skyline greatest rival?

is there any manual 350z in the market?
i only tested the auto version. Really disappointed with it, even 1/2 350z displacement's integra type R have better "feel" of power. (even though in paper 350z will blew those R away)
But one thing for sure, the looks of 350z really look WOW......for me its "ONE OF" the best looking jap car

jeanloo said:
Here is a pic of your beloved Skyline:-
http://news.windingroad.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/10/skyline-1.jpg

i still think R34 looks nicer....hehe

btw, 350z do looks like audi TT

Fierce looking 2008 GTR

To me, the 2008 GTR will be the meanest looking Nissan ever. I just hope the engine matches the looks.

As for 350z's performance, I'm very sure it'll outdo any Type Rs except for NSX-R. It cannot outdo the scoobies or evos, even the s15 for sure but can surely make an integra type r look slower than a skodia fabia in a straight line....muahahahah.

I tried my 350Z against an SMG2 M3, 1st 3 gears I was 1 car behind but midrange I managed to catch up, couldnt overtake tho...and after 180kph, he wave goodbye to me as my speed limiter sprung into action. If I remove the limiter, can probably do 250kph. I'm sure the 2008 GTR will be able to do >250kph, close to Porsche and Ferrari's top end

b00n said:
btw, jeanloo; skyline doesn't have 1000bhp. But it can mod to withstand 1000bhp and still street legal.
That's probably why alot of ppl out there luvs japanese cars that much. It's much more affordable than conti with the amount of mod to get to that numbers.
Anyway, can't really seem to figure out why ppl would be crazy enuf to mod till 1000bhp.
Maybe they're the real enthuiast and really got money to spend.
*sigh*
Show me the money pls!

Exactly, so don't say lar Skyline have 1000 horsepower and 350Z is thrash if compare to it.

are u sure 350z is that fast? i am not sure on the manual, i drove the auto one, if race with a dc2 or dc5 i dont think the R will be left far behind. One paper, the z have around 80 more hp but in track it isnt as that significant

You guys look down on Type R. You have no idea how fast they are..they have excellent gear ratio and its LIGHTWEIGHT. Fairlady is heavy !

In fact, i tested a B18C type R against a modded fairlady Z before. Fairlady lost badly in Gear 2 onwards..When fairlady switch to 3rd gear,Type R still dragging 2nd gear and overtaking slowly,then when 3rd gear push in, overtaking more and more till fairlady was left behind. After that day, my impression on Fairlady Z went down the gutter.

The B18C has modified internals and air intakes,dyno tested at 205 WHP (about 250 engine hp) Fairlady has modified internals and air intakes with haltech engine management. How did fairlady with 3.5 liter lose to honda 1.8 Liter is beyond me...maybe after 220 KMH,fairlady might catch up,but road has cars so had to slow down.

Road used to test : KLIA stretch

Fairlady definately has no match for japanese turbo cars if can lose to Vtec.And its B series vtec..not even F series or K series or NSX.

350z slower than B18C?

Bro, no offense but I think it pretty much depends how you tweak the engine. If you mess up the Haltech mapping, you will end up losing power instead. Btw, not all engines perform well under Haltech. dun believe me? check out some forums, especially U.S and OZ forums on Evo, you will find that Motec works better than Haltech on Evos. I had a fully tweaked eg6 which was proven to be faster than my 350Z, but I had performance parts all over, from the enlarged EK9 trottle body all the way to the border 304. I guess its not fair to compare that way cos the mods are not the same. You should compare a standard DC type R with a standard 350Z. I would agree that the 1st few gears the Z might be slightly behind but once it hits midrange it should be able to catch up and overtake. A good 350 meters could prove this right. the VQ35 engine has high midrange torque. I have tried a standard EP3 when it was 1st launched many many years ago, didnt really feel the power, i guess the same would apply to a slightly heavier DC5R.

RE Amemiya RX7 vs MCR R34

RX7 wins. Enuff said.

Stock Skyline R34 vs NSX-R

NSX-R wins.

Supra's have traction issues with their turbo motors and are not that good in stock form. Good for straightlines. GT500 Supra's use v8s no turbo. Just in case anyone was wondering.

Just adding my 2 cents even though there are 6 pages on this thread. :P

Comparing a Type R to a stock 350Z is like comparing an apple to an orange. Both those cars do different things on and off the track.

KoichiImpul33 said:
To me, the 2008 GTR will be the meanest looking Nissan ever. I just hope the engine matches the looks.

As for 350z's performance, I'm very sure it'll outdo any Type Rs except for NSX-R. It cannot outdo the scoobies or evos, even the s15 for sure but can surely make an integra type r look slower than a skodia fabia in a straight line....muahahahah.

I tried my 350Z against an SMG2 M3, 1st 3 gears I was 1 car behind but midrange I managed to catch up, couldnt overtake tho...and after 180kph, he wave goodbye to me as my speed limiter sprung into action. If I remove the limiter, can probably do 250kph. I'm sure the 2008 GTR will be able to do >250kph, close to Porsche and Ferrari's top end

I think you're wrong. A 350Z stock vs a NSX-R will lose everytime. NSX-R ---> Ferrari killer. 350Z can't even beat an 2005 S2000 in a straight line drag race to 200km/h.

deacon i think he quoted:
KoichiImpul33 said:
I'm very sure it'll outdo any Type Rs except for NSX-R
anyway, S2000 is so much light weigthed. Value for money....kekekeke

but price is expensive.
The last I heard selling in Naza is almost half a mil!

The NSX was supposed to be competing with Porsche 911s. And that proved to be one of its downfalls. Very few are going to pay 911 money for a Honda, no matter how competent the machine. Another problem was that it was a Japanese translation of a mid-engined Italian exotica. And that just means it loses the exotic in exotica. From afar, it looks like a model out of Modenese stables. But from up close, it just looks like Honda trying to look like a Ferrari. And an interior out of an Accord isn't going to help.

I've always felt that cars like the Skyline GTRs and Evos and Imprezas and so on are the essence of Japanese performance cars. Taking something mundane, ordinary, practical even; and then jam packing it full of very clever technology and electronics to make it go really fast.

NSX Type S-Zero and NSX Type-R ( I would say NSX in general )would be the only supercar Japanese ever build and I wouldn't say it's a rival to Skyline rather than a better car than the Skyline . A comparison test was made between NSX Type-R and Skyline GTR-34 V-Spec II by the world's reknown car megazine Autocar , the results was a win to NSX Type-R .

So we can conclude that NSX is the real king of the japanese sportscars (and greatest rival to the skyline), no ? stock standard of course

Anybody wanna argue ?

b00n said:
deacon i think he quoted:

anyway, S2000 is so much light weigthed. Value for money....kekekeke

Sorry i misread :(

S2000 with the 2005 2.2L F22C engine is damn value for money especially with a vortec supercharger 350bhp drooooooool :_:

I wouldn't argue against the NSX-R. It was an engineered driving experience by Ayrton Senna :D

I would the king of a true Japanese sports car would be the NSX. For a super car i would say the Nissan R390 Japan's only 1 million USD sports car. Only two exist in the whole world hehe.

deacon said:
RE Amemiya RX7 vs MCR R34

RX7 wins. Enuff said.

Stock Skyline R34 vs NSX-R

NSX-R wins.

Supra's have traction issues with their turbo motors and are not that good in stock form. Good for straightlines. GT500 Supra's use v8s no turbo. Just in case anyone was wondering.

Just adding my 2 cents even though there are 6 pages on this thread. :P

Comparing a Type R to a stock 350Z is like comparing an apple to an orange. Both those cars do different things on and off the track.

what are the main diff? front wheel drive & rear wheel drive? if 400m, my money still go for R