skyline greatest rival?

in kch, there's a crazy guy who modded his silvia which can go up to the boost of 2.5bar.
The car was brought back from Japan as he went studied car modification there....
with only 1.7bar the G is already unbearable...
used for drag...can't do drift...
wakakakaka

munky said:
Oh didnt know that. But if that's the case, isn't it better ? Only 465Nm of torque and yet accelerate quicker than the lambo, and go faster than the lambo
I can't be bothered to check the figures but I suppose the F430 is lighter. The older version of the Gallardo also had less optimised gearing. The new revised gallardo has an additional 20bhp and closer ratios to keep the engine in the sweet spot when your hammering it. I suppose it will be a closer fight.

boon, that silvia is s15 or what? what colour as well?

it's S15, but dunno what color. Heard from my friend. Got 2 friends sat in that car before.
That time during CNY, 2 friend sat in the back including owner's brother, a japanese friend of the owner is the driver. Passenger side the owner.
Stayed somewhere in jln laksamana, they tested the road infront of the big petronas down towards simpang tiga roundabout..
Just a flip seconds theyve reaches the destination. Only managed to engage 3rd gear and they start braking.
Than my friend who drives Evo9 says that Evo9 feels like driving normal cars after that.
Anyway, this infor is for those who knows kuching well.

deacon said:
2 litre engines can boost up to 650bhp just ask around for a white Silvia 15 that lives somewhere in PJ :P

Bro,in turbo cars displacement is not that important. In fact,turbo cars cant be too high CC as it cause unreliability and complications.And also,turbo cars with big displacement need very big engine compartment for cooling and all that stuff,means car will be bigger and heavier. Thats why i feel cars like RX7 and Silvia can outdo skyline and supra in the track (and sometimes even drag) due to its small engine and light body.

But in NA cars,when there isnt a snail to power the engine,its all about displacement .Of course good technology plays a big part as well...but assuming both cars have similar technology,displacement in NA is crucial.

talking about displacement, the japanese still smarter than the american in building NA car....hehe.. displacement is everything for american muscle, jap still go for technology.

Yupe, those american muscle cars all come in 4.0l, 4.5l, 5.0l, 6.0l and etc.
Fuel guzzlers.

(Not trying to be offensive)

You think those highly turbocharged Jap engines not fuel guzzlers meh?
You think if the Japs were to create an NA engine with more than 300bhp it won't be fuel guzzler meh?

Some figures (taken off RSportsCars):
Corvette Z06 (7.0 litre V8, 505 bhp, 637 Nm) : 16 mpg (city) / 26 mpg (highway)
Acura NSX (3.0 litre V6, 290 bhp, 304 Nm) : 17 mpg (city) / 24 mpg (highway)
Nissan 350Z (3.5 litre V6, 300 bhp, 353 Nm) : 19 mpg (city) / 25 mpg (highway)
BMW M5 (5.0 litre V10, 500 bhp, 520 Nm) : 12 mpg (city) / 18 mpg (highway)

things get better if you compare the "normal" Corvette C6;
Corvette C6 (6.0 litre V8, 400 bhp, 546 Nm) : 19 mpg (city) / 28 mpg (highway)

Have a load of that. And remember that the Americans use shitty low octane fuel as compared to the better stuff used elsewhere.

I think when it comes to NA engines once again you can't compare the Japanese to the Americans.

There are two different philosophies at stake here. One is low rev big displacement (Max 6500 rpm for peak American horsepower.) and the other is slightly higher revving with lower displacement.

There are pros and cons to both engine configurations. High revving means more engine stress. Lower revving and bigger displacement makes the American V8 more reliable in the long run.

I wouldn't be so quick to condemn American muscle, they just don't know how to make cars handle good. If you need a fresh breath of where American cars are moving in technology check out the new Chevy Corvette with the LS6 engine or even Hemi V8s made by Dodge, these engines aren't just brutish but provide a lot of torque - something Japanese V8s do not provide due to low displacement.

As well, high revving Japanese engines consume nearly as much fuel with less displacement and the same amount of cylinders in a race - higher rate of combustion.

Whereas low revving American cars spend a constant amount of fuel at high and low rpm bands.

Its kinda like i said both got plus and minus.

By the way, Corvettes and Vipers have won Le mans whereas the NSXs only managed an unfortunate 7th place in GT2. And on the other hand we have BMW M3 racers which couldn't win anything using the inline 6 M3 engine, only when the made the M3 GTR with M5 V8s then they managed to win.

Lots of things to consider ;)

Two ways to think about this one.

It's not right to compare these cars in a race like Le Mans. They are modified, and the teams that manage/tune the cars got to do with their win. If the tuner are crap, it wont make a difference.

Aiyoooo!!! Why la you guys. It was proven loooong ago that Supra is the fastest car in Japan. In fact it was debated when ZTH in version 3 or something. I remember there was a video posted for both card in a banked circuit. I remember GTR start very fast. But later Supra catch up when traction comes in. Both card had their limiters removed. Anyway both card were stock. No mods of any kind. Which is funny because it nly test for fastest car.

Overall track and road, i would say an NSX, then a GTR with Supra by the side.

What Supra are you talking about? Better yet what GTR are you talking about?

And by the way in stock form a NSX does 168mph.

Another thing, i just watched a video (Youtube) of a stock Supra vs a stock Skyline, the Skyline was faster by 10km/h around the banked circuit. I think you are talking about the Veilside Supra vs a modded R33 GTR. That's hardly what i would call a Supra, man. That's like calling the Top Secret Supra a real Supra eventhough it uses a RB26DETT engine.

dude..
was it a yellow supra n a blue gtr??
thay raced in the track which is kinda like "O" ring??
if thats the one, supra can only take charge of that 34gtr after 4th gear(mid)...