si|verfish said:
And fuck the whole lose identity, no longer national car bullshit.
- Lamborghini: The famed raging bull is owned by VW. The name Lamborghini sounds very German, does or doesn't it? Same with Bugatti.
I think that is enough examples already. Also, a lot of these cars are still being built in the country of its origin by the same people. Imagine that, Proton; owned by VW, built in Malaysia by Malaysians. Where is the shame in that? Imagine Protons as good as the Mk 5 Golf GTi. Is that a disgrace?
VW has done a brilliant job with Skoda (Czech) and Seat (Spanish). Both have improved by leaps and bounds, as a brand and in terms or the products offered. For Proton to axe the deal altogether = selfish, dumb and with hidden motives.
si|verfish said:
Well, if we want to criticise Proton, we must also be even-handed. Perodua has been churning out Kancils for ages also, albeit with several facelifts. They do have a new model to replace the Kancil coming up.
That said it still isn't as ridiculous as the "new" Saga, which is like a 70 year old grand ma getting plastic surgery to look younger. No matter what you do, she still looks old and knackered.
Furthermore, its not so much the lack of model updates but the goddamn build quality, which is crap. And the constant feeling of getting ripped off everytime you buy a Proton.
One thing thou.... the 2004 Saga .. degrades, compare that to the first batch of Iswara ... the 2004 ones were much inferior.
However... anyone here owns the new facelifted kancil? drives and rides ALOT better, even the sound deafening is done up quite good!
by the way, Lamborghini is bought by Audi i think, not VW. :)
What else company that "Looses their own identity..... " ~~~ konon ..
Fujitsu Heavy Industries owned by GM..... Subaru.
Saab, which produces fighter jets (yupe, those that launch heat seeking missles.... flies at mach 1-2 .... were given the Impreza's chassis to developed a Saab 9-2 (havent comfirmed)
Ferrari owned by Fiat, Alfa Romeo as well.
Radical eh? These too i guess....
6-8 years back Fiat is larger than VW, 4th largest car maker.
Samsung Motors just gulung tikar (Yes, that Samsung. They used Nissan platforms)
http://www.thecrawdaddypage.com/pics/places/seo/samsung.jpg
Mitsubishi Motors Corp (MMC) was just sold off by their owner to a BANK. (Owner? Daimler Chrysler aka Mercedes Benz)
World's largest carmaker (GM) losses an average of $290 USD per car they sold. Toyota earns around $1400 USD per car they sold on average.
The old classic Mini, contributes alot to the bankcruptcy of BMC (British Motors Corp) because they were selling it way too cheap to fend off Ford.
DISCLAIMER : *Most were based on what i read, not making up stories; BUT i'm felt lazy to go find out all exact details. These are the rough stuffs that happened.*