Newbies questions

Originally posted by Beetle+Mar 3 2005, 09:43 -->
QUOTE (Beetle @ Mar 3 2005, 09:43 )
--QuoteBegin-casablanca
@Mar 3 2005, 09:03
wat u mean is use ch 1 for left component and ch 2 for right component?isnt the component come wit tweeter as well? y still need to drive my tweeter wit HU?
and one more thing...how bout the High frequency and low frequency thingy?do an 4 ch amp can tune high for 1st 2 ch and low for the other 2?

i think what he meant is by running active...
normally in a passive setup, by using a passive xover, you only have 1 input on each passive, thus utilizing only 2 channels from the amp for the component.
If you're running active however, you need 4 channels, like the valeraine components

yes, 1st 2 ch can use for high or low, depends on the amp also. Certain amps can certain can't [/b][/quote]
i got it..the little box tht come wit component is passive xover rite?so i guess it's easier to tune if we r running passive...
how we know whether an amp can switch low or high to seperate pair of channel?
many thanks to beetle for clarify all this to me....

Originally posted by yyk+Mar 2 2005, 22:32 -->
QUOTE (yyk @ Mar 2 2005, 22:32 )
Originally posted by artnet@Mar 2 2005, 21:30
--QuoteBegin-yyk
@Mar 2 2005, 21:26
hey.newbie here.just wondering, is it possible to modify a amp to get higher power or clearer+warmer sound?if there is where do i go abt to mod?thanks :huh:

:D i also ever asked this question... but my fren(electrician) told me.. u need to change almost 90% of the components in the amp...

get a new one.. less hassle...

wow 90% of the component...i guess it is wiser to get a new amp..but due to budget constrain i guess it is not possible for me :( [/b][/quote]
btw, i don think that body who told me this can do it too...
not an easy task ler.. wht if the components he used it lousy
one? might not getting the quality but just the power only...
ehehehe....

Beetle...

and i have no idea also.... hehe

so which one is better?

Originally posted by casablanca@Mar 3 2005, 10:10

i got it..the little box tht come wit component is passive xover rite?so i guess it's easier to tune if we r running passive...
yes you're right, there would be a tact switch normally written high or low or full either on the top of corner of the amp

Originally posted by Beetle+Mar 3 2005, 15:53 -->
QUOTE (Beetle @ Mar 3 2005, 15:53 )
--QuoteBegin-casablanca
@Mar 3 2005, 10:10

yes you're right, there would be a tact switch normally written high or low or full either on the top of corner of the amp [/b][/quote]
so..we tune to high for the component set..low for the sub? how bout full?wat's its function there?

Full is to play the full signal sent to ur amp. no HP or LP at all.

Another thing to look at is the frequency you are HP or LP at.

Originally posted by Bert@Mar 4 2005, 09:17
Full is to play the full signal sent to ur amp. no HP or LP at all.

Another thing to look at is the frequency you are HP or LP at.
so is better to play full or high to component? or mayb full to sub??

i just get myself an amp last nite..
the brand is audiobank..is it a good amp?
i noticed tht u can adjust the "Gain" for the amp..wat's is tht?
anyone clear thing out for me?

:lol: PLs help me sifus!!!!!!!

Wat is the function of capacitor????
wat is 1 farad/ 2 farad????? wat they do??
double voice coil subs, different wit the normal 1?
my car headlights go dim when the compressor on, wat the problem? :lol:

Hope u can solve my problem...... Thanks a million. B)

Sifus....need advise here...
As u guys can see i am a superb noob at ICE so need your expert advise here. ermmm.let's see...ok i am planning to get a ICE setup for SQ.. and not too sure what to get for a budget of RM3k..but what i have in mind is;

a 4-channel amp
a 2-channel amp
a sub
a set of component

can reccomend ar? i am currently using my stock HU (clarion) and just got a component DBmax (heard b4?....think i got conned in getting it for RM450 after reading the post here :angry: ) ...but tak apa lar..since i like the sound it produces.
hope to see all of ya reply soon...thanks in adv :)

As u guys can see i am a superb noob at ICE so need your expert advise here. ermmm.let's see...ok i am planning to get a ICE setup for SQ.. and not too sure what to get for a budget of RM3k..but what i have in mind is;

a 4-channel amp
a 2-channel amp
a sub
a set of component

can reccomend ar? i am currently using my stock HU (clarion) and just got a component DBmax (heard b4?....think i got conned in getting it for RM450 after reading the post here :angry: ) ...but tak apa lar..since i like the sound it produces.

Originally posted by ksee_u@Mar 8 2005, 17:18

a 4-channel amp
a 2-channel amp
a sub
a set of component

I'm not a sifu but I will try to say my point of view ok.

since you already have a component why not stay with that? with your budget... to me quite tight still... he he he... :P

get the 4 channel amp which can be bridge. then only get a sub. stay there until budget 2005 year half comes :P ;)

Get a decent 4 channel amp first... interested in a PPI PCX-440? PM me for details

THen get a sub.. currently I saw a Peerless XLS for sale in IASCA which would be a good start for you. That should cost
After you installed the amp and sub, look at what you feel lacking and either upgrade your components or your HU. At least with this you can look for a good set of comps slowly and audit them before purchase.

Take it slow when deciding to upgrade. If you want, gimem a call or we can meet up and discuss more on what you want.. easier to talk over the phone than to post lar.

016-3249470

DJThoRmented,

Wah....3K still tight ar :blink: ...like that die lor, dun think i can take anutha 3k out for the next budget in 2005 year half ler...mebbe 2006 year half lar :P

anyway wut's a bridge? sorry ar...told u i'm an idiot in ICE. :D

Bert,

What is the brand of the amp u are letting go? Like what DJThoRmented advised, can it be bridge?

How much u wanna let go? F.O.C for newbies?...since u call me to go get the Peerless sub at IASCA for 2K then sommore calculate for me say i got 1K left...so the amp free lar? :D :P ...will call u when i am free then we go minum teh.

i am really a noob. whats the diff between 6X9 speakers with 2 and 3 way. is it voice treble bass for 3 way ? 2 way is for ? the component set is it just for treble and voice ? subwoofer is for bass rite ? i am really blur here. please help sifu.

sifus
Just got quoted yesterday at KF by Siemen, planned this setup for my budgy.

Alpine MRV-F430 (4 channel)
Armadillo Subwoofer 12"
Subbox
Acoustic sponge for the box (claimed to be able to get better bass)
Power cable ( 4 gauge) & protection fuse
Bravox Component CS60K
Speaker wires

All in for RM3000....ok ar?

Tried out his Jazz... :blink: :o B) "hou song ar" :)

can ask ar...i have a 4X75w RMS amp
then i just installed a component speakers for the front.
the front comp has a 90w RMS power handling
will it distort when i on a bit louder?
will it spoil either my speakers or amp
help me plz
ty

:blink:

Hello everybody ! Juz yesterday I've changed the wira speakers and added 2 side speakers on the door and 2 tweeters .... it cost me RM500 bucks ... the only thing i need now is a amp ... the box of the speakers said it's 330W ... wat's does it mean ? wat amp is suitable for the speakers ?

pls pls advise ... thx thx

Originally posted by ksee_u@Mar 9 2005, 09:45
DJThoRmented,

Wah....3K still tight ar :blink: ...like that die lor, dun think i can take anutha 3k out for the next budget in 2005 year half ler...mebbe 2006 year half lar :P

anyway wut's a bridge? sorry ar...told u i'm an idiot in ICE. :D

Bert,

What is the brand of the amp u are letting go? Like what DJThoRmented advised, can it be bridge?

How much u wanna let go? F.O.C for newbies?...since u call me to go get the Peerless sub at IASCA for 2K then sommore calculate for me say i got 1K left...so the amp free lar? :D :P ...will call u when i am free then we go minum teh.
ha ha ha... ;)

i dreamt that day... well :D :P

bert is giving out an option ;)

Originally posted by ksee_u@Mar 10 2005, 10:51
sifus
Just got quoted yesterday at KF by Siemen, planned this setup for my budgy.

Alpine MRV-F430 (4 channel)
Armadillo Subwoofer 12"
Subbox
Acoustic sponge for the box (claimed to be able to get better bass)
Power cable ( 4 gauge) & protection fuse
Bravox Component CS60K
Speaker wires

All in for RM3000....ok ar?

Tried out his Jazz... :blink: :o B) "hou song ar" :)
ksee_u.....

how much is the alpine amp and Bravox Component CS60K.

thanks,

Write your reply...