Proton - Greatest Liars In The World ..

ehaab said:
Proton had a golden chance to improve with VW...but it seems they want to keep a few people rich and happy so that thier customers are miserable forver.
Yup. If VW are in charge, who do they hire ? People with ability, competent people. So that mean UMN...oops..."they" cannot favour their own. That's the real meaning of patriotism and "national" car.

And fuck the whole lose identity, no longer national car bullshit.
- Holden: Owned by GM, still associated with Aussies.

- Lotus: Owned by Proton (but who gives a fuck), still associated with the Brits and Colin Chapman.

- Nissan: Owned by Renault (how many of you know that?). Do you call Nissan's Japanese cars or French cars? You know the answer to that.

- Perodua: Half owned by Toyota. Still associated with Malaysia.

- Aston Martin and Jaguar: Owned by Ford. But does anybody ever think they are anything else but British?

- Rolls Royce: Owned by BMW. Would you look at one and think; "Ooh, that's German..."?

- Volvo: Owned by Ford. Still associated with Sweden.

- Lamborghini: The famed raging bull is owned by VW. The name Lamborghini sounds very German, does or doesn't it? Same with Bugatti.

- Bentley: Owned by VWAG but still quintesentially British.

- Land Rover: Ford owns it now. But I don't think of Fords when I hear the name Land Rover or Range Rover.

- Mini Cooper: Yes, ze Germans haf it. But it is an absolute icon that you can't really disassociate it from its past.

I think that is enough examples already. Also, a lot of these cars are still being built in the country of its origin by the same people. Imagine that, Proton; owned by VW, built in Malaysia by Malaysians. Where is the shame in that? Imagine Protons as good as the Mk 5 Golf GTi. Is that a disgrace?

VW has done a brilliant job with Skoda (Czech) and Seat (Spanish). Both have improved by leaps and bounds, as a brand and in terms or the products offered. For Proton to axe the deal altogether = selfish, dumb and with hidden motives.

acbc said:
The Government should close down Proton n let Lotus take over as management. Guarantee business will be good. After all, it's a Lotus! :)
Ummm, dude...they aren't very good at it. That's why Lotus nearly gulung tikar before Proton saved them. They are still not profitable.

Improment need for p1.

like last 10 year ppl said. p2 only for untie only coz produce kancil small car. now already big car with da dvvt 1.3, who dared to said produce for untie used!!!

look at da p1. wira still selling with da diferent name and be new model ==>> wiraSE. shame to got thet. please use u otak" to think some new car and idea. dont always like that lol :baring_teeth:

Hock said:
If we don't buy proton car, goverment will take the oppurtunity to increase the import-tax for imported car.

Blame Rapidah give too much AP for imported car causing proton lost money.........Actually goverment know about the quality of proton. 10 years back technologies. But still using until now.

Let we take the example like Proton Caunselor. Costing around RM138K for waja technology. If like that, i rather buy NAZA RIA, less than 100k now. MPV some more........

Proton never think........rm138K for such a stupid technology. There though there selling luxury car meh? Even both car are difference category, franky speaking, between 2 car, which one you all will get?

Stupid protong, government support so much still no improvement..................

Well, if we want to criticise Proton, we must also be even-handed. Perodua has been churning out Kancils for ages also, albeit with several facelifts. They do have a new model to replace the Kancil coming up.

That said it still isn't as ridiculous as the "new" Saga, which is like a 70 year old grand ma getting plastic surgery to look younger. No matter what you do, she still looks old and knackered.

Furthermore, its not so much the lack of model updates but the goddamn build quality, which is crap. And the constant feeling of getting ripped off everytime you buy a Proton.

bored...can we move to another topic and stop complaining only about proton???buy a 2nd accord or watever...and move on with life brothers!!!DRIFT!!!with proton...hahaha..if proton got produce RWD cars..i wont stop myself from buying it

which is why in the first place get any other car in the market other then Proton.

so sad to hear bout your problem wei... but seriously bro... ur not the first... a lot of my frens have complained about water going through their trunklah, their rooflah, a lotlah "bocor" problems in their Wajas and Wiras... as for Gen2, a lot, and i mean A LOT of complaints about the CAMPRO engine... it's sad when I think about PROTON and it's history... its been around since 1982 (if I'm not mistaken) and newer companies like Kia, Hyundai and domestically, Perodua, provide better products and service than them. All PROTON does is take their consumer base for granted and sell their cars above cost-price because of the import tax implemented by the gov't which forces foreign companies to sell their products more expensive in comparison to PROTON... one day when the tax is removed, PROTON will sink faster than even the freakin TITANIC...

Ok folks, proton aint all bad but still got some good points also. like......................erm.........................erm....................................hm.......................er................

aircond power!!!

yea yea .. u turn on your air cond .. your 1.5 car turns into a 1.3 car .. u put your acond on max .. your 1.5 turns into a wheelbarrow .. Adeeei .. i know iam overkilling it .. but u get the point ..

If we dint have a national car industry.. i wonder how much it would hurt our economy .. people are still going to buy cars to move around .. at least the cars would be reliable .. PROTON SOTONG !

zero4 said:
Ok folks, proton aint all bad but still got some good points also. like......................erm.........................erm....................................hm.......................er................

aircond power!!!
hahahaha........ i admin it!!!! proton aircon can said the best!!! better than civic!!

anyway, according to the branch manager, they need to order the gearbox from JAPAN, read, its JAPAN! then, they have these so called "work completion standards". They are given time frame to settle a problem. If exceed or less than the time frame, they will be questioned for their work quality.

anyway, changing a gearbox in 3 weeks are really long. but if the car comes out OK, then nvm lorr, somemore got 3 months warranty on the repair part.....

RPM_freak:
Oh, about the air con part, 1.5 turn into 1.3, how true is that? i never experience such problem before. If we don't buy our proton cars, u will imagine our country economy ends up some place like indonesia, myanmar, vietnam, who don't make their own cars.
If we buy oversea car, our money are flowing out the country, and our RM currency value will drop heavily!! Then end up probably like myanmar, the government banned on any import cars to prevent anymore money flowing out the country, OR inccured extremely heavy tax on imported cars to cover the losses. By that time, say bye bye to all the toyotas, hondas, nissans u have been dreaming of.

neverending potong story....

just hope they wont do anything to perodua when they see them grow as main competetor...as people now can clearly see which one improves tremendously, and which one is heading down the stream.....

imported car tax now are sky-high, man...and its the only way they can force people to buy protong....so, people only have two choices now, and if its u, which one would u choose? just hope and pray there wont be any conspiracy whatsoever to make people suffer to buy perodua...

comparing their latest products clearly shows what both companies have achieved or shall we say, "learned" for their previous lessons...

seems like the "little brother" is now more matured, wiser and humble than "big brother"....

its getting clear to whom my vote will go in the next election....

they've had their chances, guys...cum on...30 over years. other than communist-ruled countries, tell me any one country that had the same govt for that long?

they've had their chances and they dare to put aside our hope, at least my hope, down the drain. promises after promises, and the only people gaining or getting something is their people...they ignore the small small things that matter the most, especially to lower income group of people, until basic issues like water, electricity, roads, public transport, basic education - of which to me should never appear in a country that has its independence for nearly 50 years...separuh abad, beb!!!

and again, protong should be OUR car, each and every one, you and me...
with that price, can we proudly say that everybody in malaysia owns a protong?
and with that price, should we face all those hassle because of the so-called "quality"?!

pangkah apa kalian kali ini?

xcheong said:
If we don't buy our proton cars, u will imagine our country economy ends up some place like indonesia, myanmar, vietnam, who don't make their own cars.
If we buy oversea car, our money are flowing out the country, and our RM currency value will drop heavily!! Then end up probably like myanmar, the government banned on any import cars to prevent anymore money flowing out the country, OR inccured extremely heavy tax on imported cars to cover the losses. By that time, say bye bye to all the toyotas, hondas, nissans u have been dreaming of.
Wrong. Think Thailand. Think China. You are thinking way way off the mark and too negatively.

We had the opportunity to turn Malaysia into the ASEAN hub for the big players of the automotive industry to set up base. Imagine all these guys having big factories and assembly plants in our country. GM, VW, Ford, BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Honda, etc. all setting up their regional base here. How bout that? Think of all the local supporting industries which will feed off of them. Think of the demand for local workforce it would produce. Jobs and business venture opportunities abound for Malaysians. More than anything one Proton can support. And these guys will have to improve and be competitive, rather than be like the over reliant, crappy suppliers to Proton now. Local workforce will also benefit by learning from the best.

xcheong said:
anyway, according to the branch manager, they need to order the gearbox from JAPAN, read, its JAPAN! then, they have these so called "work completion standards". They are given time frame to settle a problem. If exceed or less than the time frame, they will be questioned for their work quality.

anyway, changing a gearbox in 3 weeks are really long. but if the car comes out OK, then nvm lorr, somemore got 3 months warranty on the repair part.....

RPM_freak:
Oh, about the air con part, 1.5 turn into 1.3, how true is that? i never experience such problem before. If we don't buy our proton cars, u will imagine our country economy ends up some place like indonesia, myanmar, vietnam, who don't make their own cars.

how i wish proton produce cars with higher qualities, not neccessarily perfect but at least in a acceptable level........we all want to buy local made cars bro, but look at proton cars........................

protons air cond from denso am i rite? no?
neway,after my 3 free service which i thot evrythings free for the 1st 3 times....they sed oni workmanship free n still had to pay for oils...that time din know anything ma...
after that dont wanna service in proton edi...rubber gasket also charge rm5 and screenwash cost rm4.50..when this small stuff be better off free.
my VDO took 5mths to replace,when they had it,box written yellow.whats inside was a red VDO...i wanted to laff my ass off in front of the branch manager..and it took another 2 weeks to get a yellow one.no one answers calls so i pay visits on my way to work once evry 2-3weeks on updates.too many probs here to list...forgotten what was it edi eversince i found my own mechs to do the job...and when i bought my car,it came with 2yrs warranty,and additional 2yrs was given...screw it

who got money to but the seat, who is the boss....
a boss without the knowledge are just a piece of shit. so wat if u had the management skill? who care? management are not the main point. it only stand for 30%....u need more to make ur team move...wat if a mechanic ask u wat is crankshaft? do u know that? how a bearing look like? u saw b4?

if anyone know the leader in proton, pls pass this to him..

susah susah.........................wat to do? politics in proton is obvious, i heard the new MD trying to ditch out all those ppl. if its true , hope he succeed, but i fear that he will be given the boot if he try to "unpolitize" proton.

pity him, pity us.........

agree with kyochi..hope the new ceo wouldnt be booted if he try to improve proton..

proton is the biggest example of what will happen if you took everything into politics..