Tips on Installing New ICE

unless u get a good HU with at least 2 rca preout, then ma no need pre amp lor. Normally ppl rekomen pre amp (as in cap ayam brand) because HU got only 1 rca pre out ma. How to connect 2 amp (4 channel + mono in ur case) like tat?

when i say other equipment i meant everything in your system la, amps, speakers, cd player, etc....the end result depends on everything...

then if i install those things tat i meantioned earlier, will tat need a pre-amp?? i repeat again.. 4 example, i install Eclipse CD2000 Hu, memphis comp wit 4 chan amp, and soundstream double coiled sub wit a AV quartz 1000W mono amp, do i still need a pre-amp??

unless u get a good HU with at least 2 rca preout, then ma no need pre amp lor. Normally ppl rekomen pre amp (as in cap ayam brand) because HU got only 1 rca pre out ma. How to connect 2 amp (4 channel + mono in ur case) like tat?

but my previous pioneer HU, forgotten d model liao, got 2 rca output. then means tat i dun need a pre-amp anymore lar?? hmph~ u agree wit wat zenn said or not??

preamp is to fine tune ur sound system only. optional stuff.
if u buy brothers preamp sound sure not good one. correct me if wrong

but my previous pioneer HU, forgotten d model liao, got 2 rca output. then means tat i dun need a pre-amp anymore lar?? hmph~ u agree wit wat zenn said or not??
2 RCA out (1 pair) or 2 pairs (4 rca out)?
If you have electronic xover, you don't need pre amp. In fact, electronic crossovers is also considered pre-amp. :P
Pre-amp = anything that's between your HU and amp....
If you're talking about the thing that have knobs on them, 4 band, 5 band and such, those are graphic equalizers. Cheapo ones tend to give more problems/headache than what's it's worth.
What you need depends on what you already have.
Hu only have 2 rca out (1 pair). But Amp also have RCA out (pass through). So, HU RCA to amp1 (front probably), then rca out from amp1 to amp2(sub amp?).

If the CD2000 have 3 preouts, then you can connect your 4 channel amp and sub amp to the player directly. In this mode, you are running passive. Unless, the CD2000 have built in e-xover...
I am assuming you want to use HU, 1 comp set, 1 4 ch amp, 1 sub and 1 sub amp.

then if i install those things tat i meantioned earlier, will tat need a pre-amp?? i repeat again.. 4 example, i install Eclipse CD2000 Hu, memphis comp wit 4 chan amp, and soundstream double coiled sub wit a AV quartz 1000W mono amp, do i still need a pre-amp??

no need pre amp oledi la, i tot u were goin to use myvi HU still...

2 RCA out (1 pair) or 2 pairs (4 rca out)?
If you have electronic xover, you don't need pre amp. In fact, electronic crossovers is also considered pre-amp. :P
Pre-amp = anything that's between your HU and amp....
If you're talking about the thing that have knobs on them, 4 band, 5 band and such, those are graphic equalizers. Cheapo ones tend to give more problems/headache than what's it's worth.
What you need depends on what you already have.
Hu only have 2 rca out (1 pair). But Amp also have RCA out (pass through). So, HU RCA to amp1 (front probably), then rca out from amp1 to amp2(sub amp?).

If the CD2000 have 3 preouts, then you can connect your 4 channel amp and sub amp to the player directly. In this mode, you are running passive. Unless, the CD2000 have built in e-xover...
I am assuming you want to use HU, 1 comp set, 1 4 ch amp, 1 sub and 1 sub amp.

which 1 is better le?? running passive or connect the other RCA to the amp1???

one more ques, how 2 know which amp match wit which comp or which mono match wit which sub?? i mean considering the specs n' everything.. how 2 see those things n' can make ICE tat match each others n' giv out full performance?? becoz if an amp doesnt match wit a comp, the quality is definitely bad... a 500W amp definitely not enuf 2 run a double coiled sub, rite??

if u have a fully capable electronic xover and u have enough amplifier channels, then go active la, more tuning options...

matching what with what all depends on experience and how much reading or research u do, u can only know from other users. best to get yourself to a TT and then u can discuss with others users and gain their experience for your own knowledge..

which 1 is better le?? running passive or connect the other RCA to the amp1???

Like Zenn mentioned, running active give more options.
When I say I assume you're running passive is you're using the passive crossover from your comp set.

So, HU front out connect to 4ch amp. then the amp is bridged to power your front comp. The sub connection from HU go to sub amp.

Running active would mean a setup like this:
HU to electronic crossover.
Highpass to 2 channel of the 4 channel amp which then go to tweeters.
Bandpass to other 2 channel of the 4 ch amp then go to your midbass.
lowpass to the sub amplifier.

If your HU already have this capability (highpass, bandpass & lowpass), then you might not need an electronic crossover.

a) CD2000, are this good HU & worth to buy it?
- Did not provide built-in crossover, deatachable face plate (safety).

b) Do U need ParaQ?
- No need coz cheapo ParaQ will introduce noise, Fix 5/7 band & not variable & certain brand/model provide crossover/LowPass (LP) for Sub only.

c) If HU dont have crossover, Do U need external Electronic Crossover?
- Yes, either Ur ICe in passive or active. This the most important thing. In our market have alot this product either 2ways, 3ways or 4ways & also c/w 2 type selectable or variable. To choose with 1 is up to Ur ICe system. Which set-up U are going to..

i) 2 Ways- Front (HP), Rear (HP) & Sub (LP)
- function similar to amp built-in ecross, dont buy this 1..

ii) 3 ways- HP (tweeter), BP (Mid) & LP (Sub)
- If U are in active set-up, this type ecross U should buy. Some model/brand/series provide very wide LP (Sub) freq adj which mean it can run front 3 ways (Midbass/Midrange/tweeter) provider ur HU or amp got HP.

Let say U bought CD2000, as U mention before 1 of Ur installer got access for Memphis product. Why not U ask him Memphis 16-X03 electronic crossover?

a) CD2000 (Front RCA) => 16-X03 => i) HP => amp (tweeter)
ii) BP => amp (Midrange)
iii) LP => amp (Midbass)
b) CD2000 (Sub RCA) => Monoblock => Sub woofer

------------------------------------------------------------- TQ

if u have a fully capable electronic xover and u have enough amplifier channels, then go active la, more tuning options...

matching what with what all depends on experience and how much reading or research u do, u can only know from other users. best to get yourself to a TT and then u can discuss with others users and gain their experience for your own knowledge..

electronic crossover is the external crossover tat u need 2 buy it urself wat?? btw, can u tell me wat HU hav built-in e-xover?? CD2000 got or not?? how can we know if a HU got built in e-xover??
means tat go active is better than go passive?? like tat i dun need 2 buy a HU tat hav 3 RCA pre-outs d, rite?? ordinary one will do its job liao..

a) CD2000, are this good HU & worth to buy it?
- Did not provide built-in crossover, deatachable face plate (safety).

b) Do U need ParaQ?
- No need coz cheapo ParaQ will introduce noise, Fix 5/7 band & not variable & certain brand/model provide crossover/LowPass (LP) for Sub only.

c) If HU dont have crossover, Do U need external Electronic Crossover?
- Yes, either Ur ICe in passive or active. This the most important thing. In our market have alot this product either 2ways, 3ways or 4ways & also c/w 2 type selectable or variable. To choose with 1 is up to Ur ICe system. Which set-up U are going to..

i) 2 Ways- Front (HP), Rear (HP) & Sub (LP)
- function similar to amp built-in ecross, dont buy this 1..

ii) 3 ways- HP (tweeter), BP (Mid) & LP (Sub)
- If U are in active set-up, this type ecross U should buy. Some model/brand/series provide very wide LP (Sub) freq adj which mean it can run front 3 ways (Midbass/Midrange/tweeter) provider ur HU or amp got HP.

Let say U bought CD2000, as U mention before 1 of Ur installer got access for Memphis product. Why not U ask him Memphis 16-X03 electronic crossover?

a) CD2000 (Front RCA) => 16-X03 => i) HP => amp (tweeter)
ii) BP => amp (Midrange)
iii) LP => amp (Midbass)
b) CD2000 (Sub RCA) => Monoblock => Sub woofer

------------------------------------------------------------- TQ

will installing a e-xover cause hard time in tuning the sound?? becoz i saw one of my frends had hard time tuning his e-xover.. so this means tat e-xover is a need and pre-amp is useless lar??? can i know how much a moderate e-xover cost?? if i plan 2 install a HU, an e-xover wit an amp wit comp set while lefting my mono and sub to b installed later, izit okie?? i think ok lar gua, rite?? if i wan SQ, using 4 chan amp better or mono?? becoz for SQ, they recommend me single coiled sub.

and usually how many watts does an amp required 2 run a single coiled sub?? and how many watts an amp required 2 run a comp?? let me giv an example... 300W enuf 2 run a comp and 500W enuf to run a sub??

i got question too~

the HU is 3 RCA output....
if i wan use 1 amp..to power rear comp speaker.....but i wan direct control sub woofer....
but 1 amp oni coonect to 1 RCA output oni....
so the function of direct control sub woofer cant be use?

i got question too~

the HU is 3 RCA output....
if i wan use 1 amp..to power rear comp speaker.....but i wan direct control sub woofer....
but 1 amp oni coonect to 1 RCA output oni....
so the function of direct control sub woofer cant be use?

If you still want the direct sub control (from HU), connect the HU RCA sub out to your sub amp. The amp to power rear comp should be connected to the HU rear RCA out.

and usually how many watts does an amp required 2 run a single coiled sub?? and how many watts an amp required 2 run a comp?? let me giv an example... 300W enuf 2 run a comp and 500W enuf to run a sub??

Depends on the power ratings of the sub and comp you're buying. Look at RMS ratings when buying speakers, subs and amps.

will installing a e-xover cause hard time in tuning the sound?? becoz i saw one of my frends had hard time tuning his e-xover.. so this means tat e-xover is a need and pre-amp is useless lar??? can i know how much a moderate e-xover cost?? if i plan 2 install a HU, an e-xover wit an amp wit comp set while lefting my mono and sub to b installed later, izit okie?? i think ok lar gua, rite?? if i wan SQ, using 4 chan amp better or mono?? becoz for SQ, they recommend me single coiled sub.
I wouldn't say it's a hard time. It gives you more option to change the cutoff frequency. If you run passive, sound not nice , then cannot tune or minimal tuning of crossover side only. Like I said, the term pre-amp has been used wrongly. Pre-amp = anything between HU and AMP. E-xover is also considerd pre-amp. What you're referring to is graphic equalizer. An equalizer let's you do further adjustment to your sound. A good one should be around RM5xx plus? You can install step by step. Depends what your budget allows. If you want to wait also can. Once got the funds, can do one shot install and tuning. I do not have the knowledge to answer the rest of the question.

electronic crossover is the external crossover tat u need 2 buy it urself wat?? btw, can u tell me wat HU hav built-in e-xover?? CD2000 got or not?? how can we know if a HU got built in e-xover??
means tat go active is better than go passive?? like tat i dun need 2 buy a HU tat hav 3 RCA pre-outs d, rite?? ordinary one will do its job liao..
The HU manual or the manufacturer website will write down the spec. You can tell from there. I think the Pioneer P80 and those high end Alpine units have built in e-crossover. Even the Kenwood KDC-X5729 have a basic crossover (front & rear HP, Sub LP). One of the reason for a 3 pair RCA out HU is, you'll have front, rear and sub pre-out. Depends on your setup and plans, you can really go beserk by having front 3-way, rear 3-way and a sub rca to sub processor. The other reason for a sub RCA out HU is so that you can still use the fader and the sub does not 'dissappear' when you turn the fader all the way to the front.
Example system:
3 rca pre out (front, rear, sub) or 2 rca out (front, sub)
Front RCA to Front amp and comps. Rear speaker out to rear speakers (as rear fill only). Sub RCA to sub amp. When I set the fader to Front 12, the sound from rear can be heard in front, but really soft. The sub still pounds as hard.

If your HU only have 2 rca out which is only front and rear,
Front to amp and comps, rear to sub amp and sub. Once you play with the fader setting to play more to front, the sub can't hardly be heard.

if you only have 1 rca out connect to e-xover, you'll lose fader control. Once you change the fader to all the way to the rear, no sound would probably come out.

There's a lot of possible setup. It depends on what you want and what hardware you already have.

If you still want the direct sub control (from HU), connect the HU RCA sub out to your sub amp. The amp to power rear comp should be connected to the HU rear RCA out.

i means....if i juz use 1 amp to power 1 pair component and a single sub....
the RCA juz connect to 1 RCA output in HU oni ....den the direct sub control cant be use?

if its a 4ch amp it should have 4 inputs.

if ch1&2 is running fronts, connect rca from HU front rca out to ch1&2 rca input

if ch 3&4 is running sub in bridged mono, connect sub out rca from HU to ch 3&4 rca input.