Help : Subwoofer Placement & Effects.

ace79

Pls do see the pic below, fitment is intended for Honda Civic EG6 hatchback. The reason I'm fitting it with some gap between the subwoofer box and the rear seat is because I'm going to order a custom made angled rear strut bar from Calvin @ Ultra Racing. This is because I still want to have access to the small compartment of the rear luggage area ( the one on top of the spare wheel ) How will the bass coming out from the box sounds then? BTW, the sub box will be fitted on the RHD side of the luggage area.
http://img290.imageshack.us/img290/4716/subwoofer4gp.pnghttp://img290.imageshack.us/img290/4716/subwoofer4gp.png

will the sub box be on top of the plastic cover of the compartment? subs work best when mounted solidly on hard surfaces, to give better sub response through the car. some bolt them direct to chassis or body. as far as positioning i dont think there would be any problem with whats in your diagram.

Zenn : sadly as any EG6 cars, no, it's not solid enuff. the sub box is going to be placed on top of the rear luggage removable cover ( whereby it allows access to a small luggage area enuff for a couple of amps, a small carrybag and a 10 litre fuel container ) on top of the space saver spare tyre... :(

the chart looks ok, since u have many constraints just make sure it is fitted 'solidly', so that the sub does not move around, shake, rumble when u revvvvv yer ride.. enclosure should be build with solid mdf board, need not b as thick as an inch but do follow the spec's given

i want to make the sub box removable by using velcro, ok ke?

ok la but how will u stick the velcro to the plastic container cover? if u glue it maybe wont be strong enuff, maybe have to screw it down, hopefully it wont tear, just dont konar-lipat so much lah...

preferred u got rid of the whole plastic compartment and make a normal wooden floor as replacement with 3/4 mdf and carpet.

Pjam & Zenn : thanks for your thoughts guys...will ponder on this more then.. :)

If you want to make a removable enclosure, why dont' you just place it in the trunk? above the spare tyre well? It wouldn't be that obvious too right? Futhermore, the sub will be firing at your windows right?

Just a newbie, those are just my 0.05 cent. :D

cacin said:
If you want to make a removable enclosure, why dont' you just place it in the trunk? above the spare tyre well? It wouldn't be that obvious too right? Futhermore, the sub will be firing at your windows right?

Just a newbie, those are just my 0.05 cent. :D

er, i'm driving an EG6 hatch...i've stated that earlier..

Ace,

I have the same problem as yours. Now i'm thinking bout getting a wooden floor to replace the plastic compartent. Gonna put my 12" sub there and stick all my amps to that wooden floor also. But i'm not sure whether the sub sound gonna be solid or not. Very hard since there's only small space. Still thinking about it though.

about the valcro stuff, i'm currently using it to hold my sub box. it will hold but you have to put it all round the box.

ace79 said:
er, i'm driving an EG6 hatch...i've stated that earlier..

seems like many hatchback owners got the same issue

me also... dunno how to proper mount my subs in the trunk. maybe i should get a flat wooden floor cover, right?

my current trunk floor cover is a very thin plywood i guess, already bengkok downwards because the subs are quite heavy and there is no spare tyre below it tu support the weight. :thumpdown

alamak, like this ke? hhmmm...since i'm only getting myself a 10" sub, i hope it won't be too heavy for EG6's rear hatch cover...

sub works best when mounted on a solid surface, thin plywood material found in most trunks just cant cut it....

i strongly recommend replacing any thin or plastic floors with thicker wood for better bass.

for the more adventurous, try screwing down the box directly to your chassis :rock: :rock:

Zenn said:
sub works best when mounted on a solid surface, thin plywood material found in most trunks just cant cut it....

i strongly recommend replacing any thin or plastic floors with thicker wood for better bass.

for the more adventurous, try screwing down the box directly to your chassis :rock: :rock:

looks like I have to make do with what's available.. :(

i found out that the sub should be put in the middle of my boot....maybe yours too..
i use 10" cheap sub and i can feel that the sub beat more decent when put in middle position..maybe you wont feel anything if u use bigger sub..

btw, my car is kancil

go to those acc shop to ask them custom made a floor for u..i think cost around 30-70...ask them use the 3/4 inch speaker wood.and then cover with the speaker box carpet..and secure ur woofer box with L shape steel with the floor u made..that should be nice..