skyline greatest rival?

jeanloo said:
Nissan Fairlady has such a glorious history and is one of the best Models of Japanese Automotive industry of all time. It is considered THE FIRST JAPANESE SPORTS CAR that caught the international eye.(Many considered it is the first, but it is actually second after Toyota's 2000GT which is jointly developed with Yamaha). It's is the car that makes the MAT SALLEHS scream "Oh My God, the Japs got some serious shit there" and makes them realise that the Japs is going to dominate the automotive industry for the next few decades after the 70's. Maybe the 350Z is not to our SENIOR MEMBER HanJackaL's expectation, but none the less it is a great piece of automotive engineering. So do some homeworks before you give these kind of comment, you piece of shit.

Lol dude..? Fairlady is 3.5 liter NA with only 280 HP..heavy weight,plastic interior,lack of gadgets.Uncomfortable to drive and without the power to compensate for the it.Dont talk about Bolt On turbo...everyone and their mother knows that a NA with BOT will turn out to be unreliable..cannot compete with the RB engine in terms of reliability and potential of Mod. Fairlady's displacement and engine bay is not practical for Bolt on turbo applications anyway.Cooling will not be efficient.

To put it simply,the only reason why Fairlady is made by Nissan is so that they can earn money selling the fairlady to the Mat Sallehs. Do you know its very hard to own a skyline in certain countries due to emission rules ? Because of that,Nissan loses out alot of business.Thats why they made the Fairlady..and you are buying a car thats simply commercialized by Nissan to make money.Mazda did that with RX8,non turbo to meet emission standard...but guess big name companies can easily brain wash some simple,naive people with their marketing strategy.Fairlady and RX8 were created for the same reasons..But at least RX8 has great comfort and lightweight to make up for its lack of performance...

Car companies play around the world rules,try to get money from every consumer group. That explains why the RX7 is better than RX8 and 300zx is better than fairlady Z.Its all about the money my friend..who cares if the Mat Sallehs like Fairlady just because it complies with emission ruling. I am not allowing rules to stop me from getting a good car..and i am not going to buy a car based on rules.

My friend,just because i dont like the car does not mean i am a "sour grape" or anything.To tell you the truth,the 300ZX is a better car than the few Fairlady Z. If you are such a loser and cant accept facts,proof it to me how good a Fairlady Z is. If you want we can bring it to Sepang for open track,bring any Fairlady you want,i will show you what a real car is.

Thanks.

Good Morning Bro HanJackaL,

You are condeming the Fairlady as a whole or just the 350Z, pls be specific. Nissan's marketing gimmick promoting Fairlady as their flagship car and will phase out soon? For your info, Fairlady has always been Nissan's icon and had been around long before many of us here were born. Is it HP is the only thing matter when it come to a car? I guess your REAL CAR must be something looking like this :-
http://www.draglist.com/photoimages/Photos-2002/Rich%20Hanna's%20First%20Strke%20gets%20ready%20for%20another%20launch%20at%20MIR's%20Jet%20Car%20Nats.%20Photo%20by%20Stephen%20Jones.jpg

A real car is one that have 4 wheels, consume petrol and get you around and a toy car is the one u push with your hand or battery operated is it?

My favourites Japs car:-
2000GTlf.jpg

jeanloo said:
Good Morning Bro HanJackaL,

You are condeming the Fairlady as a whole or just the 350Z, pls be specific. Nissan's marketing gimmick promoting Fairlady as their flagship car and will phase out soon? For your info, Fairlady has always been Nissan's icon and had been around long before many of us here were born. Is it HP is the only thing matter when it come to a car? I guess your REAL CAR must be something looking like this :-
http://www.draglist.com/photoimages/Photos-2002/Rich%20Hanna's%20First%20Strke%20gets%20ready%20for%20another%20launch%20at%20MIR's%20Jet%20Car%20Nats.%20Photo%20by%20Stephen%20Jones.jpg

I am only condemning the Fairlady 350 Z. Other fairlady especially the 300ZX is a good car.

A real good car has everything in 1 package. Comfort,speed,fun,stability,good looks,safety.

Fairlady is lacking in too many areas..especially its cheap interior and large useless displacement.Dude,japanese cars own the Continental cars with its HP to Liter ratio.Fairlady Z is an embarrasment to japanese sport cars.

3.5 Liter for 280 HP
And everyone knows NA is all about large displacement and modification does not yield much horsepower returns unlike force induction.

How can the japanese even think of using Fairlady Z as their flagship and compete with continental sport cars ?Unless you guys are saying Asians are so sad,they must settle for a inferior car. Come on guys, an old school BMW M3 which is in the year 90s is killing the 2003 japanese sport.

Legendary japanese cars has the ability to go beyond 700 HP.Skyline is Nissan's icon for drag and silvia for drift.Its been proven...every car company has their own proven car.Like mitsubishi's Evo is proven for rally. All those cars also happen to be able to go beyond 700 HP aside from its other plus points.

Dont tell me about what the world thinks and what you think,people can think anything. What is Fairlady for?To make money by heavy marketing ?If a fairlady cannot compete with skyline for drag ,silvias for drift,RX8 for comfort, Evo for rally then what else does it have ?

This topic is about skylines greatest rival....skyline is superb for drag and everyone knows that. So which other car is also legendary for drag? Supras and RX7...Why you even talking about fairlady ? You want to use a fairlady to drag with the 1000 HP skylines ? Lol ?

Oh ya btw,if i want to play NA, i can play with a Ferrari.Why should i be "sour" over a fairlady ?On second thought, i prefer japanese turbos =)

well said.
i am interested to know the answer to your question.

seriously, have the same thought as HanJackal which proves his point....
anyway, jeanloo; u dun really have to call ppl who disagree with u a "piece of shit". Everyone has the right to his opinion.
Prefered the old Fairlady and with the lauching of the 350Z; seems that Nissan has changes the look of a "Fairlady". That's the first thing I noticed.
I rather like toyota; just because they can't think of a "New" Supra, they stop producing it. Retiring it like a legend.
Even the newest NSX when u look at it u know it's NSX!
That's my opinion.

And nobody's going to call me a "piece of shit/trash/fuck etc..." for disagreeing with my statement. Or else; hell's going to break loose.
Those who disagree can say so their opinions but dun go all so childish like calling names.

Cheers!

Boon, you are right. I am sorry to called HanJackacal a piece of shit. Maybe Fairlady is a Piece Of Trash After all.

Skyline's closes rival

Hi everyone.

I am a 350z owner. I dun wish to call anyone names cos I believe everyone has their own opinion.

I agree that the 350z cannot beat the cult GTR34. Nissan wanted a sober car which would be acceptable in any part of the world and the GTR34 encountered some problems in this area due to unacceptable level of emission, noise, etc.. Maybe its not fair to compare the 2 anyway. U c, the 350Z is actually a grand tourer while GTR34 is not 1. In terms of comfort, put it this way: the 350Z driving position feels like you are piloting a 747 and you are seated in a comfy seat while the skyline feels like you are piloting a MIG39,comfort level minimised but you have tonnes of power to play with. so, its really diffuclt to compare the 2.

The Z has lots of plastics and aluminium parts to keep the weight down. The car weights over 1.4 tonnes, no thanks to the 3.5 V6 Renault engine. Anyway, in general Nissan interior is nothing to shout about, and I dare say this after owning an S15 and now a 350z. The GTR34 interior is acceptble but could be better. I prefer Honda and Lexus's interior.

I guess the best rival would be the NSX-R. If you look at continental rivals, you are looking at the 911 4s or Turbo, the closest i can think of cos the 911 4s n Turbo are 4wd and offers 2+2 seating, altho rear engined. BTW, for your info the original 4wd skyline shared the same 4wd system as the legendary porsche 959 (they bought the system), and my guess is they have been improving the system with newer models. The F456GT is also a potential as it is also a 2+2 and front engine, but not a 4wd.

got this from wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_350Z

Criticism

While the 350Z has received much praise in certain quarters, it has received a fair amount of criticism as well. Among the complaints are that the car is extremely heavy, muting the sporty feeling during acceleration. The weight also means that, in order to handle like a sports car, the suspension must be extremely stiff, resulting in a very uncomfortable ride for many people. The lack of engine refinement and noise is also a major criticism. Other problems include:

* Poor quality of materials used on the interior
* Lack of attention to ergonomic design,
* Glare given off the backstrut bar that reflects in the rear view mirror
* Problems with the paintwork have been reported on a number of vehicles, with paint coming off in a manner that suggests stone chips. Closer inspection of the paintwork reveals that these defects are not caused by impacts on the paintwork but rather from the paint cracking off in small patches. Nissan does not acknowledge this problem.
* Widespread issues with engines consuming their own oil at abnormal rates, more significantly in the 2006 "RevUp" edition of the VQ35 engine. Nissan currently is replacing engines that are brought in and found to consume 1 or more litres per 1000 miles, but has not issued a recall as of October 2006.

But certainly this doesn't really qualified as a real trash to many of us, but only to HanJackal. He got strong words and hard critismn; that's all. Jeremy Clarkson in the make.....kekekekekeke

Skyline's Rival

Ahh, forgot to mention few more things.

If you read the latest Autocar UK's review on best handling cars, notice that the 350z came 5th out of a handfull of performance and GT junkies, losing out only to Aston DB9, Exige S, Cayman S, Gallardo and 997 Turbo. So, to say the car handles badly is not right all together.

I like the 350Z cos its tame yet able to perform when I want it to. If i want a really fast car, I'd go buy an Italian or German sportscar, freaking fast and at the same time stylo maaa..muahaha....

I can only find one problem with the 350z, and that is the weight of the car, other than that, I love the car.

Like KoichiImpul33 said, if I want a really fast car, I'd go and buy a supercar. When you're talking about Japanese, who cares about the straight road so fast anyway? I wonder if anybody pays attention to the atessa ETC of the R34 rather than the RB26.

haha.....
alot of simple minds like us would usually compare who's got the biggest BHP, fastest in Quater Mile, how many secs to get to 100km/h and so forth...biggest displacement; turbo non turbo, V6,V8,V12 etc....
but those minor details which makes it truly stand up usually goes un-noticed.
Sometimes I would prefer a thread like "VVTI or IDSI...which one is more fuel efficient tech?....pros and cons" which is more informational.

jeanloo said:
Boon, you are right. I am sorry to called HanJackacal a piece of shit. Maybe Fairlady is a Piece Of Trash After all.

Its ok,HanJackaL forgives you ;)

Anyway I heard that the 2008 Skyline is going to use the same engine with 350Z and it does looks similar to the 350z especially 350Z. I guess that's a bad news for you HanJackal?

Here is a pic of your beloved Skyline:-
http://news.windingroad.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/10/skyline-1.jpg

HanJackaL said:
This topic is about skylines greatest rival....skyline is superb for drag and everyone knows that. So which other car is also legendary for drag? Supras and RX7...Why you even talking about fairlady ? You want to use a fairlady to drag with the 1000 HP skylines ? Lol ?

=)

Sorry but I am a noob, Is It true dat Skyline have 1000 HP?

2008 Skyline

Erhm. you may be right. The 2008 GTR might use a twin turbo VQ35 or VQ45 engine, both expected to pump out 400bhp or more. But wit the current oil price issues, I think its going to be the 3.5 V6 fairlady engine with twin turbs. If I remember correctly, the chasis of the new GTR is also based on the Z33 chasis, the same chasis that the 350gt skyline is sitting on. For more info, do a google search on Nissan GTR.

for your info, the twin turbo VQ35 engine is not new, it was used in last year's Japan GT's Nissan.

if skyline's going to be like that; I guessed alot of critics sure come pouring in...
if they're really going to change the chasis design; better they come out with a new model....
*sigh*
Maybe that's the biggest weakness in Japanese makers. They tweak some thing they say it's a new version.
*sigh*

btw, jeanloo; skyline doesn't have 1000bhp. But it can mod to withstand 1000bhp and still street legal.
That's probably why alot of ppl out there luvs japanese cars that much. It's much more affordable than conti with the amount of mod to get to that numbers.
Anyway, can't really seem to figure out why ppl would be crazy enuf to mod till 1000bhp.
Maybe they're the real enthuiast and really got money to spend.
*sigh*
Show me the money pls!