4G63 NightMare!!!!

Melting conrod? Hmm
1) Does this con-rod failure occur in the same cylinder? 1 c-rod or all rods "melt"
2) Any other symptoms before problem occur? Weird sound, vibration, clutch problem etc.
3) Your engine block is 1G or 2G?
4) you have air-fuel ratio meter in your car?

"Melting'' con-rod simply means there's not enough cooling to the con-rod. rod bolts need to be at the right torque to feed enough oil-pressure for cooling. But your oil pressure seem all right. i.e with car stationary. Vr4T engines have oil squitters to keep internal moving parts cool. Failling oil-squitters might be one of the cause. Failing oil squitters means worn main-bearing. 100km failure?- catastrophic failure.

I would suggest
check - air fuel ratio
Install oil pressure gauge
confirm engine block specs - turbo,1G,2G etc

Most probably your engine is 2G and it's crank-walking.

LAstly strip and inspect 110% of all systems moving/parts etcs. Pay attention to crank,bearings clearances,squitters and all overheated metal marks.
If can balance the internals. you might get some suprises.
These are mere suggestions of mine after experiences with 4g63s.
It's a bullet proof engine if you get the basic stuffs right.
Cheers.

4G63T engines have been known to be 'bullet proof' and the various reasons many people face and end up giving up playing with this engine is MAINLY due to poor workmanship and poor understanding of how an engine works.

I've been through this stage couple of years back and today, i don't see any problem if you get a PROPER workshop to do the engine rebuild.

Various reasons are already stated above ;
1. crankwalk (very often happens with EVO engines aka 7-bolt crank)
2. wrong sizing of the con rod bearings
3. poor a/f
4. failed oil pump
5. blocked oil squirters
etc etc etc..... a good mechanic will know how to diagnose it...and not 'guess' it.

Maybe you should ask the Mitsubishi Lancer subforum at ZTH. There are many Evo owners that might be able to help you. For starters, they can point you to a proper workshop experienced in maintenance and modding Evos. Like mugan1 and sum-dum-fuk said, the 4G63 engine is bulletproof. It is proven in lots of races.

What turbo are you using?

and also the bolts should be tightened in correct order with proper torque wrench torque acccording to your owners manual and not guessing or feel by the mechanic's arm

Exactly 10000 KM (6mths) after tht my conrod melted. So rebuilt my vr4 block again (coz JPJ cannot endorse anymore).

who said cannot endorse? I just did mine 4 months ago change to new 4g63 engine, previously my engine 4g63 also. did it at padang jawa. before that I get the surat kawal selia from putrajaya by myself .no duit kopi at all. just ur car body need to be standard without any mitsu bodypart.

those with previous 4g63 which had already endorse are able to get approval for the replacement engine if it happen that the current engine failed. however the impossibility to get approval applies to new application

Thanks all for the info and points noted. :adore:

Bernardyeo: Previously using standard TD05. Now bought a custom TD05. Both pasang terbalik.

Renxun/Calmshot: My car endorsed back in 2003. After that its running on its 3th block (all endorsed). Just tht i was told last week tht it cant be done anymore. Will ask JPJ on this coming Monday.

friend if u trust me, change your foreman:thefinger:! He don't know what he's doing because i never had this kind of problem before after i consult with the right person:nurse::nurse:! for the right job! money is hard to earn :mad: so use it wisely not let it burst easy:smokin: if u find 10 foreman they give u 10 stories! u find the right person he'll give 1 time solution! friend turbo is for speed & fun not for Fix!:wavey:

Trust me no need change block! waste of money, if u really need help Email me i try ask help to view the car...

worst come to worst if your piston also had damaged, can mod a bit plonk in a 1jz piston instead.. :biggrin:

wah never counter this kind of problem before...conrod melted.:idea:
nomally peopel complaining about the piston melted due to the over boosting and
oil pump failure...better buy the new 4g63 block and install it rather then fixing
the previous one..:smokin: