Most road accident victims...

satria_95

Taken from THE STAR ONLINE

Monday February 7, 2005
Most road accident victims are bikers

PETALING JAYA: About 60% of those killed in road accidents during the first five days of the balik kampung rush were motorcyclists and the authorities are worried that this trend will continue to rise.

Federal traffic chief Senior Asst Comm II Datuk Gingkoi Seman Pancras pointed out that on Saturday alone, 11 out of 17 killed in road accidents were those riding motorcycles.

He feels that the riders are not paying attention to the authorities' safety campaign targeted at them.

“Motorcyclists must realise that they are vulnerable to accidents if they are not careful on the roads,” he said, adding that out of the 50 people killed during the five-day period, 30 were motorcyclists.

“The next time you are on a motorcycle, please remember to fasten your helmet and also don't weave in and out of traffic.

“Although the overall number of deaths so far has shown a reduction compared with the same period under Ops Sikap VII previously, I want to remind motorists to remain alert and get enough sleep before they start their journey,” he said.

So far there were 3,281 accidents nationwide and SAC Gingkoi said most of them occurred between 4pm and midnight.

He added that during the same period, police had issued 42,346 summonses and notices to motorists for various traffic offences.

SAC Gingkoi said at any one time there would be about 2,500 to 3,000 personnel deployed throughout the country.

“We also have deployed 78 General Operations Force personnel to man the highways and additional staff to monitor the trunk and state roads.”

He said police expected traffic on the major highways to be heavy over the next few days.

Meanwhile, Federal Territories Minister Tan Sri Mohamed Isa Abdul Samad told Bernama that only 15% of children riding pillion on motorcycles in Kuala Lumpur wore crash helmets.

“That is the scary finding of a study by the Road Safety Research Centre of Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM).''

Isa said only 85% of motorcyclists and 75% of pillion riders in the city wore helmets while on the roads.

“The study also showed that in housing areas, only 60% of motorcyclists and less than 40% of pillion riders wear helmets,” he said when launching a crash helmet wearing campaign at Sri Perak public housing estate in the city yesterday.

i'm glad they realized that motorcyclist is the primary source of motor accidents.

My guess is that they knew it during the dinosaur ages. They just didn't bother to highlight it out to the public. Personally, I feel that those mat rempits have gone over board by beating people up, threatening people when they're horned at, etc etc etc. the list goes on. People just horn them to say "excuse me" and they act like gangsters.
Also, have anyone of you ever notice that in a car accident, the car is usually stock standard cars rather than those modified ones? Of course, there's a few cases of modified cars involved in accidents but compared to stock cars, those stock cars are those that crashes the most. Well, at least that's what I notice.

well, I just hate it when motorcyclist ride in the middle of the lane.

no difference from a slow car blocking the traffic flow

it is a fact that most car accidents are due to lack of concentration while driving in another word careless.....

i do agree when it is said, most car accident are mostly stock cars and not all of them are modified cars...

it proves no right that gov and people should blame on every accident happen because people drive fast la...modified car la...this and that

everyone should do their part as road users..having million of campaige doesn;t help if the road user dont; help them self..

so why bother waste money of events that will make no profit.....

ermm.... :unsure:

jes yesterday, .. rite infront of my house there's a T-junction.. i was coming in from 1 direction.. suddenly 1 motorcyclist came out and swerved rite infront of my car... i slowed down and honked - the slight tap on the horn button type... he stare cock at me as if i killed his parents and burnt down his house... wtf?!?!

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Feb 8 2005, 00:03
jes yesterday, .. rite infront of my house there's a T-junction.. i was coming in from 1 direction.. suddenly 1 motorcyclist came out and swerved rite infront of my car... i slowed down and honked - the slight tap on the horn button type... he stare cock at me as if i killed his parents and burnt down his house... wtf?!?!
hahaha... after he stare at you, you should have then press the horn longer, open the window and shout " woi... stare for what?? if you keep your eyes of the f**king road and I woudn't need to press the horn la!". Just keep the steering lock handy, just in case..
Jokes aside, i think it happens everywhere and everytime. Worst types are those that have 3 teenagers on the bike, riding in a housing estate, without any helmets, zooming at every junction without a care in the world... just have to be extra careful... ;)