pre-amp
HU(front) > amp > speakers, HU(sub) > amp > woofer. ( i need 2 amp?? )

what it means of HU (Sub)? i got 1RCA from the hu only

> amp > sub this consist 1 amp only right?

satria4g13p said:
No pre-amp
HU(front) > amp > speakers, HU(sub) > amp > woofer. ( i need 2 amp?? )

what it means of HU (Sub)? i got 1RCA from the hu only

> amp > sub this consist 1 amp only right?

Aiya, see wrong liao, if like that you have to buy a pre-amp already, so the setup will be
HU RCA > pre > RCA> amp > speakers
> RCA> amp > woofer

thank you

thank you brother, now my plan just putting 2, 6 1/2 mid in front and a pair tweeter, and a woofer at the back...hehe