Hilux ICE

Elmo_X

hello anyone knows what brand and sound system recommended to hilux double cab ???
i dont require a woofer , just need 6 good speakers to make good sounds and wont over budget

please advise thanks :burnout:

changing speakers only without changing headunit nor adding amplifiers?

im newbie at ICE so please guide me , i scares kena cut throat like water fish so ask u guys for advise haha
erm dont really understand ICE system yet , so if i change the speakers i need the headunits and the amplifiers???

hello anyone knows what brand and sound system recommended to hilux double cab ???
i dont require a woofer , just need 6 good speakers to make good sounds and wont over budget

please advise thanks :burnout:

What's your budget bro? I have a Hilux as well and the sound system is terrible. Changing the speakers won't help much because the stock head unit is inadequate as it is. If I were you, I'd change the head unit to a better one perhaps you'd like Ipod integration since stock Hilux only has auxiliary input. Then Get a second hand amplifier to power the speakers. Just swap the stock speakers for coaxials in front and some mid-range priced ones in the rear.

Again, no idea what you expect when you don't specify what is considered good sound and not going over budget.

ya, budget is very important. hilux also needs to add some damping mats to make it quieter. especially the roof. and front doors which hold the midwoofer, so that bass loss will be minimal, since we can't have big subs.

this is my hilux setup back then. http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2971399/2007-toyota-hilux

i'm now trying to rebuilt volvo 5" active sub enclosure and fit into hilux. original box is quite small already, but takes up some leg room of the passenger side, long distance would be not comfort for the passenger.

---------- Post added at 09:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:57 PM ----------

check out the ICE sales corner... some used items are good enough actually.

hmm 2k+ can get a decent set??? im not sure about the money range
but as long as not like those lala so noisy type la , good quality sounds like upgrade a normal iphone ear phones to a steelseries headset , but dont have budget to go until razer headsets so power la , mid range quality will be good :burnout:

how much ur whole set is bro artnet???

bro Pimpin : ur headset you referring to is the radio set is it???
coaxials in front and mid range price at the rear + amplifier + head unit how much ??? haha
i think easily go pass 3 to 4k??

my setup no longer as what i posted there. it's not updated. i swap to lower end stuffs now. mainly from chop shop items.

try to get a set of used component for front. and a aftermarket player first. don't get coaxial speakers la... our stock already having separates drivers for front. something like alpine type x, dynaudio 240, alpine DDDrive? morel maximo(dunno the price range), phd FB? many out there. there's one guy in the ICE for sale who sells used item from japan. can get the amps and front component from him. 6.5" mid and silk dome tweet.

the HU, probably can try brand new Kenwood 466Ub or above/similar. get those with 2 pair of preouts. should be around 4xx only. used amp from japan/used market are as low as 250 and above... if DIY installation like what i did, u probably just need 1-1.5k max.

can't exactly tell you what to get. coz duno your budget. and conditions of the items in sales section.

hmmm any brands should i stay away from ??/just in case of replica or low quality ???

my cousin recommend me brands like :
soundstream
rockford
american sound
mohawk
jbl

are they expensive ???

why say so??? quality not good??? or cut throat prices???

any recommended or trusted place that sell ICE system and installation???

what about kenwood , sony xplod ??

btw i hear some guys say when u play with ICE , the car battery would only last 2 years ???

my oem battery last 3 year. it died bcoz i seldom drives it during that period.
the amp and player doesn't used up much power if u're not into blasting subwoofers type
of system.

Elmo-X,

With your budget you can get a headunit, decent speakers, amps and maybe get an active sub which you can mount under the front passenger seat? To be honest, my Hilux is totally stock but I use an Epsilon active sub under my RX300 front passenger seat and the amplifier under drivers seat - no reason why it can't be done in a Hilux.

As for batteries, the car that I have with the most ICE gear is my BNR34 which is known to drain the battery even with stock audio setup mainly because they require a lot of power when starting the car, proper term is CCA but in layman's terms you need a lot of power just to start the car in normal circumstances and frequently too. Add to that an audio system and yes battery life is affected. I guess those really serious about ICE would be using more expensive batteries or those maintenance once but I can't spare the room as I have no boot at all.

Anyway, totally off-topic that was but yes in short if you're going to hook-up a lot of ICE gear then you'd probably be investing in Optima or Odyssey batteries. Mine isn't quite up to that level just yet even in my BNR34. The Hilux I was just about to change the headunit when I came across your thread so would be interested to see what you end up doing.

hmm so far i went to a shop enquire this set

epsilon 2 front speakers , 2 tweeters , 1 JVC double din HU and 1 unit 8" woofer

reliable and good quality for this brand???

hmm so far i went to a shop enquire this set

epsilon 2 front speakers , 2 tweeters , 1 JVC double din HU and 1 unit 8" woofer

reliable and good quality for this brand???

Any more details? For example, what brand tweeters and woofer? Which model JVC (which I don't use and have never used). Does it include installation? What about amplifiers?

epsilon is still in cap ayam category, but if youre budget is low, then no choice la... id recommend u save up some more money and buy something worth buying... no need to rush

Hi

For ice more important is front position component speaker and soundproof and amplifier is my suggestion.

My recommend for front speaker is morel maximo 6 or dotech ovation 6 component speaker,i can comfirm u wil not regret,can give u best price, more information don mind pls email me thks
[email protected]

for pickup truck with limited space, you may try out those small amp that having quite some good sound....the most important part is the price are cheap!! compare to monster amp....

a simple setup below 3k can let u have a really decent sound provided you done the right things......

if you don't need any staging or imaging requirement like sq, then its pretty standard
just get a proper hu with 2/3preout, pioneer 6350 is good and cheap
a proper 6.5" 2way component,find sth easy to push with hu output only like domination dlite?
a proper sound deadening for your door...
That should be enough for many people
if you require more bass then try get a 8" active sub, easy to squeeze in limited space