need advice...

kelvinyam said:
As far as I understand, some amp doesn't come with frequency adjustment on each channel, or gain / volume, or when you need to make a quick adjustment on these function, you use a preamp. There are a few types of preamp, this is just a type that I know.

u mean if use amp must use pre-amp also?

No, pre amp is not required if you don't need such a control, and in fact a low quality preamp will only introduce more noise into the sound, not a good thing. And if you have a good HU, which has most of the controls including bass fequency, you don't need a preamp. This is just what I know, there shall be more.

For me pre-amp is for ppl using 2 HU in his system.. can switch to HU1 or HU2.. the most important is crossover rather than pre-amp.. even ayam brand amp also have this feature like Caliber, Kenbo, Boss, Saga, Mohawk, Shuttle Lab or else..

From my noob opinion, pre-amp is anything that you put between the HU and the amp.

So, it can be an electronic crossover or an equalizer.

Equalizer got 2 type. Parametric or graphic.
Parametric type is normally the one with knobs that looks like volume control. Graphic type is the one that have something that you can adjust up and down. The winamp eq is an example of a graphic equalizer. Each has it owns pro and cons. If you have the proper tuning equipment, the equalizer would be a great help. If not, or you're just a casual listener, you can save your money and not use pre-amp (EQ or X-Over) it at all.

However, i did saw one installation where the system consists of a touchscreen, a parametric eq and an amp. The touchscreen is a control centre of some sort, can't slot in CD, DVD, cassette or whatever(need to use a changer for that). So, to conviniently control the volume, the volume on the parametric eq was used. The remote can also be used to control the volume.

aiya dont la confuse ppl....

normally pre-amp is referred to the 1/2 din size in dash parametric eq

im not a fan of this bcoz most in the market are cheap low end ones, end up with lot of noise in the system. save up get a good HU and amp better. these days the HU have lot of things inbuilt, no need for pre-amp eq anymore.

Sorry if my statement confuses any of you. Like I said. Noob ma....I'll shut up now and let the sifu talk...:P

oldskolboyz said:
Aiyaa dont like that lorrr..
ya loorrr...at least we can share knowledge...
different people different knowledge....:shades_smile:

cacin said:
Sorry if my statement confuses any of you. Like I said. Noob ma....I'll shut up now and let the sifu talk...:P

aiseh cacin bro sorry la i didnt mean for my reply to sound so garang one....me always reply in smiling mode :regular_smile: :regular_smile: