4G63 NightMare!!!!

sr_2321

Hi Sifu's:

After getting my Gti Evo 3, i changed the block to vr4 block. Also rebuilt the turbo at the same time becoz engine oil getting in it.

Exactly 10000 KM (6mths) after tht my conrod melted. So rebuilt my vr4 block again (coz JPJ cannot endorse anymore). This time also i need to do back my turbo coz white smoke coming frm exhaust. After repair-just 2km frm the workshop white smoke came back. Consulted the turbo specialist who suggested me to get a new turbo rather than repairing it. This time the engine was working fine.

I also bought a new turbo. Fitted it and drove it around for abt 100km (1 day) and again my conrod melting. Sayang my 1 day turbo. DO ANY 1 KNOW WHY MY CONROD KEEPS MELTING?:banghead:

FYI the car was kept running and the oil pressure was constantly tested before i took the car out frm work shop.We also flush the engine few times.All was fine.I am not using oil cooler.Also i was not boosting around since its still running stage.

Damm frustated wt the engine tht now i am considering to down grade to GTI standard engine. :bawling:. So i would appreciate if any sifus can help me out here b4 i go ahead to downgrade.

p/s: i am not a technical person. :listen:

bro..

sorry to hear bout that... i used to have the same problem.. untill i got so sick and tired i swap back to na...that the thing bout turbo{very manja}...hope u fix your engine soon...

Hi Sifu's:

After getting my Gti Evo 3, i changed the block to vr4 block. Also rebuilt the turbo at the same time becoz engine oil getting in it.

Exactly 10000 KM (6mths) after tht my conrod melted. So rebuilt my vr4 block again (coz JPJ cannot endorse anymore). This time also i need to do back my turbo coz white smoke coming frm exhaust. After repair-just 2km frm the workshop white smoke came back. Consulted the turbo specialist who suggested me to get a new turbo rather than repairing it. This time the engine was working fine.

I also bought a new turbo. Fitted it and drove it around for abt 100km (1 day) and again my conrod melting. Sayang my 1 day turbo. DO ANY 1 KNOW WHY MY CONROD KEEPS MELTING?:banghead:

FYI the car was kept running and the oil pressure was constantly tested before i took the car out frm work shop.We also flush the engine few times.All was fine.I am not using oil cooler.Also i was not boosting around since its still running stage.

Damm frustated wt the engine tht now i am considering to down grade to GTI standard engine. :bawling:. So i would appreciate if any sifus can help me out here b4 i go ahead to downgrade.

p/s: i am not a technical person. :listen:

jinKL: before the first "melt' it was 1.0 Bar (1 days onli ) before tht was at standard boost (0.7). Before the second "melt" it was at standard boost (0.7). drove the car 80kmh and below onli.

8216KS: thanks. i also think 4g63 very "manja". Own v6 twin turbo b4 very reliable.

play na bro... the mount of cash u spending there... can mod crazly on a na... can (rembat maximum every day)...:proud:....

just my saying...

na for life:driver::proud:

jinKL: before the first "melt' it was 1.0 Bar (1 days onli ) before tht was at standard boost (0.7). Before the second "melt" it was at standard boost (0.7). drove the car 80kmh and below onli.

8216KS: thanks. i also think 4g63 very "manja". Own v6 twin turbo b4 very reliable.

8216ks: heheheheh

raja_emeperor: yup its VR4 (surat kastam states 2.0). Now considering 4G67 as an option also, but not sure yet.

Wow... Real Nightmare... Turbocharged engine can be so delicate... But never had a problem like urs... Wondering why ur conrod always melted...? :hmmmm::hmmmm:

8216ks
play na bro... the mount of cash u spending there... can mod crazly on a na... can (rembat maximum every day).......

just my saying...

na for life

i agree wit u..N/A is the best...

bro u sure conrod melted? usually conrod will snap (patah) and not melted. maybe it is something else? even if u rev the car to 10,000rpm and boost 2 bar, the conrods wont "melt" because rods do not have any contact with combustion chamber so no extreme heat will melt them. unless u use plastic conrods...

conrod melt..?whoaa..thats sound terrible..
can't imagine on what really happened base on given situation..
try to snap photo...easier to forumer tackle the problem.

p/s - some people understood wit different part's name..

bro u sure conrod melted? usually conrod will snap (patah) and not melted. maybe it is something else? even if u rev the car to 10,000rpm and boost 2 bar, the conrods wont "melt" because rods do not have any contact with combustion chamber so no extreme heat will melt them. unless u use plastic conrods...

got plastic conrod on the market meh...??ekekeke..jgn mara ar :biggrin:

:driver:
hai...
i dont think he mean melt but like kecut like that... i happend to me but it was cause by my casket leakin...try forged conrod!!!.. using it now on my car...:driver:

conrod melt..?whoaa..thats sound terrible..
can't imagine on what really happened base on given situation..
try to snap photo...easier to forumer tackle the problem.

p/s - some people understood wit different part's name..

got plastic conrod on the market meh...??ekekeke..jgn mara ar :biggrin:

just my two cents, conrod does not melt. try replacing the old conrods and its bi-metal bearings. Send the car for timing check with N1. They r pretty good with 4g63. Better than replacing over & over again. If this so call "melt" i presume is overheating in combustion chamber, it can be fuel too lean, meaning your fuel nozzles/ fuel pump problem. U should have problem with engine high temp as not enough cooling via radiator. If you use metal gasket (ori), it may or may not fail. But it is the first time i hear conrod "melt".

wht these guys say are true, u sure conrod or not
if piston melting on same engine again n again, i can only assume ur ecu :P , ur injector , ur fuel pump , ur fueling :D

i think you better change foreman, or else you will keep on having problem, turbo engine is ok if you know how to take care off, you will learn from time to time and spending more money on it.that why not everybody can own and maintain turbo engine, it was like married to another women,ehehehhe!!
satisfaction guaranteed! talking bout n/a, i believe all turbo owner will have 2nd car and of coz it will n/a engine and reliable to drive around town.
some ppl will say na reliable, but it also prone to kaput! no engine are created to last forever!
it just that it is so rare to see ppl driving turbo car, so will be diff from others user on the road, once your car kepishhh! sure ppl will look at you!
moral is, nothing wrong to own a turbo car.satisfaction will come and u will smiling once the boost start kick in!

Hi All. Thanks for the reply. May be i m using the wrong word "melt". But as a non technical person thts the easiest word my brain can recall. Hehehehe.

Let me tell you how it will happen. Car will be going normal. After some time it will stop (w/o any warning). When u restart you can feel the engine is heavier now as your car struggle to restart. After restart u can see the car engine shaking and metal knocking noise coming from the block. U stilll can drive the car slow slow but no power and wt the loud noise. When u flush the engine oil, it will be in dark gray ( 1day oil) mixed wt metal dust. This metal dust will get into my turbo and kill the turbo.

JinKL: I am using MINES ecu, standard evo injector and fuel pump. Also my fuel pressure ok (i use the small meter placed in engine bay). Can you explain to me how the ecu can be the culprit :adore:

maybe its ur conrod bearings, broken piston rings, chipped valves. lots of factors. must pinpoint the problem. if it happened repeatedly, then it only explains 1 thing: ur mech failed to pinpoint the problem and consequently failed to overcome it. piston rings, bearings all will fail but not as early as 100km.

khoyos: initially it was assume coz of low oil pressure. but now its proven wrong since the problem comes again.

Sifu's: some 1 told me it can happen coz of the water and oil way in the blok tersumbat (in the blok, so u cant see unless u slice it). How true is this?