Fishy Talk

the pics damn poisoning lah weiiiii.........rugi didn't follow. Uwaaaaaaaaa.....

what pics damm poisoning ??? got pics to see liau mehh ??? hahahhaahahaa ...

i didnt bring my camera that day mah....so wait for the fellas to email to me.... :)

apparently Ady, knows the guy who i went with.. :)

best part is we bump into LongKang Gang...hahahah...met up with Lapala, Wildboar(ZTH guy too), Sild, Lannun, FishNut75 and another gentleman(i dont recall his nick)...ohh yeah..akashah 6lb as well :)

yeahhh....apparently, that guy offered me a place on that trip but I couldn't confirm so I offered to Sifu Tetek lor.......

kasi resize maa ... 600 x 400 pixels just big enuff to see and not too big to load .. kasi post laa sifoo ADY .. hehehehe

sifu.........,
Ask some opinion here, i saw a tomman low profile bait caster reel model: Team tomman X100. this reel can use want kah or just a decoration use reel? i saw the reel, quality wise ok lah, just donno how the performance. price is around 50++, for begineer like me no prob lah... opinion pls.....

Sifu chun,
last time u bough a tomman low profile reel, except the NUT hilang u try to use b4 kah?how was the performance?got keep on goreng bihun kah?

sifoo GEON .. these kinda things cannot jimat one ... especially BC stuff .. if spinning only feeling tak syok .. if BC i takuts nanti goreng until tak syok laa .. hehehehe ..
got ppl in MFN selling calcutta 50 maa .. price ok what .. u try ask and see laa .. hehehe

yea sifu geon.. i agree with sifu q, if wan play bc... buy more quality wan... the one i used last time b4 Nut hilang wasn't a good experience... kakakaka

save the money n get a better wan lor... if not just stick to spinning... kakakakaka

waa .. sifoo CHUN .. so early go work liau ka ?? hehehehe ... punch cards already or not ?? dont forget to punch card .. nanti kira lamabat sampai then u know .. hahahahahaaaa

where are the successful sailfish pictures laa ???????

morning sifusssss....

Sifu tetek say want to post report and pics.....mana?????

sifoo ADY oso can post one maa .. pics la at least .. hehehehe .. report leave for sifoo tetek to kowtim .. hehehehee

aiya... now where still got punch card wan... login to system then know already lor...

Geon,
Yes the Tomman X is worth a buy for begineers. The differences between a good BC and a normal BC is the ability to cast light lures with lesser strength

example:
Same rod, same line poundage, same weight, different BC unit

Brand A: Cast the 1/4ounce weight at 50% strength and reaching 30 meter
Brand B: Cast the 1/4ounce weight at 20% strength and reaching 30 meter

By such example, both of the brand is reaching 30 meter but one is achieved by using lesser strength.

If you are looking for below rm100 BC just for testing purposes, get the Tomman but bear in mind
1: BC is not as easy as 1,2,3.........but to some anglers they are picking it up fast :) Like Chun and Bro Q...more practise will do
2: Tomman BC might be better with heavier lures...which is 1/4(8grams) and above
3: To test the ability to cast light lures, just unlock the clutch, and try to spin the spool with your bare finger. Put a nominal strength, see how long it spins..then put a harder strength and see how long it spins. The inertia to start the spool spinning is different thus you can know which reel is good for light lures. If it spins longer(anything above 5~10secs) then the reel is having a good ability to cast light lures

Examples:
Tomman - 3secs
Banax Tova - 5 secs
Banax Armis - 20 secs
Shimano Calcutta - Stock 3 seconds/ After mod 30 secs!!
Okuma Halogen - Stock 3 seconds/ After mod 1min 30 secs!!!
Shimano Chronarch - Stock 5 seconds/ After mod 20 sec
Daiwa Z - Stock about 20 secs/ after mod 40 secs

If you are looking for a BC within RM200, then you get a wider range and of course the quality is even better
1: Banax Armis, 6 bearing, wiffle spool, super free spinning spool(able to reach about 20 secs spinning non stop), for UL usage is better
2: Banax Tova, 6 bearing, thin spool, this reel is better for hardcore sessions like estuary or hunting toman

Maybe you can invite bro Chun for a preview, he's good in BC, and if you are around KLCC then you can page me too :)

sorry for the late reply, terus bungkus as i reached home yesternight :)

Then PK called me saying that he saw me at the highway...hahahah...i also did notice a swift wit a GRA sticker and i was thinking to myself, this must be a zth dude :)

report coming soon

Sifu Tetek....what about the Shimano Crestfire (correct ah?) around RM200 .....is it good?

FR for Sailfish trip @ Merchong(17th Sept 2006)

Participants: Myself, DD, TomX, Pin and Zamri

Departed from Kl at 6pm on 16th, due to the jam and the heavy down pour, we reached Senawang exit at about 7pm. From Senawang, we travelled to Kuala Pilah using the trunk roads, which took us about 30 minutes. From Kuala Pilah, we travelled about 1.5 hours to Muazam Shah and from Muazam Shah to Merchong is about 30minutes.

Reached Merchong at 1am in the morning, the road is in great condition, straight and just cruising about 100kmh.

Woke up at 6.30am, grab a quick bite at the malay stall and off we go for the battle. :)

From the chalet to reach to the first destination was about 1/2 hour to do apollo jig for selar. The selar there was kinda huge, easily the size of 8~10 inches!!

After getting enuff selar, we shoot to the sailfish area which is about 40minutes.

The rig of the sail fish is kinda unique. It's mainline(50lb)--> shockleader(100lb)-->bearing swivel(130lb)-->wire trace(50lb)-->hooks(6/0 circle hook)

the selar is being hooked on the shoulder and after dorsal fin, stripped about 20feet of line then place the balloon. Then strip more line about 20feet after the balloon. Gotta cast the selar out using your hands....once it's casted out, the selar will start swimming to 1 particular direction(it could be different direction on different selar). Once you have firm out the direction of the selar, you continue strip your line till it's about 50m away from your boat. The idea here is not to tangle with other drift balloon out there :) Then fully released your drag..you need not strike but to allow the hook to slide to the beak of the fish and automatically hooked on. This is the tricky part...see how i did it below.

started waiting....

and waited for about 15 mins....

the balloon starts to move sideways slowly...then more sideways with higher speed with some splashes, slowly i lift up my rod from rod holder...slowly tightening my drag as the fish is pulling away, cruising~....more drags is locked on, the line gets it tension....

POP~! the balloon blew...the sailfish felt the tension and starts to get havoc. At this time my drag is set at 50%, need not strikes, the sail fish jumps and keep jumping, shaking its head as it jumps peeling lines like theres no tomorrow...your reel screams at it's loudest pitch asking for mercy...drag screams for 15 seconds.....and it's still keep going....it slows down a little bit...hehehe...this is the time i show my arsenals...the pumps and reeling in line is extremely tough...

the line strips slowly, i tightened my drags to the max 100% FULLY DRAG ON....the sailfish realised that it's tension again...off it goes...more jumping and head shaking...now the drag's pitch is even higher~!! screaming and never ends for 20~30 seconds with a full drag, i felt helpless but to hold on to the rod and my reel(was using the one that is customised rod and the okuma Zonar multiplier)....from green lines....now i'm seeing my line backing....damn...it's more than 200 meters now...

Slowly, the sailfish gets exhausted, now it's the time for me to recover my line....pumping and reeling in line....managed to recover about 100m of lines before it got crazy again~!!!

DANG~! The sailfish wanna shows that he's not easily conquered, gives more jumps and head shakes..but this time, i guess the sailfish is realyl exhausted, the jumps are low and short....then it slows down and tries to dive....as for me, i'm still reeling in the lines and still pumping...

FINALLY, it reaches the side of the boat...can see the beautiful color of it...the size of the gigantic beauty, the ferocious beak and it's arrow shaped tail...BUT WAIT~! There it goes again!!!..it kicks in again giving great beautiful jumps for few rounds.... Reeled in slowly and the Sailfish is landed successfully.

Removed the hook, too the picture and revive the sailfish before releasing it...all less than 3 minutes job :)

Those that we caught was in the range of 30~35kgs according to the tekong.

The tricks: As you pumped up the rod, the fish tends to jumps if it's at surface and be expected to reel in as fast as you can, otherwise the hooks will be spitted out.

One hell of an experience. :)

-END-