DIY - CAI with Heat shield xD

I plan to make one from a rubbish bin after I saw this posting

http://www.nloc.net/vbforum/gen-2-lightnings/36744-3-95-diy-heat-shield-cold-air-intake.html

http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/1227/heatshieldthrashbin.jpg

http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/6361/heatshieldthrashbin2.jpg

http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/2660/heatshieldprefinal.jpg

So clean look .. your air filter damn long wei

U misunderstood me. Those photos are not mine. I just wanna try making one from a rubbish bin like the example in the photos.

I haven't completed mine yet.

so if do this CAI, will increase timing of acceleration by how much ar?
1 sec?

Donz,

It wont, but it will smoothen the acceleration, and simply tap the accelerator and very quick response can be felt, a small "bonus" syok feel for driver :)

2000hp gain man!!! you shud do it too....can fly to the MOON! some say MARS...cuz u know, 2012 is around the corner and we pretty much gotta get off this planet...

so if do this CAI, will increase timing of acceleration by how much ar?
1 sec?

how dumb can u be la dude, only idiots mod to increase timing :P
the others head toward decreasing their lap.track.acceleration times lolx lolx wakakkakakaa

no wonder laaa , if give ferrari also i guess u will increase the timing to 10sec for 0-60mph lol wakaka

how dumb can u be la dude, only idiots mod to increase timing :P
the others head toward decreasing their lap.track.acceleration times lolx lolx wakakkakakaa

no wonder laaa , if give ferrari also i guess u will increase the timing to 10sec for 0-60mph lol wakaka

Mistyped that la.. imeant increase acceleration, ie reduce timing la..
no need to call ppl dumb la... ok la im dumb, u smartest in the whole world lidat.
happy now? :banghead::banghead::banghead:

If change to bigger onces ..how to fit wor ? ..Even this small tupperware also had difficulties when placing the battery ..Hmm ..Not sure what you meant by big ..

bro trust me, ur tupperware too small. change to a bigger one. one dyno run will prove everything.

i mean bigger tupperware, more space for the air circulation to feed the apexi openpod

daremo - bunnyears heatshield DIY bunnyears

PocketRocket, see above advise from the others la.
he used such a small tupperware box, it would just restrict airflow again much like the original airbox.
which is why i said "why use open pod if u are going to box it up again?" :banghead:

ahh, it may been boxed up like the ori airbox but, the diff is the open pod can suck in air either from the top(where there is a small gap) or the bottom of the tupperware. as i mentioned before, when i'm idling the filter is able to take in air from the engine bay and as i drive faster, the air in the front is forced in more and the suction from the intake manifold would gladly take in the fed air rather than have to suck from the engine bay. at least theoretically the way "forced" air would work...if what you said like an ori airbox, it takes in air from only 1 direction whereas the open pod has better suction capabilities as its cylinder / cone shaped

i mean, would you drink water from a straw or with a pressure hose streamed to you?

---------- Post added at 02:43 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:41 AM ----------

what i meant was having to do this to minimize the hot air intake while moving :biggrin: