ABS is for stupid people?

sam1741 said:
speaking about ABS

many ppl said best way to 'immitate' ABS (on non-ABS-equipped car)
is to tap on the brake many time..
but do u think will work?
abs catch n let go the brake very very fast (many times in one second)
can our feet do that??

so personally i think best way is to feel te brake
and press it just before it lock up...
(Please correct me if i wrong)

but rookie like me never can get it right
an din panic situation i do jammed the brake....

ur way is right but its not press it before it lock up.. instead lift ur foot before it lock.. there is this feeling going to ur feet thats its gonna lock.. but then its really tough.. need full concentration. not many could do it (even good racing drivers).. thats why abs comes in hand..

Guys, let's not forget why ABS was designed in the first place.

ABS is not just meant for braking to a standstill without locking up. It's more towards giving you the ability to still have steering control under braking. The first part comes naturally. The second part is where most ppl failed to capitalise because it's not natural.

kinki_kidz® said:
i see :)
but race cars has big ass rotors that doesnt lock up that easily :D

but is ABS really for stupid ppl? :D

Ignorance people like to make stupid statement disregard of the pro and cons and never check the facts!!!

tell him not to criticize people before he look at himself,can he invent anything ah, engineer come out with abs to save life during emergency, its a good thing n definitely not for stupid people, who know one day might save his dad life :mad:

i sure glad tat this world got ABS. i tried emergency braking wif non-ABS b4 so many times n so many times oso i won't have time to think of releasing the brake..in emergency situation like this, u just won't dare to release the pedal.

tat guy/girl so damn happy driving his kancil just let him/her be. no need to argue. there is a saying yan chun mo yok yi. i think wif his/her "comments", there will be many ppl willl regret buying mercedes or bmw n downgrade to kancil,hopefully......remember the children story where a conman tailor said he make a great clothes for the king n anyone who couldn't see it is stupid?till the end a child say the king is naked, then everyone n the king start to realize they have been cheated...hahhaha..

imitating that ABS by tapping the brake is useless . u cant make it brake for 10times per second also . that is freaky fast , impossible . most of the time u can't deal with the situation so u cnat make it , even that u can make it , it is worst than fully apply the brake . becasue it is not fast enough .

evoX2 said:
my car is with ABS with EBD but seems the braking distance is longer than my other car, sometimes feel like slipping...is it tyre problem?? heard sime tyre is crap..... :biggrin:

You have brought up something very important there.

No matter how many electrical wizardry you have in your car e.g. ABS EBD DSC TCS ETC...

...at the end of the day your car is still touching the ground with those 4 pieces of rubber. Invest in them well.

Ohh yaaa...talking about ABS..does this apply to all the wheels? What is your opinion on Waja EV 1.6 with ABS..can it be trusted?

fstrader said:
aiyor those chat room all talk cock wan ma...u also join in da fun kah? mauahahahahhahaa:biggrin:

if a kancil can be as steady as a merc, then i think millionaires will drive kancils all over malaysia...ahahhahahahahaa

aiyar i too free mar that time
so i took a popcorn and watch show only lor :D

tohsan: cuz the fella claims that he/she can drive on a track, thus making that sort of 'brilliant' comment :D

i really wan to see under emergency braking situation, how many of u can calmly react or just slam on the brake. come on... u dun come n tell me u can do manual ABS. i've got few experinced even a pro racer just slam brake under emergency braking situation. without ABS, do u think u can direct your car?

brake hard and emergency brake is diff though. some may think that "i did it be4" again ask yourself, does that means in front of u do have some 1-2 car length for u to stop and is the front car jam brake or brake hard?

i remmeber watching discovery channel, they do have this thing in study. eventually u only got 3 secs to react to the situation. normally 1sec gone by a sudden stun frm what the front car did thn the remaining 2 sec is way too late.

GT3 said:
ur way is right but its not press it before it lock up.. instead lift ur foot before it lock.. there is this feeling going to ur feet thats its gonna lock.. but then its really tough.. need full concentration. not many could do it (even good racing drivers).. thats why abs comes in hand..

The problem is, most of the drivers aren't fully concentrating when they're driving. Thats why in the first place emergency braking happens.

I've been into few emergency braking situation. Let me tell you i was so close to smacking the car in front and there is no way i could press and depress the brake pedal fast enuff to produce a 'manual ABS'. Its crazy for anyone to be calm enuff to be still thinking of manual ABS. All in my mind was to slow down the car and my foot was planted to the floor.

keigo4552 said:
clever guys of cause using ABS on road....and stupid guys using ABS on track....u noe wat i means?

i think if a person is allowed using abs on track and do not wanna use it, he/she's not very clever :thumpdown:turtle:

If ABS=Aku Brek Sendiri, then we'll all be glad to know that even with that system, there are people who don't even brake and crash straight into whatever they crash into! hahahaha

Haiyaaaa... ppl who probably say ABS is for tupid people play too many Need For Speed or Colin McRae Rally game... ABS should work very nice on controlling braking during negotiating wet tarmac or emergency manouvre. If someone is at PAR with Karamjit, Makkinen, McRae, or Johansenn then they can say that lorrr.. but if those ppl drive like MaChee Bye onli... hope they'll experience brake locking when going down genting or sum sloppy hillroad...

(ppl who think they are smart always end up being the stupid ones)

Just found my self dumb cause i wanted to buy a car original fitted with ABS .......

Sad sad ...

abs save life.

kinki_kidz® said:
I was in this chat room yesterday. Some arguing starts when someone(lets call him/her A) mentioned that a modded kancil can be as steady as a merc.(i guess A drives a souped up kancil that has extensive modifications that could match a track car)
B and C said that no matter how, a kancil cant be modified till it can be as steady as a merc, the chassis balance, suspensions, handling set up, those ABS stuffs bla bla

then A said that, ABS is for stupid people, racers dont need that

i wanna ask the sifus here.. how true is that :D :D :D
(im stupid cuz i drove nissan with ABS b4 :D)
for me abs is good,its saves my life before.its not for stupid person!i think that person its stupid.

For normal road use ABS is a neccessity. The guy who thinks ABS is for stupid people must be an idiot because why would fighter jets and commercial planes have ABS on their landing gear.

it doesn't matter if it for stupid ppl or whatever. what i noe is, ABS aids braking hence reduce risk of collision that in the end saves life n money. :dancing2:

my car has no ABS. Sumtime i take my free time to test my car braking capability / limit. try to feel when the wheel will lock. how much presure to step on brake for the most effective braking. atleast if i can manage to compute in my subconcious mind. then at least i can try braking to the max without locking the wheel.

once i read sumwhere, if possible, DO NOT JAMMED THE BRAKE, u need to SQUEEZE IT. :tee:

-just a piece of my mind-