Turbo Maintenance

those who think or comment negatively about turbocharged engines are those who never own one before, had a friend who had a problematic (potato) halfcut installed, or just simply bullshit by rumors.

pardon my rudeness, but i think enough is enough. :angry: it's time we turbo engine owners stand up and defend ourselves...chewahhh... :lol:

i've seen many ppl who converted their cars often go for budget...upah pasang murah sikit la...halfcut murah sikit la...this la that la...pasang can jalan already lah...

aiyo...timing belt no need change? waterpump no need change? if low mileage confirm good condition? think again!!!
as i said so many times in the forum, treat a transplant as a overhaul procedure. yes, it may cost more but it's for a piece of mind. at least you know the new engine in there will perform much better and last longer. New engine mar! B)

as for highway cruising...i travel from my office in seremban to my plant in simpang ampat twice every week. not to mention me going to my dealers in and around negeri sembilan. never had any problems with my engine so far (except my driveshaft patah 3 times due to suspension failure and fuel pump failure due to fuel tank cannot breathe :P ) did a full engine rebuild and i am running race cams with management and larger turbine. even travel down to jb from seremban and did not stop until i reached kempas/skudai where the need to pee is unbearable... :lol:

why ah? the way you drive. if you experienced a turbo engine during cruising...if you know how to handle your throttle...it is actually in vacuum around -0.3 bar at a constant 140km/h. without boost...how to melt pistons, fry the turbines...?? :blink:

how come i got no problems?

problem: tuning, fuelling, the way you drive. simple as that.

no need to learn one...once you converted the right way...your foot will self adjust after a few months (when the petrol consumption due to constant boosting comes in your face.. :P )

well...it's my 2 cents worth of opinion. sure kena fire one...but the reason of me myself blurting out this nonsense is to clear the myth that turbo cars are crap besides cheap horsepower increase. Those who do not understand how an engine works, those who think they know more than their foreman/mechanics are to blame. go to proper workshop. as stated in a notice in Ringo's Tawau workshop...
"you got money, confirm your car fast and no problems" :P sad...but true.

if you are in the categories said, i am very sorry to offend you.

Regards. ;)

i want to bolt on too.... my foremen said rm1000++ donno plus how much.... only.....

as i already have s-afc so i just need turbo kit will do.... i just thinking to get 0.5 0.6 (izzit save on this boost?) i just only hungry for some G force only.... and the blow valve sound...kekeke :lol:

list of thing need on bolt on:
1. turbine l5, l7 , l9 (all can use right?) td-04 running low boost can kar? for kelisa
2. intercooler (low boost small one should enuf right?)
3. intake piping (will this be expensive? or can use back from l5, l7 , l9 piping?)
3. turbo extractor (izit what is it named?)
4. turbo boost controller (is this a must?)
5. redo exhaust piping (how big? need to be straight? can do it a silent one kar?)

hey dude, i just checked with my friend.. with your budget you can do a conversion to 660cc turbo. he just recently did a conversion for kelisa, and i personally sat in it.. not bad.. :lol:

i agree with miton as well, properly done conversions are very easy to maintain.. dont try to skimp on beltings and things like that.. would you drive your normal na engine with a timing belt that might be too worn?

if u take care of your turbo engine n dont simply do funny funny things to it, it will be easier to maintain than an NA engine that's been highly modded. and dont go n simply boost everywhere u go la. buy chicken rice boost, go to work boost, go home boost, go pump petrol boost... hehe. if u drive like that even the most reliable na engine will koyak.

on the other hand, bolt on kits have too much of a risk factor involved.

so if u wanna go for more power, less headache and more potential, go for a full conversion. i'm sure a lot of pple who have converted here will agree with me ;)

anywayz, give him a call at 012-2015853 (Voon) and u can get more details from him la.. cheers..

just trying to help,

rakuen

Originally posted by antlvk@Jan 26 2005, 17:17
i want to bolt on too.... my foremen said rm1000++ donno plus how much.... only.....

as i already have s-afc so i just need turbo kit will do.... i just thinking to get 0.5 0.6 (izzit save on this boost?) i just only hungry for some G force only.... and the blow valve sound...kekeke :lol:

list of thing need on bolt on:
1. turbine l5, l7 , l9 (all can use right?) td-04 running low boost can kar? for kelisa
2. intercooler (low boost small one should enuf right?)
3. intake piping (will this be expensive? or can use back from l5, l7 , l9 piping?)
3. turbo extractor (izit what is it named?)
4. turbo boost controller (is this a must?)
5. redo exhaust piping (how big? need to be straight? can do it a silent one kar?)
since u r planning to bolt on to kelisa/kenari engine,go for L9 turbine,if not L5-L7 also can,td04 too big for bolt on to small cc car running standard boost 0.7-0.8...intercooler go find L5-L9...L9 slightly longer than the rest...exhaust manifold,necessary piping n hose to be done...what do u mean intake piping??the airfilter hose/piping ka???as long as can connect to the turbine ok la,since wanna use those turbine use their respective hoses or can modify wat....straight piping bising than s-flow...up to u...but not too big...max 2" for small car,can go beyond that but not guarantee to produce more hp...put it around 1.8" already enough...the rest not so sure...

Rakuan.. good advice. As i and other members who have gone the transplant route... we didnt regret it. You can say i want the slight g-force... the BOV sound.. but trust me.. when u feel the g-force.. u want more.. and MORE.. then ur engine eill blow. if not.. u'll end up spending much more than a turbo engine just to get the same power as a slightly modded turbo engine. Bolt-on can only go 0.4... 0.5 max.. and risky.

Originally posted by rakuen@Jan 26 2005, 17:18
dont go n simply boost everywhere u go la. buy chicken rice boost, go to work boost, go home boost, go pump petrol boost... hehe. if u drive like that even the most reliable na engine will koyak.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

true true.. ;)

in that case...anyone know any reliable mechanic?
i manage to find one...he quoted me 5k++...not included jpj approval(rm450)
for L7 engine...expensive... <_<

G-Force is addictive lerrr
now boost 0.5
later u want 0.8
then u want 1.0
then 1.2
blow one engine
prepare new engine for 1.2bar with BLABLA mods
then 1.2bar mana cukup
1.4bar , reach ur engine max
woof
crower masuk la , JE masuk la , JUN masuk la
then u see a kancil 660 can overtake you
you fix bigger turbo la
now you can overtake kancil 660
not yet overtake the skylines
so how what to do ?
ecu management la , motec la kotek kotek laa
now how ? enough or not
by this time you get married already
your wife gaduh with you
you need to bring up your son
sell the car for cheap cheap
and sell the parts in zth section Engine/Performance section
please ask why you retire you will just say " need money urgent"
then of cos family man already , how to Psshh psssh
u bunyi blow off , ur wife blow ur head off la
suspension stiff she dowan sit your car laaa
so end up with a stock car la ok :D
maybe BMW or Merce kekekekkeke

haha... i agree with jinkl... It is a never ending story but it often end when u r getting married.... But what can i say... we choose an expensive hobby.... but it is worth it.... right...? :D

Anyway,,, engine transplant is much better that a turbo kit installation... it is much more reliable and more powerful too.. Just remember ur stock kelisa engine is not built for turbo whereas the L9 or L7 is..... B)

And btw,,, never - ever tell your mechanic how much u have or your budget... More often than not,,, if you tell ur mechanic ur budget,,, it will surely go over your budget... :P ... be safe,,, do ur own research or ask the experienced ppl.. then tell ur mechanic what "you" want to do with ur car... no more..no less..

just wanna share my experience...

happy modifying.. ;)

get used to the power of your car first. it's impossible for you to get used to the power only 1 month's time or less than that. i see many many people who came into the workshop claiming the car no power padahal when i test for them it runs okay.

the way you step your throttle speaks a million words. more throttle..wheelspin..then say the car no power la the tyre no grip la suspension kondem la clutch kondem la...

aiyo...then wanna play with VTEC just to bully them because you got turbo kena smoke kow kow when they pull you away from the traffic lights then you complain your engine got POTATO inside...
even 6 months after my engine rebuild i still cant get used to the power...maybe my car too slow lah... :P

Originally posted by et5828@Jan 27 2005, 03:16
in that case...anyone know any reliable mechanic?
i manage to find one...he quoted me 5k++...not included jpj approval(rm450)
for L7 engine...expensive... b]

wtf jpj approval rm450,u better go on ur own to settle it,might not cost more than rm50,i go on my own onli rm40 to register plus my duit minyak/makan...that fella wanna cekik u that's all...1 example of turbo bolt on,flamefox850,but he has this strong will that he wont go beyond the normal boost level... :P ...so if u wanna bolt on u better hv strong will...like that better fine L6,can find around rm1800 manual...but the labour cost to put it into kelisa might burst close to rm1500...i guess...when i convert my engine the labour itself is rm700...

oi oi..i'm not bolt on type la hahahahaa u r wrong..and now still using 0.7bar for some reason hehe..the reason is CLUTCH. i've increase boost to 0.8bar only then the clutch slips very bad...then why should i increase boost. wait till i change clutch, maybe 2-3weeks time..waiting for money to come down from heaven muahahaha, then i show u all...what's the power of 882T with over 1.0bar boost hahaha :P

jin : u cannot say that la..of cos u cannot satisfy the hunger for power but at least satisfy a bit..ok la. hehehe but i thing have to remember...whatever u do..DUN REGRET !!

thank you all
i learn a lot of things from u expert
nice people :)
about the jpj approval....what is the procedure?
got diff if i mod turbo kit and engine conversion?

normal procedure for a transplant la...go register and they will test your car..
turbo kit i dont think need an approval...right?haha not sure.