good and bad of preamp.anyone?

upontheriversky

hi im a noob in the forum. can anyone tell me the good and bad of preamp? im thinking of getting one so i can adjust different freq bands of my music to my taste. i got confused with ppl sayin cheap preamp better dont get coz it just ruins ur system with more noise but im not sure i would spend so much if it doesnt do much change. how do u tell its a good preamp?what do i need to look at?

or do i really need it?

ive got a quite decent system for myself

front:
dynaudio dome tweeters,
6.5" aulux speakers
rear:
epsilon 6.5" 2 way components with upgraded crossover from kklau
sub: jbl gto 10"
amp: aulux 4 channel amp for subs and front speakers, old mtx thunder for rear

with the specs i have here, do i need to get preamp?i go for SQ over SPL totally
cheers!

id rather change HU then add a pre amp, almost all new cd players have equilisers built in

anyway, good pre amps will cost 1k above....might as well buy new HU

ive try out cheapo pre amps...yeap..its ruins my previous sound...like my speaker can attempt the different adjuster from the pre amps...much better before install do no if using ori or expensive one..coz i oni using kenwood player n cheapo 2ch power amp..6x9 speaker ...so frust..
Any good suggestion from husler here..
i oni want just at least can hear the pretty bass...from a cheapo setup
as my fren oni using pioneer mp3 player and oso cheapo 6x9 spk w/o amp but the sound quite ok..much2 better than my setup..
isit bcoz of pre amp or my 6x9 spk or my preamp...
thanis in advance

oh its true la then i will forget bout installing preamp lah.i got a decent usb hu from pioneer so shud be ok oredy. cheers bros

nway nikk, i think the reason ur frens system sounds better is the player.i personally think good player really make difference in sound quality (probly the digital-analog converter is better) coz no matter how good ur speakers are, w/o good player which usualy comes with equalizer, subwoofer control, high/low pass filter etc. sound that comes out stil not gona be at its optimum.then waste ur speaker lah. if ur input is not good, how do u expect songs sound better in the output i.e speakers?

just sharing only, if u play usb from a player. make a habit of downloading mp3s with 320kbps not those from utube or anywher which usualy 96-128 kbps.if u play songs at loud volume, those 128kbps wil sound "pecah" while 320kbps mp3s can go louder without "pecah". if u want the best get songs of FLAC format (usualy 40mb and above). seriously, person with high sensitivity of listening towards audio quality wil testify to this =D

oic..so i need to change the player la like this...
can suggest me good malaysia player 1???
if pioneer..which model..???
prefer wif usb 1...