skyline greatest rival?

Check This 2007 Supra out. At first I thought What The Fuck The Toyota's engineered Thinking Off. It's a Hybrid, but on paper the figure is quite amazing with a 3.5 liter V6 hybrid engine capable of producing 339 hp. Will this be a rival to Skyline?
toyotasupraaex.jpg

still prefer the old design...
dun like all these futuristic looks....

but the v6 producing 339hp isnt bad. Now , RX8, supra all become NA, will the evos, sti become NA one day too??

evoX2 said:
what are the main diff? front wheel drive & rear wheel drive? if 400m, my money still go for R

In a 400 meter test a Nissan Skyline R34 GTR does 13.7 secs stock.

In a 400 meter test a Honda NSX 2002 does 13.4 secs stock and thats not even the NSX R.

In a 400 meter test a Honda NSX R 2002 would probably do it at 13 secs flat because of the severe weight loss program Honda performed on the existing NSX.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_NSX

Here is some background on the NSX and better yet check under the real Nurburg Ring. The 2002 NSX R tied the Ferrari 360 Challenge Stradale, something no other 280bhp Japanese car has done.

haha..u got me wrong, i mean 400m between 350z & DC2R/DC5R, i will still bet on the R :regular_smile:

wonder if NSX does use vtec in their engine or not?

no such thing as an NSX without vtec hehe.

DC5 does 400m in 14.5 secs
350Z does 400m in 14.3 secs

very close race i say. but top end after 400m the DC5 is toast :)

hmm...
one question..
ive watched a video (downloaded on the net),
its a R33 Vspec VS. 2 types of NSX (type S & ?) VS. Evo5 GSr VS. Evo5 RS

guest whats the result?

1. NSX
2. NSX typeS
3. R33
4. EV0 5 RS
5. Evo 5 GSR (gear box failure)

* video review for the NSx..

the other video is:-
R34 GTR stock VS a mild moded AE86 with 180HP (driven by the drift king himself) n VS. AE86 220HP..
(no drifting invovled)

results;

1 180 hp AE86
2.220hp AE86
3. Gtr (far behind..)

(video review for a moded AE86)

any comments? is it still a fake video?

I'd take those Option races with a pinch of salt as they are driven by drivers of different skill levels. Also, it is very difficult to overtake if the driver in front of you is very clean in his lines and blocks your every attempt. The best would be a "Stig" style test where times are taken and put onto a ranking board.

On different circuits different cars will prevail, so it is always an academic exercise to rate the "best" car.

See the R32 in action at Macau in 1991. The tight circuit doesn't suit the R32 at all. But in different circuits like Silverstone, the story could be different. Of course the world took notice when the R32 broke the lap record at Nurgburgring, but now it has been reclaimed by conti cars.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-HRVAR65LQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhzt0iFVV9o

KoichiImpul33 said:
Bro, no offense but I think it pretty much depends how you tweak the engine. If you mess up the Haltech mapping, you will end up losing power instead. Btw, not all engines perform well under Haltech. dun believe me? check out some forums, especially U.S and OZ forums on Evo, you will find that Motec works better than Haltech on Evos. I had a fully tweaked eg6 which was proven to be faster than my 350Z, but I had performance parts all over, from the enlarged EK9 trottle body all the way to the border 304. I guess its not fair to compare that way cos the mods are not the same. You should compare a standard DC type R with a standard 350Z. I would agree that the 1st few gears the Z might be slightly behind but once it hits midrange it should be able to catch up and overtake. A good 350 meters could prove this right. the VQ35 engine has high midrange torque. I have tried a standard EP3 when it was 1st launched many many years ago, didnt really feel the power, i guess the same would apply to a slightly heavier DC5R.

No bro...its not fair to compare stock DC5 vs Stock 350Z...Because DC5 is only 2 Liter vs 3.5 Liter. In NA,there is no replacement for displacement.

HanJackaL said:
No bro...its not fair to compare stock DC5 vs Stock 350Z...Because DC5 is only 2 Liter vs 3.5 Liter. In NA,there is no replacement for displacement.

Not necessarily. How about Ferrari F430 and lambo gallardo.

F430
4.3 litre
490bhp
638 N.m (torque)
318.7km/h top speed
0-100kmh in 3.9secs
0-400m in 11.9 secs

Gallardo
5 litre (700cc more)
500bhp
510 N.m
309kmh top speed
0-100kmh in 4.1 secs
0-400m in 12.2 secs

Info taken from www.supercars.net

There is/are replacement(s) for displacement. With new technology, i wouldnt be surprised if a 2 liter NA engine will be able to produce 400bhp someday

munky said:
Not necessarily. How about Ferrari F430 and lambo gallardo.

F430
4.3 litre
490bhp
638 N.m (torque) COLOR]

The F430 only produces 465 Nm of torque. I noticed the problem because its improbable that the 4.3 litre Ferrari V8 would have more torque than the 5.0 litre Lambo V10.

2 litre engines can boost up to 650bhp just ask around for a white Silvia 15 that lives somewhere in PJ :P

si|verfish said:
The F430 only produces 465 Nm of torque. I noticed the problem because its improbable that the 4.3 litre Ferrari V8 would have more torque than the 5.0 litre Lambo V10.

Oh didnt know that. But if that's the case, isn't it better ? Only 465Nm of torque and yet accelerate quicker than the lambo, and go faster than the lambo