I AM GLAD to hear that the majority of Malaysians see Mat Rempit for what they truly are – a nuisance to public safety.
Even as we contend with this menace, let's not forget a different breed of nuisance that is collectively more dangerous on our roads today.
Mat Stupid is the one who chooses to speed on his motorcycle on the highway, blatantly ignoring the motorcycle lane provided for him.
He weaves left and right, between cars and heaven help anyone who dares honk at him. To do this would result in him showing his prowess at terrorising you either by even more reckless riding, suddenly stopping in front of you or coming close to threaten you or hit your car.
Mat Stupid is the motorcyclist (and motorist) who blatantly ignores the red light, endangering the lives of other law-abiding motorists.
He is the child motorcyclist who rides his parent's motorcycle without permission, endangering other children and pedestrians because of their inability to control their machines.
With up to three other siblings riding pillion and none of them wearing helmets, they court death every time they are on the road.
Probably the worst Mat Stupid is the parent who knowingly allows his children to take his motorcycle out for a spin, fully aware that they are underaged and do not have a licence.
By doing so, he is breeding contempt for the law and teaching his children that it is all right to follow suit.
The key to stopping all this is enforcement, not reducing fines or giving discounts. It is about protecting lives, not about trying to lessen the burden of law breakers by being lenient.
It is about consistently cracking down on these menaces, not only when there is a new Inspector-General of Police.
ANDREW SHIM
Klang.
Even as we contend with this menace, let's not forget a different breed of nuisance that is collectively more dangerous on our roads today.
Mat Stupid is the one who chooses to speed on his motorcycle on the highway, blatantly ignoring the motorcycle lane provided for him.
He weaves left and right, between cars and heaven help anyone who dares honk at him. To do this would result in him showing his prowess at terrorising you either by even more reckless riding, suddenly stopping in front of you or coming close to threaten you or hit your car.
Mat Stupid is the motorcyclist (and motorist) who blatantly ignores the red light, endangering the lives of other law-abiding motorists.
He is the child motorcyclist who rides his parent's motorcycle without permission, endangering other children and pedestrians because of their inability to control their machines.
With up to three other siblings riding pillion and none of them wearing helmets, they court death every time they are on the road.
Probably the worst Mat Stupid is the parent who knowingly allows his children to take his motorcycle out for a spin, fully aware that they are underaged and do not have a licence.
By doing so, he is breeding contempt for the law and teaching his children that it is all right to follow suit.
The key to stopping all this is enforcement, not reducing fines or giving discounts. It is about protecting lives, not about trying to lessen the burden of law breakers by being lenient.
It is about consistently cracking down on these menaces, not only when there is a new Inspector-General of Police.
ANDREW SHIM
Klang.