How to raise your car hood.. DIY style

u need to cut the yellow part..

not that big.. just around 15mm from the tip..

is that right Danz?

Gudluck :burnout:

attachment.php

• perdana.jpg
    perdana.jpg
    131.8 KB · Views: 797
u need to cut the yellow part..

not that big.. just around 15mm from the tip..

is that right Danz?

Gudluck :burnout:

attachment.php

you're right bro, i raised my hood bout 1", but when i wanted to open the bonnet, the edges pressed on the plastic thinggy at the windscreen & had a hairline crack.

so i had to cut off the edges to raise my hood so that my rear turbine does not overheat, & it does help alot.

---------- Post added at 04:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:30 PM ----------

Am using perdana, which part need to cut off?

if u want to raise it abit (less than 1") then no need to cut la.....

to me, i might abit increase more power. because hot air is hard to compress rather than colder air is easier to compress. thus this might somehow increase abot power. maybe smaller CC engine might not feel significant improvement, but bigger CC might have some improvement. if ur engine produces alot of heat, it might affect the temperature inside engine bay. that's why racing car has louver on their front bonnet. to suck hot air out. but it cannot force air into ur air intake unless u channeled a intake from front or its a forced induction.

bought the bolt and nut and going to try this DIY out...hope can reduce engine bay temperature...:biggrin:

be careful when driving in rain though. Malaysia rain is very "geng" and you dont want water to go near engine/electrics.

Then those cars with louvers how ah. I thought it's okay to touch engine?
VR2 mentioned before he washed his engine. ECU inside cabin so no worries.

raised the bonnet by using a nut only (0.3" height)...tried 2 nuts but will kena fender...not sure by that 0.3" height lifted, will it help in dissipating the heat from the engine bay...:confused:

of coz it helps cool down d engine bay.. :wink:

fast and easy way to deal with those bolt with loosen thread on the head? my friend blame it on china made spannar...

I wanna ask that if its raining and the hot air come out, does the vapour on the windscreen annoy you?
or you don't have that?