Fishy Talk

thanks sifu,
ehmmm..... after reading the report, i will go for tomman BC, hahahahahaha. the main reason are money lah. shimano or quality BC not the time yet. wait untill i turn to be pro in BC, abu kah, calcuta kah no prob......... anywhere thank for the info. i still a newbee in BC.

Sail fish can eat 1 kah?how is the taste?agree with u sifu B, will happy with full box of sotong and selar. if have "stone spot" will more add advantage kekekekekeke....

SEG ka ?? whats the budget ?? wanna drive stock stock or wanna mod mod one ??
coz just about all SEGs are 10years and above liauu one .. so take loan oso interest quite high .. but still get a good amount of loan for this car laa .. price starts from around rm20k ..

some pics i received in mail thats not the earlier page ..

layar2.jpg

layar12.jpg

sifu tate, can tell what set up you and DD used for the sailfish?

eg rod brand, rod poundage, reel, line

sifoo CHUN .. today is laguna day maa .. hehehehe .. sifoo chai never tell u one mehh ?? i tot u guys yumcha all the time one ?? :p

sifoo baby .. main line 50lb .. custom ordered rod .. BANAX something multiplier reel .. thats what i read from the earlier page by sifoo tetek laa .. u didnt read mehh ?? hehehehe ..

cannot blame him oso la .. he very bz one maa .. hehehe .. just read the latest updates .. :p .. plus ZTH super slow nowadays .. wanna load 1 page oso like wanna die liauuu ... hahahahahaaa

Bro Geon,
Yes, by all mean go for the Tomman X reel. Get it loaded with 10~15 pound of braided or 10lb of mono. If you have intention to use the BC is only to cast heavier lures, then match it to 1/4~3/4ounce rod. If to cast lighter lures, get a 4~10/12grams rod but i doubt the ability of TommanX to cast lighter lures. Evan calcutta cant even do it, except after modding it :)

Now to set the right magnetic setting.
Tie to a 8grams lure(practically anything above 6cm is 7~8grams), then set your magnetic brake is set to 10, and your tension knob(the stupid nut that Bro Chun lost it) to ensure the spool doesnt move sideways. I'll explain more on that later stage. The tip here is, as you cast, notice your lure....as it's about to touch the water, use your thumb to stop the spool fully. Otherwise, due to the sudden change of speed at your spool, the spool will overrun and cause you CBH.

Then make a swing of, back to front with a minimal strength swing. You should be reaching 10m~15m. Do that for 5 times....

Then adjust your magnetic brakes to 8, and do the same strength swings again x 5. You should be getting 20m averagely....

Keep adjust the magnetic drag to lower the brakes(DO NOT PUT 2 or 0), until you get some CBH. NOW, the trick here is, tighten abit of your tension knob. Cast again for 5 times.....it's either getting lesser CBH or no CBH at all....if no CBH meaning that you have set the right setting for yourself. Otherwise, loosen the tension knob a little and adjust your magnetic brake +1 degree. Keep testing it again.

REMEMBER NOT TO CAST TOO HARD YET! Increase your casting strength bit by bit...educate your thumb to stop the spool at the right point :)

TENSION KNOB 101.

The tension knob is being used to tightened the movement of the spool by limiting the movement of the spool shaft.

See graphic below.( |-| is spool, >>> is the spool shaft and |o is the tension knob)

||............||
||))))))))))||
>>>>>>>>>>>> |o
||............||

Usually this is the stock or as new setting. In such if you noticed that the spool shaft is not touching/connected to the tension knob at all. In such way, it's either using magnetic brake or centrifugal brake to slow down the inertia of the spool gradually. But sometimes caused a minimal CBH. The spool will be able to move left and right bits.

||............||
||))))))))))||
>>>>>>>>>>>>|o
||............||

Now, adjust the tension knob slowly to ensure that the tension knob touches the shaft a little bit.(HOW THE HECK I AM ABLE TO SEE THE CONECTIVITY OF THE SHAFT AND THE TENSION KNOB?????). This is how you check.
1: Tightened the knob bit and bits...
2: Then use your thumb to try to move spool to the left and right. If it moves, repeat step 1, until there are bit of movement.

BTW, Bro Geon,
Sailfish is edible...but due to the high content of mercury in the body...it does not become a delicacy now. :)

Bro Q, that one tatau wor...apparently a dude just asking to get more knowledge lor... :)

Bro BBpups,
It's stated clearly in my full report, the rod and the action of the rod, the reel, the line even the rigging method.

Bro Q, correction.............It's a Okuma Zonar, not Banax ABC :)

Ohh yeah....ini addition to the Sailfish report/story....just to share how strong the sailfish is.... :)

As i reached the chalet after the sailfish trip, i was cleaning up the reel before i took a short nap.

Took the Okuma Zonar, which i tightened it to the max, and by using a long nose plier, i tried to test the strength of the drag....pulled with a harder strength(not jerking it), then only the spool moves a little. I was surprised! The drag was very strong indeed. I hooked up a portable weight spring, trying to estimate the strength of the drag, it is rated at 8kg which is 16lb of drag!!!

I took the rod, and matched it with the Okuma reel. Asked Vinny to lift up the rod and i tried to strip the line with my strength...i tried and i really have to put in more strength before the line start to slip......With rod, the strength of the reel+rod is not measureable as the rod will become weaker as times goes by.

Now remember that i mentioned that the sailfish was jumping and stripping the line extremely???

That shows the strength of the sailfish~.....

I'm bedazzled........

only see custom rod mentioned mar. dono the poundage and stuff.
I now presume u and DD use one set up?

must be me cibai jet lag from not sleeping during nite and sleeping during day time hehehheheh. okies time to sleep

Bro B,
planning for pangkor? ada jalan kar?? any newbies? cos everytime we go also got newbies :)

tie to the back of my car laa .. .i will show u what is POWER !!! hahaahahahahaaa
asking for knowledge just ask him log into ZTH laa .. not susah .. but alot of tok kok and for sale and not much knowledge stuff laa .. but still can use the SEARCH function maa .. hehehehe

BBpups, for the sail fish, YES we are using the same setup :)

We brought 4 setups there...

custom rod + okuma zonar 50lb trolling and drift
uglystick + silstar 30lb for bottom
Jigging Stik + stradic 6000 30lb/50lb spare....if jigging using 30lb and 50lb for trolling/drift
exceed + Tica 10,000 popping reel
Okuma Halogen 250 for ultra light jigging (15lb)

bang bang now under military control ka ?? so next round go there no more bringing rod and reel liauu .. must be bringing guns and bullets liauu ... oso known as ARSENAL maa .. hahahahaahahahaaa ...

count me out for pangkor .... need the rest and sleep at home laaaaa ..

ask your fren who is interested in SEG to log in laa .. go have a look look in the toyota forum .. got some good advice and info there ... but have to search for it laa .. hehehehe