OFF THE STREETS

LyzardLaki: Thanks for your help that night, My apologies as I was unable to thank you then. When will your ride be out from the workshop? Hopefully you'll be able to join future events as a participant:)

does anyone know whats wrong to ah fai's car after the fire burn out and then he just drive slowslow and park the car????

Originally posted by .S K A G E E.@Mar 14 2005, 10:55
endless551:Thanks for your comments. As we are new to this, any form of criticism are much appreciated.

As for the scurtineering , I believe I was only able to do it to only a hand full off cars as punctuality was the main problem for some of the drifters.Furthermore, I had taken it for granted that all drifters would read & adhere to the rules and regulations stated on the entry form. However, I will make amendments for the next event

As for the people by the pit entry and exit; We had tried to move them to the hill stand but they had refused. So I guess I would much appreciate it if you were to tell you girlfriend and her bunch of friends to set a good example and follow what the marshall tells them to do :) Anyway jokes aside , I had spoken to the management about this matter that night will assure you that this will not happen again on the next event.

Thanks..please keep the comments coming !!!

MrNismo: Point taken.. I will drop the 'Pro' tag and use 'Expert' instead. I think the ranking should stay as I see it as an insentive for drifters to improve thus thrive to be promoted to a higher rank. As for you , a new ranking " Balls Breaker Drift God"(BBDG) might be inorder if you were to improve anymore!!!
No worries skagee, was a great event and most importantly, I had fun!

No need to scrutineer la... not till u make it big as an FIA sanctioned event. hehehe.. but u can never b too safe.. prob do the minimal purely for the safety of the participants and audiences instead of insurance purposes.. since most of us havent got an AAM license. anything happen will b btwn u and ur insurance comp..

My girlfriend got a good sounding from me for standing there! But she complaint that the MUD hill is too MUDDY and her Birkenstock sandals are destroyed...
U have good hardworkin marshalls but they r too friendly.. need to buff them up with batons and keep the crowd back.. :rolleyes:

Too much rules also kills the joy.. hahahaah.. need to strike a balance as long as every1 is safe!

The comments by Endless are good, although from what I saw its difficult to blame the organisers only. Malaysians being malaysian are pretty darn stubborn and I did see the marshalls and Mrs Skagee et al trying very hard to control the crowd but once the numbers increased it became chaotic. As I also organise events I know how difficult it can be. Skagee if you would accept my comments: I notice the biggest problem is the fact that the pits area can't be cordoned off effectively. If Kartquest can do something about this then it would surely help. 2ndly, perhaps we could create signage to inform everyone that the spectating area is on the hill and they cannot stand anywhere else. Lastly, more people to help out are required, especially big bouncer types hehehe!!!

Still the event is great and a very good initiative by the organisers: getting the drifters off the street. The next step is getting the MENTALITY of the drifters off the street too: no burnouts in the carpark etc. Safety is a big concern here, I'm quite disappointed that some of the drifters can be so show-offy that they forget the danger of the situation.

About myself that night: I was crap. I changed to new rear tyres that morning and assumed that I still had some grip in the fronts (tyres only 4 months old leh!) but this was not to be, was battling bad turn-in understeer and couldn't get the back out on turn-in; balance of the car was off. Also, the driver (me larr!!) still needs to develop skill especially on the sway drifting, TatWei was fabulous he didnt drive straight at all!! Followed him closely for 2 laps with the wipers on, pretty darn good with great control, just that he needs to increase corner speed if he is to beat Djan and AhFai!

This is probably the last event you'll see my 86, after that its hopefully off to a new home and I'll needs a few weeks/months to set up my new project drifter.. I'm sad because while everyone else will practise and increase their skills, I'll lay stagnant and will need to play catchup!!!

So... see you all at Danga Bay on the 3rd!!!!

/adian

no problem skagee...

me doing small favour only...but next time i shall control car lar...
dunwan control crowd...not big enuff...if i get big as topui can la control crowd...
kekekekee....

my car dunno la...maybe 1 months ++..maybe more...
sad...sad.. borow ur c33 lar...hehe

its really fun to be able to drift in the event. Need to thanks skagee and wife and also zth for bringing the event to us. :D Its really fun and nice to have such a nice track to drift

Adian: thanks for your suggestions, especially about the signages, I will have them up by the next event.

As for your drifting, I thought you handled you car just perfectly that night. However don't dismiss this being the only time we'll see you and your AE86 in action as the next event will be on sooner than you think :)

whit3puppy: i think Datuk Uras wouldn't mind take you for a ride on our next session.....right datuk?

then that would be the 2nd time i'll be giving her a ride ... hehehehehehehe .... anywayz,looks like its time to play catching up haven't been in action for the past 6 months,sigh!! ... hopefully will be able to join the next event ...hmmm,if u do it twice a month counting from last week sigh that means it will clash with my fri shifts meaning i'll be in the afternoon shift .. haih!!problemler..

I saw the marshall throw the truck tire on the track....he should'nt do that !!..nearly hit the happy tailgating TORENO !!

Originally posted by uras@Mar 14 2005, 12:58
...hmmm,if u do it twice a month counting from last week sigh that means it will clash with my fri shifts meaning i'll be in the afternoon shift .. haih!!problemler..
Datuk, why don't you call in sick..I'll pretend to be your dad...

ninja don't whack kau me arr .. hehehehehehehehehe .. skagee how to call in sick ... later kena laid off lagi problem .. that time can forget about everything related liao .. hehehehehehehehe ... the main problem is on fridays ... the morning shift people come to work at 630am and go back 1230pm 6 hours work cos of friday prayers but then night shift still work 8 hours so no one is gonna change shifts with me on fri's... not worth it mah ... btw,skagee pretend to be my dad .. lets see that means u started doing it at age of 6 .... WOW!!LOLOLOLOLOLOL...

Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 14 2005, 11:19
does anyone know whats wrong to ah fai's car after the fire burn out and then he just drive slowslow and park the car????
hah actually wat i know is he just change the ecu tat borrow from his friend !!!
haha too bad for the engine ............i think he not yet notice tat ......1 day the engine will blow !!!!
wau so grand when the fire is coming out but i suspect tat the ecu is match to
the engine!!!!
did anyone ah fai's friend ???? give him some advice n suggestion loh !!!
very sayang if the engine blow!!!

:P hope didn't hurt anyone no heartfeeling

uras

hehehe all's good, if you keep your attention to the road/track,
heheheehhheehehehe

although, i must say she's quite distracting at times :lol:

Originally posted by uras@Mar 14 2005, 12:58
whit3puppy: i think Datuk Uras wouldn't mind take you for a ride on our next session.....right datuk?

then that would be the 2nd time i'll be giving her a ride ... hehehehehehehe .... anywayz,looks like its time to play catching up haven't been in action for the past 6 months,sigh!! ... hopefully will be able to join the next event ...hmmm,if u do it twice a month counting from last week sigh that means it will clash with my fri shifts meaning i'll be in the afternoon shift .. haih!!problemler..
Wow....dattuk getting itchy already....... :lol: :D i join u in ur ride can ah???? :D better not lah since it is already RESERVED.....too bad Stan my bro...... :D :lol: :D jus jokin.......so looks like u r goin for long awaited project D car ah???Project Datuk

Originally posted by kei-office+Mar 14 2005, 22:39 -->
QUOTE (kei-office @ Mar 14 2005, 22:39 )
--QuoteBegin-AE-86
@Mar 14 2005, 11:19

hah actually wat i know is he just change the ecu tat borrow from his friend !!!
haha too bad for the engine ............i think he not yet notice tat ......1 day the engine will blow !!!!
wau so grand when the fire is coming out but i suspect tat the ecu is match to
the engine!!!!
did anyone ah fai's friend ???? give him some advice n suggestion loh !!!
very sayang if the engine blow!!!

:P hope didn't hurt anyone no heartfeeling [/b][/quote]
Tat nite, me and my frens had a chat with one of the drift sifu.

My fren entered drift event for first time and he realized he needed help from a sifu.

That drift sifu said "if you want to be good in drifting, you must not think about the car at all."

"All you must think is how to improve your drift and push harder even if it means you will miss, slide or possibly crash the car". :blink:

That sifu added, "If you are thinkng and worry about damaging the car and engine or you are afraid the tyre will botak fast, you will never improve"

"Also, must practise, practise, practise, we all practise at least 4 to 5 times a week"

just to give you an idea, i have smashed up 2 cars to date. and my current car has had 2 mishaps already.