Newbies questions

Originally posted by gogsard@Mar 30 2005, 20:47
from what i understand, the 8 ohm (serial) or 2 ohm (parallel) value will remain the same if connected to a bridge output. my amp will only have the current to push the 4 ohm coil
[snapback]854657[/snapback]​
I am getting confused :D

Here, have a look at this :)

Tri mode power Dissipation

while i was looking for a monoblock, i come across this term 24db/octave for the LP crossover. i've seen 12db/octave before. i have read through the links provided but i still dont get it. too technical .. anyone can explain in more layman terms. :D

hi guys i'm new here, was wondering whether Alpine CHM-S620 6-disc CD Changer can be use with the stock kelisa cassette player is it possible to mod it?

Originally posted by gogsard@Apr 2 2005, 14:42
while i was looking for a monoblock, i come across this term 24db/octave for the LP crossover. i've seen 12db/octave before. i have read through the links provided but i still dont get it. too technical .. anyone can explain in more layman terms. :D
[snapback]862126[/snapback]​

Hi, the 24db/octave is the slope of the low pass of the amp. Meaning the slope is steeper than the 12db/octave one. Hope this helps.

Hi guys, I'm a new ICEr who juz got bitten by ICE bug... haha..

Anyways, currently I have a moderate set up on my kelisa... With a cap ayam tweeter, rear pioneer 6x9, Blaupunkt HU... Sorry for my ignorance but I dunno the tech spec or model name of the things I am using :P

Anyways, I am thinking to increase the sound quality with an amp for general listening...(not prone to SQ or SPL cuz I tend to listen to a variety of music except techno...:P) Will the sound quality improve by adding in an amp?

ANyways, can anybody recommend me an amp to use around (+100) RM 800?
My preference of music is a clean and crisp music... I am not asking for any high end stuff like Infinity or Rockford... I'll juz stick to my budget and try to maximize the quality I can get out of my budget... (I am not planning to get a woofer anytime now...)

If u all dun mind, can anybody recommend me a front component set for Kelisa around RM500? Boschmann perhaps?

Last question.. Anybody done sound proofing on Kelisa b4? How much will it cost u?

Originally posted by gogsard@Apr 2 2005, 14:42
[snapback]862126[/snapback]​

OK, in layman terms.
The slope of 24db/oct means:
If you set your LPF at let's say 80hz.
Then the next octave is 40 hz.
So the level at 40 hz is 24db below the level at 80hz.
For clean and control sub bass, the steeper slope of 24db/oct is always preferred.
For mids, the slope will depend on a lot of factors such as your mids characteristics, your car interior acoustics, the spec of your amp etc etc.

is it better to tune my ICE? i'm playing SQ. i drive a JL 12w6v2 12' sub but i not love that sound.

some time to loud and to soft..i try to adjust the low pass freq and infra subsonic freq. but can't. give some opinion...

Hello ICE gurus....

I recently upgraded my Satria's sound system with a few items. I'm targeting for an SQ setup. Below is what I recently installed:
1. Alpine 9843 Headunit
2. CDT CL-62 components for the front.
3. I have ditched the rear speakers and I drive the components from the HU

The funny thing now, I think that the sound from the left speakers are louder than the right side. I think it must be normal because part of my leg is covering the speakers when I'm driving. But there must be a solution to it right?

Any ideas?

Thanks.

You can use the balance control to fade it slightly more to the right.... Maybe a +1 or 2 will eb enough.

Besides that, save up for an amp to get the full potential from your speakers.

I have a PPI amp that would be a nice match for RM 1000.

hi.

i'm also new here.

just would like to know where can i shop for lines of BM Boschmann speakers.

been looking around but couldnt find! spesifically, more in Klang Valley areas.

thanx sifus

Actually, there are lots of shops selling Boshmann speakers. The one that I am more familiar is Audio Concept at Taman Kobena, Cheras, KL. By the way, what makes you choose Boshmann speakers?

hi.

i'm also new here.

just would like to know where can i shop for lines of BM Boschmann speakers.

been looking around but couldnt find! spesifically, more in Klang Valley areas.

thanx sifus

well, just started to enjoy these ICE-ing things and was having discussion with some friends. Some of them told me that if i wanted a good loudspeakers....hunt around for some Boschmann

i dont know....like i said, i'm new...

or...is there any other brands that you could advise me? couldnt harm as i need all the input from all the "masters" here...please.....:)

Actually, there are lots of shops selling Boshmann speakers. The one that I am more familiar is Audio Concept at Taman Kobena, Cheras, KL. By the way, what makes you choose Boshmann speakers?

whats your budget? there are many out there much better than Bukit Mertajam BM Boschmann..

hi there zenn,

as far as budget is concerns, i'll manage, but for now just would like to window shop/see the line-up/hear the sounds for some boschmann. :_:

about the bukit mertajam boschmann i heard about it, thats why i would like to know any place for me to hunt the line-ups.

thanx alot to all for some of the replies. really appreciate it

ah, at last, a newbie topic.i thought i wanna open a new topic about my ICE budget but i was so scared about those bizarre ICE terms, calculations, numbers etc etc..but there is still time to learn, right? :)

so now, i just would like to know what can i get for my ICE (full set including HU, speakers) for RM 2000?since im still new in ICE world, im willing to learn as much as i can as my time allows..heheh..

my sound:
-multi genre (from jazz to punk rock, black metal, everything)
-listens to radio often

i was wondering whether to get subs or those elips-shaped speakers (what u call it?midbass?)

so hard being a noob and theres no one to learn from :(

for RM2k i suggest u get something like 800 cd player and 1200 front component speakers. use this as a start, later on get a 4ch amp and subwoofer to complete it.

zenn, sorry to say but i think i cant afford that much for ICE.maybe RM 2000 is enuf for the whole set.

and im quite scared about my ICE being stolen.

someone told me, a new,branded 6x9 or coaxial speakers that sells below RM300 is fake.issit true?

best thing i can advise u in ice is dont rush, when u buy whole set of cap ayam later on u will feel cheated. best to be patient and start this way, later on add more for upgrade...

items fake or not will depend if they come with the official distributor's warranty and stickers on the box & product itself..

best thing i can advise u in ice is dont rush, when u buy whole set of cap ayam later on u will feel cheated. best to be patient and start this way, later on add more for upgrade...

items fake or not will depend if they come with the official distributor's warranty and stickers on the box & product itself..

ok bro.will heed on with your advise, though i think my parents wont allow me to buy 800 just for HU and 1200 for component speakers, since im still studying.