ice setup

lan evo

how to link/connect genesis profile 5 channel amp with the item below

dls classic c6 component set

single lightning audio 12 inch sub

alpine 9853

set the 9853 jumper to 3-way mode (under the HU)
use 3 pairs of RCA to connect to the 5 ch amp
ch 1,2 connect to tweeter directly
ch 3,4 connect to mids
ch 5 connect to sub
no need to use passive
can use HU xover for 3 way setup, u can start with these settings
Hi hp 2500hz
mid lp 2500hz
mid hp 63hz
sub lp 63hz
later on u can try other values (little bit higher or lower) to see what suits u

zenn:

sorry newbie here.

some question here

what is passive and what is active?

ok,so what u recomended was

use 3 set rca

front output from hu to ch 1/2 amp then amp ch 1/2 to tweeter

rear output from hu to ch 3/4 amp then amp ch 3/4 to mid

sub output from hu to ch 5 amp then amp ch 5 to sub

my current setup

alpine 9853:

front output to dls genesis amp(2 channel) connect to dls c6 component set

sub output to lightning audio(2 channel) connect to lightning audio 12 inch single sub

so my question,do u think the new setup will be better than my current one?

I think what Zenn meant is that:

1. Turn off all power.
2. Plug out the HU and remove power from it.
3. Change the PHYSICAL jumper/switch from Normal mode to 3-way mode (this will change you current Normal RCA mode from Front/Rear/Sub to 3-way active mode High/Mid/Low)
4. Connect the HU and then look at manual which RCA is for High/Mid/Low and connect them properly to your amp. It will be:
High > Tweeters (Channels 1 & 2)
Mid > Mids (Channels 3 & 4)
Low > Sub woofer (Channel 5)
5. At the crossover settings on your HU, do as the frequencies Zenn has provide.

The thing about changing your setup this way is flexibility. With passive crossover (the small box comes with your comps) you can't do much but with the setup above you will be going for active setup. So boleh lebih fine tuning lar.

:wink:

aik how come amp tukar plak? now one 2ch DLS genesis amp and another 2ch lightning amp for sub ka? like that u cant run active for tweeter & mids anymore. not to say which system is better but at least in active u can play-2 a bit with tweeter crossover point. maybe can try both and see which suits u better.

running active is when u dont use the passive crossover anymore (that small box that comes with the comp set). each amp channel connects directly to a speaker.

yes,now running 2 channel dls genesis for the front component.so im using passive xover,rite?

change setup because i dun like messy wiring.so one amp kautim all.since i found a 5 channel amp so i ask for opinion how to wire it up

somemore i ask here because my installer was fuck up fella,ask him tell abit dun tell abit

want to try other place but afraid kena slash.

ok, 2 choices, active setup or passive setup

1) active setup, 4 channel of the amp go to 2 X mid and 2 X tweeter, no need to use passive crossover, last channel goes to subwoofer

2) Passive setup, 4 channel bridged and become 2 channel, power your front component, passive crossover will be used, last channel goes to subwoofer

k2000 said:
ok, 2 choices, active setup or passive setup

1) active setup, 4 channel of the amp go to 2 X mid and 2 X tweeter, no need to use passive crossover, last channel goes to subwoofer

2) Passive setup, 4 channel bridged and become 2 channel, power your front component, passive crossover will be used, last channel goes to subwoofer

which one better?

active set up is batter and flexible to tune with your taste.

there is no better, active need more tuning, passive more easy, no need much tuning, depend on your taste loh

lan evo said:
which one better?
for my opinion passive better.......
then ur component set will be easy to tune with pre amp....then the sound will be fu%#@ing chum dude........
lol

I would also agree that there is no better, both depends on tuning and install. Active would need more tuning to sound good, but passive only has minimal tuning, can only work with the mounting and install, but passives sound more natural to me, but you'll probably ending up making your own passives, but that'll be another story.

But i would suggest running active as it can compensate in-car acoustic environment,