ICE Structure...

i referred to some forums, some put crossover before the power amps... any different with tat??

they suggest me as follow:

HU ---> Pre-amp ---> electronic crossover (3-way)
_________________________|
|
|---> 2 way power amp ---> 4x tweeters
|---> 4 way power amp ---> 4x 4" & 4x 6"
|---> monoblock amp ---> 2x 12" sub-woofer

how u guys think bout it??

I think this can be done too. But, the output of the 4" and 6" is now shared. If your 6" has higher power ratings, then, you can't use to it's full due to the limit of the 4". Sifu, correct me if I'm wrong.

since then i can swap 2x tweeter with 2x 4"... become the combination of 2x tweeter 2x 4" and 2x tweeter 2x 6.5"....

guess tat will be fine....

your way is not possible with 3 way crossover, u need a 4 way crossover.
for 3 way xover u have to change a bit...

HU - Pre-amp - highpass - xover - high pass - 2ch amp - tweeters
HU - Pre-amp - highpass - xover - band pass - 4ch amp - 4"
HU - Pre-amp - highpass - xover - low pass - 4ch amp - 6"
HU - Pre-amp - low pass - mono amp - subwoofer

Another point of view.
The tweeters have different operating range than the mids. And the mids also have different operating range than the midbass.
The setup suggested by Zenn would enable you to play the speakers in their specific playing range. ie: Midbass 60Hz to 100Hz. Midrange:100Hz to 2kHz. Tweets: 2kHz and above.
By combining the 4" and 6" from one amp, you might need to set the HP based on the 4" playing capability and the LP also at the 4" playing capability. So, now you're limiting you 6" to play with Frequency response range of a 4". You'll lose some frequency range between the 4"&6" and Sub or there'll be a gap between the sub FR and the 4" FR.

Another point of view.
The tweeters have different operating range than the mids. And the mids also have different operating range than the midbass.
The setup suggested by Zenn would enable you to play the speakers in their specific playing range. ie: Midbass 60Hz to 100Hz. Midrange:100Hz to 2kHz. Tweets: 2kHz and above.
By combining the 4" and 6" from one amp, you might need to set the HP based on the 4" playing capability and the LP also at the 4" playing capability. So, now you're limiting you 6" to play with Frequency response range of a 4". You'll lose some frequency range between the 4"&6" and Sub or there'll be a gap between the sub FR and the 4" FR.

so u means tat even i got a 6 channel amps the effect will be the same as 4 channel amps like wat u said...

how if i get 2x 4channel amps... plus my own one... 1x for tweeter... 1x for 4" and the other one for 6.5"....
the sound effect will be better??

yes, that was my 2nd suggestion, but u need to buy more amps

HU - front pre out - 3way xover - high out - tweeter amp - tweeter
HU - front pre out - 3way xover - bandpass out - mid amp - 4" mids
HU - front pre out - 3way xover - low out - midbass amp - 6.5" mids
HU - rear or sub pre out - sub amp - subwoofer

like wat u mentioned... but all in 2channel amps...

doesnt matter as long as there are 8 channels total, u can use 4 2ch amps or 2 4ch amps or 6ch amp and your mono, all osso can...

what is important is the electronic crossover, that is the filter that allows u to make the speaker play it proper frequency range, example like

tweeter above 5khz
4" 250-5000hz
6.5" 50-250hz
sub below 50hz

this is a 4 way active system...where all the 4 frequency bands can be adjusted with the elect. xover

so roughly how much is one 4-way crossover... wats the different between active n passive??

Active crossover are the one you connect before your amps. Passive ones are after the amps. Active ones need power, passive ones no need power.
Actives are used in a multi amp configuration. With passive, you probably can have a single amp to power the 3-way setup.

not a problem of how much, matter of where to find, very rare one...

unless u save up to buy alpine's processor, got 4 way xover inside, new around 2.5k, 2nd hand about 1.5k-1.8k

but if u get 3 way crossover also can, connect HU front out to the xover, and connect HU sub out directly to sub amp.

poison detected... jesuz, if ur not really an audiophile maniac... i seriously dun suggest u go 4 way la.... my 2 cent

yeah i know... lot of limitation for me as well such as budget... guess tat i will go for wat zenn said... get 3 way crossover, connect HU front out to the xover, and connect HU sub out directly to sub amp....

now my concern is now i will getting 2 amps for 4" and 6.5".. how am i going to choose the amps and xover??

but my bro told me my tweeter come with mini xover... so will this affect??

just get a high quality low power 4ch amp to use for the 4" and tweeters. can keep the current 2ch for the 6.5" midbass and mono for sub.

if u go full active u wont need the passive crossover that comes with your current comp. set.

just get a high quality low power 4ch amp to use for the 4" and tweeters. can keep the current 2ch for the 6.5" midbass and mono for sub.

if u go full active u wont need the passive crossover that comes with your current comp. set.

means i have to take out the tweeter mini xover when i put the xover into my ICE??

and how to choose amps n xover to match my ICE??

if u going to play active, u have to bypass the passive crossover.

last time connection was: AMP --- passive crossover ---- tweeter & mids

now will be: AMP ch 1 & 2 ----- tweeter, AMP ch 3 & 4 ----- mids

so the connection is now direct from amp to speaker..

amps for 4" mid & tweeter, no need a lot of power, but quality must be very high, bcoz the sound coming from tweet & high mid is most important in SQ system. something like 50W from a high end amp enuff oledi. u just missed someone selling Genesis 50w x 4 amp 2nd hand for RM1.8k last week...

for the 3 way crossover, also pls find some branded stuff, so that u wont encounter any electrical noise problems. another important point is to see if the 3 way crossover is the high/mid/low type, not the front/rear/sub.

u must check and see the front or high filter frequency can go few thousand hertz or not (kHz)

amps for 4" mid & tweeter, no need a lot of power, but quality must be very high, bcoz the sound coming from tweet & high mid is most important in SQ system. something like 50W from a high end amp enuff oledi. u just missed someone selling Genesis 50w x 4 amp 2nd hand for RM1.8k last week...

for the 3 way crossover, also pls find some branded stuff, so that u wont encounter any electrical noise problems. another important point is to see if the 3 way crossover is the high/mid/low type, not the front/rear/sub.

u must check and see the front or high filter frequency can go few thousand hertz or not (kHz)

very hard to get the high/mid/low type xover... right? do u know any specific brand have that kind of xover?

Macrom 48.13.
Audiocontrol 2XS? 3XS? 4XS?
Xetec F.A.C.T
Tru F1-B ?

Write your reply...