Honda Civic EG hatch : Sound Staging? WTF?

ace79

I will be setting up a simple ICE in my hatch. Bullet_NOS @ Mohawk suggested me to only fit front speakers and a sub, and 2 amps ( one to drive the front speakers comp set and the other one for my sub ) Will the sound @ noise be enuff if I just do a setup like this? I'll be listening to all kinds of music : hip hop, R & B, electronica, soul, jazz, drum & bass, house, trance, oldies...the lots!

Another "?" : I plan to fit the sub not in the middle of the hatch's luggage area, maybe in the RHD luggage area, since I still want to keep a usable amount of luggage space. What will happen to my bass from the sub? Will fitting the sub "removable" style ( like maybe I'll use velcro etc to mount the sub, since I want to utilise the smaller space underneath the luggage area for my sub's amp etc.. ) make it prone to..I dunno..damage etc? I don't think it'll move if the velcro is mounted properly on both sides ( the sub's box and the luggage area floor ) Suggestions / ideas etc?

more than enuf ...
maybe newbies thought that fitting only front speakers will make te rear passengers deaf
very very big mistake...
i dono how 2 explain to u but after u fit it...u'll know..

for the sub thingy...
get a small 8 or 10 inch sub which can be drive in a small box....
it should suits u...
my car is driven by 1 8 inch boston acoustics sub...

Spoon DC5 II said:
more than enuf ...
maybe newbies thought that fitting only front speakers will make te rear passengers deaf
very very big mistake...
i dono how 2 explain to u but after u fit it...u'll know..

for the sub thingy...
get a small 8 or 10 inch sub which can be drive in a small box....
it should suits u...
my car is driven by 1 8 inch boston acoustics sub...

okies bro..so i presume only front speakers is enuff la..anyone else got any suggestions?

my setup also front component set and 1 12inch woofer. For me, i dun think it's enough because the passenger behind will find it very difficult to listen the songs from infront since the BIG SEATS are blocking it.. This kind of settup is best for the front passenger only.. hehe..

just my 0.2 cents..

ace79 said:
I will be setting up a simple ICE in my hatch. Bullet_NOS @ Mohawk suggested me to only fit front speakers and a sub, and 2 amps ( one to drive the front speakers comp set and the other one for my sub ) Will the sound @ noise be enuff if I just do a setup like this? I'll be listening to all kinds of music : hip hop, R & B, electronica, soul, jazz, drum & bass, house, trance, oldies...the lots!

Another "?" : I plan to fit the sub not in the middle of the hatch's luggage area, maybe in the RHD luggage area, since I still want to keep a usable amount of luggage space. What will happen to my bass from the sub? Will fitting the sub "removable" style ( like maybe I'll use velcro etc to mount the sub, since I want to utilise the smaller space underneath the luggage area for my sub's amp etc.. ) make it prone to..I dunno..damage etc? I don't think it'll move if the velcro is mounted properly on both sides ( the sub's box and the luggage area floor ) Suggestions / ideas etc?

bro,
ask urself is it normally u will drive alone or with ur girl only or most of all full house? fmho rear speakers is only add on.the most important things is to get a good front speakers and good HU.
what bullet_NOS said is true.get a good sub either 8 or 10.
another thing is sound dampening will make your ICE setup much more better.
just my 2 cents

My alphard which is my family car has both front and rear comp sets as the front comp realli can't give up enuf signal to the 2nd and 3rd row passenger....due to the distance and the seat as an obstacle....
so my front comp set facing upwards from my front door(fibre mounting) and my rear comp set(3 way) are at my B pillar facing the rear and my sub is 2 x 10 inch

whereas my teg is just front comp with a sub
that's all ;)

thanks to all of you...many2 thanks bro's!!!

thank you all...KeonG, EG8 and Spoon DC5 II..yes, most of the times I am alone in the car ( gf, which ones ah? ekekeke... ) so from all of your suggestions, I'll go with the spec : front comps, amp for the front comps, sub and an amp for the sub...thanks again guys!

EG8 said:
bro,
ask urself is it normally u will drive alone or with ur girl only or most of all full house? fmho rear speakers is only add on.the most important things is to get a good front speakers and good HU.
what bullet_NOS said is true.get a good sub either 8 or 10.
another thing is sound dampening will make your ICE setup much more better.
just my 2 cents
even if u car full house.. most of the time passengers dunno nuts bout ICE hehe..
so no need to please them.. :D

with the proper tuning the front speakers will please those in the rear... hey they don't rock/live/mix frm yer rear unless u're dancing backwards at a concert ya know :p

i once used rear speakers as well but when i dismantle them... the change was more that i expected! ;)

if u're concern of space, then look for a sub which can be used as free air but note this, free air means more power usage else no feeling ;)

For cars liek the alphard whereby its long, the rear passengers wont really get to hear the front speakers... For smaller cars like a Civic, frotns are sufficient.

Get a good 2-way comp set up front and a 12" sub will be a good start.

If space is a constraint, get a 10" but if you find it not enough you will upgrade pretty fast. Free air is good but a lot of things to consider such as mounting and sealign of the hatch to get it to sound better.

thanks everyone..it's been great help..but i think most probably i'll stick to 10's sub..intend to keep the available space..one more thing : Alpine 7998R do support WMA? i intend to buy this ( 2nd loh ) as soon as i have the moolah...ekekeke..

CDA-7998R Bass Engine PRO CD/MP3 Player/Tuner
Alpine's FantomFace CD/MP3 Player has all the features you need, including a new design that gives a 30% greater viewing area. The MediaXpander and Bass Engine technologies give you unparalleled acoustic control.

Max Tune Pro RDS Tuner
MP3 Playback (ID3 Tag)
i-Personalize
Bass Engine Pro
6-Channel Digital Time Correction
Subwoofer Level/Phase Control
3 4Volt PreOut
MediaXpander
Blackout
Remote Control Included
Nokia MobileHub Ready
FantomFace XL
Dual Illumination
Versatile Link
Optical Digital Output
http://alpine.com.au/images/Productimages/CDA-7998R.gif

product details taken from Alpine Australia, www.alpine.com.au
http://alpine.com.au/images/Productimages/CDA-7998R.gif?52

mp3 is not the same as wma, right? i don't think the seller would lie, right?

mp3 and wma are two different format, but the concept is the same.... compressed audio file format.