Diy : Superlon Installation

IronJ

Oct 6, 2004
khguan is rite... it's about 8" for the diameter... although it's 30m but it's not so big also lar... it's very thin... about 1 to 2mm only...

gogsard

Nov 27, 2004
Which side is you suppose to glue the Superlon ? The smooth or the groovy part ?

Vincew

Dec 6, 2004
Hi All,

I just completed my Wira Sedan (Roof, Floor & Bonet) Yesterday (2 days).

Made some mistakes while tryingto remove the carpet and roof panel.

Short memo:
1) Place back the same screw to the same hole after the part has been removed.(After remove the seat screw the Bolt and nuts back to the chasis. do not mix)

2) Removed all seat and detach all support Panel (Except A pillar) before remove the Roof board.

3) For the A pillar just pull the top (near the roof) out a bit about 40 deg. (Do not detach the whole panel)

More memo next time. (Boss call for meeting)

Thank to All who contribute to this thread as it help me to Diy my car. :D

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by gogsard@Nov 29 2004, 14:46
Which side is you suppose to glue the Superlon ? The smooth or the groovy part ?
either wan

face the foam side to the noise side.
then glue the opposite side lo..

Vincew

Dec 6, 2004
Tried to install 6 mm to the door panel. Stuck because can not fit in the door. Will try again later.

But i did bitumen on the inside of the door, cleaning the inside area with thinner and paper towel. I put 5 strips with three layers. Door sound now very solid.

I forgot to comment on the result which the roof, under carpet and boot. The interior is very quite now, less motobike sound.

BTW i am in IPOH. Thanks Ninja for the advice.

PS: Can you show us how to doo the door panel and where the material needs to be trimmed to prevent PVC panel form being stuck.

takumi86

Dec 8, 2004
Puchong
hi.. just joined this forum! ;)

Vincew,
waah.. just bitumen door sound can very solid meh? :)
btw, quite blur wiz bitumen!!.. how it looks like?
any pic??.. buy from hardware?.. just say bitumen strips
anyone can understand??.. :(

TQ! TQ! :D :D :D :D

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
welcome takumi86,

yep... using bitumen strips on door can reduce some road noise...
u stick them on de metal part inside ur door facing outside..

to get them.. just go to any hardware shop. u tell them u wan bitumen strips.. those thing to seal water leakage on de roof... rm15 per roll for 2" wide

Vincew

Dec 6, 2004
Takumi86,

Ya lor the bitumen i buy is from hardware shop and it is called "hak yau kou" in cantonese. I buy the bitumen 2 inch width and 10m per roll at RM18. "A bit expensive in IPOH"

I use lacquer thinner to clean the metal panels before apply the bitumen.
The antirust greese needs to be wiped off before apply bitumen of it will fall off.

I stick three layers on top of each other to make it thick so it can absorb the vibration. i only past at strips about 1feet ~ 1.5feet each at top side (2 Above the crash bar and 2 below the crash bar (where the vibration is the loudest "i think near the center, you ketuk the door and you will know".

I just done my front passenger door yesterday he he he my neighbour also commented it is very solid compared to other doors.

khGuan: i found you pic of the door panel stick with superlon. i will try to follow and see if the panel can fit back to the panel of not. But i will use double tape to prevent the Glue smell.

Vincew

Dec 6, 2004
I also bought some "Window sealer" Dunlop to add to the existing black glue/tape to hold the plastic cover (in the door) in place.

You can get those in motorbike/car spare part shop. One roll is about RM16 (5 meter) and should be enough for all the four door. You can pull and make it thinner to save cost.

I am planning to DIY "Ground cable" and "Air Twister" as well. (from JL DIY)

takumi86

Dec 8, 2004
Puchong
thanks vincew & khguan!!

woow.. so excited to do this superlon and bitumen thing!!
but need to buy superloan from ninja turtle.. opss.. sorry!!.. :D :D

ninja,
can we meet this saturday at OU area?
i need 10mm -> 6ft , 6mm -> 6ft.

but my front wira bonet a lil bit flip up, mau
sporty look maah... hehe :) :)
hope still can reduce the sound of my std engine! ;)

Vincew

Dec 6, 2004
Yes, I have complete both rear doors with bitumen strips.

i used 3 layered strip (Stick 3 layers together make it nice and thick).

I installed 3 part (11 inch ~ 12 inch each) in each door and now my door did not sound like milo tin when knocked fingers.

It rained this morning and i found out that the sound proofing have help to reduce the rain noise a lot. Mostly only can hear the rain drop sound on the windscreen (front & rear) rather than the roof.
Even my standard ICE is very clear now. (No need to change yet).

Must say thank you to sifu JL, KhGuan & Ninja for this Diy. :)

Next Diy is Air twister. (I am thinking of using red hot nail (paku) to replace the soldering iron) Cut cost mah....

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by takumi86@Dec 9 2004, 14:55
thanks vincew & khguan!!

woow.. so excited to do this superlon and bitumen thing!!
but need to buy superloan from ninja turtle.. opss.. sorry!!.. :D :D

ninja,
can we meet this saturday at OU area?
i need 10mm -> 6ft , 6mm -> 6ft.

but my front wira bonet a lil bit flip up, mau
sporty look maah... hehe :) :)
hope still can reduce the sound of my std engine! ;)
guys

i wont be available this weekend due to the BFGoodrich AMF Finals in Sepang.
i'm participating as a competitor in the AutoCross Finals.

takumi86

Dec 8, 2004
Puchong
ninja,
OK! OK!.. and gambatte kudasai!!.. (good luck in jpenese)
hope can bring back some title...
then to celebrate, give discount ur superloan aa!!... :D :D
will PM u later!

TQ! TQ! :)

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by takumi86@Dec 10 2004, 12:26
ninja,
OK! OK!.. and gambatte kudasai!!.. (good luck in jpenese)
hope can bring back some title...
then to celebrate, give discount ur superloan aa!!... :D :D
will PM u later!

TQ! TQ! :)
takumi-san

i understand basic Nihhon-go :)

i'll do my best...

Jackie Leong

yes it will help alot in soundproofing, and yes i've heard about the smell..

i just bought corolla levin ae101 a few days ago and planning to put a tachometer in it.can someone teach me or give me a link about how to put it in your car..plzz..:cool: