newbie question

scoupe

guys, i need some advice. curently my audio set up is like this. head unit, 4speakers(no amp) and one woofer(with amp). with this set up i dont seem to have any bass from my speakers only the sub. if i were to change my head unit to one whic can on and off the sub, will it give my speakers some bass while the sub is also on? im thinking of getting the pioneer DEH-P5550MP is it good for my current audio set up?

What model you are buying? 550mp? I think you missed out 1 no... Anyway try to get 5750 if low budget, it has 3 pre-out. Or check out the website:
http://www.pioneermalaysia.com/pioneer.htm

If can get an amp for your 4 speakers..

roughly how much is a 5750. so wil the 5550 give me back the bass in the speakers? im trying to save for the amp later only.
kyheng said:
What model you are buying? 550mp? I think you missed out 1 no... Anyway try to get 5750 if low budget, it has 3 pre-out. Or check out the website:
http://www.pioneermalaysia.com/pioneer.htm

If can get an amp for your 4 speakers..

It will cost now around 588 to 648. This 2 price is given by friends in this forum. Since you are not install the amp now, you can just try to scout around for the best price.
Assuming your speakers is standard, the bass might not be strong as you expected. If rear one bass too strong, it will spoilt your sub's bass..

why not get an amp for the 4 speakers instead. also u need to lower the low pass in your sub amp so that it plays only sub-bass, not midbass as well. i think now its set too high thats why all the bass from the sub. besides, HU power to the 4 speakers arent much, roughly 12-15W RMS only, wont give u much bass anyway.

im using alpine for my rear(each 40rms) and my frony i plan to get a set of mohawk orange(60 rms) how much will a good enough amp will cost?
kyheng said:
It will cost now around 588 to 648. This 2 price is given by friends in this forum. Since you are not install the amp now, you can just try to scout around for the best price.
Assuming your speakers is standard, the bass might not be strong as you expected. If rear one bass too strong, it will spoilt your sub's bass..

i still need to change the hu cause before this my dad was using it. with the amp it still sounded a little poor. the setting of the sub amp was done by an audio shop. do u thing he did something wrong? if i lower the low pass will my sub's bass sound weeker?
Zenn said:
why not get an amp for the 4 speakers instead. also u need to lower the low pass in your sub amp so that it plays only sub-bass, not midbass as well. i think now its set too high thats why all the bass from the sub. besides, HU power to the 4 speakers arent much, roughly 12-15W RMS only, wont give u much bass anyway.

scoupe said:
i still need to change the hu cause before this my dad was using it. with the amp it still sounded a little poor. the setting of the sub amp was done by an audio shop. do u thing he did something wrong? if i lower the low pass will my sub's bass sound weeker?

Sorry if my below statement offend you.
Is your amp or woofer unknown brand? Maybe the guy never set the correct settings for you?
The low pass is to reduce the voice that come out from woofer, with this the woofer will only come out bass.

A good amp? What do you mean? Some amp will cost around 5k to 10k. Actually still is your budget come first.

im not offended. my amp is an unknown brand. i mean a good enough amp for my curent set up not so expensive la. hahaha not enough cash for that kind of amp.currently there is not much voice that cimes out from the woofer. its very very little. when my dad was using this head unit the sound was not that much diff eventhough he had a good amp and speakers. after changing the hu the sound qualitl was much better.
kyheng said:
Sorry if my below statement offend you.
Is your amp or woofer unknown brand? Maybe the guy never set the correct settings for you?
The low pass is to reduce the voice that come out from woofer, with this the woofer will only come out bass.

A good amp? What do you mean? Some amp will cost around 5k to 10k. Actually still is your budget come first.

My recommendation (my setup):
Hu : Pioneer 5750 730(1 year ago)
Amp : Lightning Audio B300.2 second hand 300, Caliber 2ch 100watt max 200(actual RMS I forgot liao)
Woofer : 12" RDS SVC 430, box 120, low pass filter coil 80
Speakers : front JVC 4.5" 2 way 140, rear 6.5" Rockford Fosgate FNX2614 300
speaker cables : 10meters home audio transparent type 10
RCA cables : unknown brand 50(2m and 5m)
So total is 2360

I using Wira now, so the 4.5" is to replace my ori speakers.
Low pass filter coil I use it to bring down woofer's frequency as without it I have blow 2 12" woofer with this amp. (1 RF and 1 RDS) Lucky both of them I got warranty.

how much is the low pass filter coil? if i buy a seconhand amp how do i know if the amp is in good condition and wont cut off during long operation?
kyheng said:
My recommendation (my setup):
Hu : Pioneer 5750 730(1 year ago)
Amp : Lightning Audio B300.2 second hand 300, Caliber 2ch 100watt max 200(actual RMS I forgot liao)
Woofer : 12" RDS SVC 430, box 120, low pass filter coil 80
Speakers : front JVC 4.5" 2 way 140, rear 6.5" Rockford Fosgate FNX2614 300
speaker cables : 10meters home audio transparent type 10
RCA cables : unknown brand 50(2m and 5m)
So total is 2360

I using Wira now, so the 4.5" is to replace my ori speakers.
Low pass filter coil I use it to bring down woofer's frequency as without it I have blow 2 12" woofer with this amp. (1 RF and 1 RDS) Lucky both of them I got warranty.

The coil will cost around 80, the rating is 3.3, as it has few ratings, 3.3 will cut off almost all the voice from the amp. Nowadays very less people will use coil, they normally will use electronic crossover to low pass it. For low budget this is the best choice.

Buying a secondhand amp is like a gamble, have to see your luck. I bought this amp from Lelong. Initial plan is to use as speakers, then see the first owner bridged the speaker output, so I use it to punch my woofer. Because this is a 2 channel amp, not mono, some how it still give me high frequency and cause the woofer coil spoilt. So have to add the coil to low pass it. When buying seconghand amp the best is to get some known brand, like Rockford, LA, MTX and so on. Don't ever buy the ayam brand amp.

thanks bro.
kyheng said:
The coil will cost around 80, the rating is 3.3, as it has few ratings, 3.3 will cut off almost all the voice from the amp. Nowadays very less people will use coil, they normally will use electronic crossover to low pass it. For low budget this is the best choice.

Buying a secondhand amp is like a gamble, have to see your luck. I bought this amp from Lelong. Initial plan is to use as speakers, then see the first owner bridged the speaker output, so I use it to punch my woofer. Because this is a 2 channel amp, not mono, some how it still give me high frequency and cause the woofer coil spoilt. So have to add the coil to low pass it. When buying seconghand amp the best is to get some known brand, like Rockford, LA, MTX and so on. Don't ever buy the ayam brand amp.

scoupe said:
if i lower the low pass will my sub's bass sound weeker?

the lower the setting means the lower the frequencies u allow it to play. example, if it is set at 50hz, it will only play music that is 50Hz and lower only. normally we set it around 50 to 80 thereabouts. just play your normal songs and u can adjust accordingly to what u like. it will sound weak only if your amp isnt powerful enough for the sub & box combination.