Turbo on my satria 1.6

sakuraguy said:
ure using 1.6 already, go for conversion, get a full half-cut + rear discs, which may cost around 4 - 5k and installation 1 - 1.5k depends on the shop .. and all together is 5.5 - 6k only.

If u go for turbo kit, turbo kit itself already 4.5k and disc? ecu?, ure stock piston and head will blow off after a while. i think now u got me :)

have a wise choice, go get a GSR 1800 or get a VR4 if u feel matured enuf ;)

Wah... 4-5k for GSR halfcut + rear discs summore... u find for me loh !!!! =Þ Do u have any idea what is the market price for GSRs these days ar?!?! 5-6k EXCLUDING rear discs laa...

Turbo kit, kit itself 4.5k?? You think HKS turbo kit meh?? =Þ

Anywayz... last time I did my turbo kit with the initial lower boost setup for roughly around 2k flat including installation (and thats including my blow off AND intercooler AND intercooler pipings AND bigger injectors)... that time running 0.5 bar... then later on wanna run higher 0.8 bar just dropped in a metal gasket for roughly around 500 plus installation, a set of GSR injectors for 200 bucks, and rechip ECU for around 300 bucks ... then dynoed.. woohoo.. 170hp on wheels !! And thats on my 1.5 la brader...

Ur 1.6 should be around there also kua... since my 1.5 i bolt onto was a 4G91. =Þ

Of course I was a bit BRAVE lar... but to be on the safe side, wanna run high boost better for you to drop in low compression pistons lar... get a set of pistons from a GSR or 4AG-ZE and rebuild the engine.

**note: Price would depend very much on how good u are at sourcing cheap stuffs**

Bolt-on turbo damn lots of trouble to worry about. The worst part about is, it costs more than an engine transplant.

Slipknot Fanatic said:
Bolt-on turbo damn lots of trouble to worry about. The worst part about is, it costs more than an engine transplant.

Yes, thats the worst part of bolt-on-turbo. It might cost a bit more than transplant. :hmmmm2:

But the best part is the look on the face of transplanted turbo car owners when they get ass raped by bolt-on-turbos. :ciao: especially bolt on turbo with smaller c.c. than them :tongue:

and I forgot to mention another best part of having a bolt on turbo.

BOT get to be underdogs.

If a BOT get harrased by transplant cars, BOT owner can get away easily by saying...

"Aiya...my car N/A with BOT mah, how to compare with your GSR/VR4/EVO, etc etc...

But if a BOT kicks the ass of transplant cars, the BOT owner can really rub it in by saying

"HAH!?!......your car transplant ori turbo engine lose to BOT ah?....aiyo...not malu meh?..your boost higher then him sumore leh...."

Maybe its just me, but there's something about modifying your own engine and not dumping something alien in. Some form of satisfaction by having originality. That is, if your engine is potent to begin with la. No point spending 20k on a 1.3 to make it equal to a 2.0.

Thats just me being a semi-purist though.

u mean its better to get the wife/gf to have a boob job, ass job and facelift?
instead of breakup and find new girl.

Asking her to slim down and shape up is modifying your own engine.
Asking her to get silicon implants is changing an engine. No longer original.
Finding a new girl is changing your car.
Unless you mean a gf/wife is not a person but a combination of boobs and asses, like a car is only about the engine. :)

Zeroed said:
Maybe its just me, but there's something about modifying your own engine and not dumping something alien in. Some form of satisfaction by having originality. That is, if your engine is potent to begin with la. No point spending 20k on a 1.3 to make it equal to a 2.0.

Thats just me being a semi-purist though.

Yeah... but be careful not to blow a hole right thru your block woh... 4G93 n/a and turbo block has its differences...

Reason why transplanting would usually be the better option for protons/mitsu is because we have quite a few options to transplant mar... GSR, 61T, 63T, evo... but when it comes to cars like honda, mana ade turbo punya engine? So bolt on is required loh to get the ultimate power from boosting! =)

Anywayz... if wanna BOT not to say cannot lar... but u gotta be damn sure what u're doing... there's quite a few expects u gotta look into and do something about to get everything in perfect working condition... if u dunno nuts bout cars, chances are u'll blow ur engine before u can say "ooooh bebeh, feel the power of turbo !!". It is not as simple as buying a turbo kit and fitting it in... there's a list of other things that has to be done to support the turbo kit and to make the engine reliable.

Slipknot Fanatic,
Yes... He obviously dunno nutz bout bolt on turbos... he's a good example of someone who dunno nuts about cars... plz dun try to bolt on, plz...!! =Þ Later make all of us BOT owners look bad.
*hmmm... u do remind me of someone who used to be super-against-BOTs oso... who now sees things differently after he got his car properly tuned up... hehehe... *wink wink* someone in here knows who it is i'm talking about... =Þ

Actually Alvin taikor... even if the block got differences, unless there is detonation the NA block should support turbocharging power also right?
Unless the block material is actually weaker than the stock abestos gaskets. If the stock gaskets can withstand boost, why not the block?

When there is detonation, then the NA block may give way earlier than a turbo block la. But if its properly tuned it should be ok right? Since most of the energy will be converted to kinetic energy.

Anyway, my mechanic assured me that there are no differences between the blocks and internals other than an additional oil squirter and pistons wor... and he's one who has rebuild thousands of engines.

As for transplant options... somehow I feel like keeping my engine la... its My Powerplant wor after all. :D

edit: sorry not thousands. but on average 1 every week, about 20 years into the business. Thats a few hundred :P

alvin24 said:
u do remind me of someone who used to be super-against-BOTs oso... who now sees things differently after he got his car properly tuned up... hehehe... *wink wink* someone in here knows who it is i'm talking about... =Þ

Alot of people have been driving around with BOTs ages before you even transplanted your 4G91.

Its just that some poeple tend to say the opposite of what they actually mean.

A matter of knowing how to read between the lines.

Turbo Sang as I remembered has destroyed a lot of engines. Some of my friends use to go there and they told me about the countless engine rebuilds they had put up with until they got pissed off at some point and after that they went to another mechanic.

Joeker said:
Yes, thats the worst part of bolt-on-turbo. It might cost a bit more than transplant. :hmmmm2:

But the best part is the look on the face of transplanted turbo car owners when they get ass raped by bolt-on-turbos. :ciao: especially bolt on turbo with smaller c.c. than them :tongue:

Yes... I remembered how u 'tapau' a 2000cc NA Galant once... owner got a shock now doing full transplant...

Zeroed said:
Actually Alvin taikor... even if the block got differences, unless there is detonation the NA block should support turbocharging power also right?
Unless the block material is actually weaker than the stock abestos gaskets. If the stock gaskets can withstand boost, why not the block?

When there is detonation, then the NA block may give way earlier than a turbo block la. But if its properly tuned it should be ok right? Since most of the energy will be converted to kinetic energy.

Anyway, my mechanic assured me that there are no differences between the blocks and internals other than an additional oil squirter and pistons wor... and he's one who has rebuild thousands of engines.

As for transplant options... somehow I feel like keeping my engine la... its My Powerplant wor after all. :D

edit: sorry not thousands. but on average 1 every week, about 20 years into the business. Thats a few hundred :P

I guess we'll see won't we? =) As to whether or not the 93 n/a can actually take that amount of stress and heat... =)

In the states, the yanks are boosting their Single Cam VTEC engine block with over 400whp (of course with beefed up internals, etc)

In Malaysia, 1.6 Proton SOHC block can stand 270hp of turbo power.

Tuning is the key whether an engine makes or breaks.

When I took out my NA 4G63 block... I noticed a couple of differences when compared to my new 4G63 turbo block.

1. Lower comp pistons.
2. Oil squirters.

So, in theory, if I take the NA block and swapped out the NA pistons + conrod with pistons + conrod from a turbo engine, I will have a spare turbo engine. Gonna ask the mech to clean up the old engine and seal it. Will obtain a spare lower comp pistons + conrod.

Joeker said:
In the states, the yanks are boosting their Single Cam VTEC engine block with over 400whp (of course with beefed up internals, etc)

In Malaysia, 1.6 Proton SOHC block can stand 270hp of turbo power.

Tuning is the key whether an engine makes or breaks.

Hello Bro,

can recommned which sifu to teach us the great art of making 270 Hp. I heard that you also sifu for at least 200 Hp.. maybe you can enlighten us...... (I also want to bolt one in lah) :rock: My :turtle: needs some performance enhancers

200 hp 1.6? I'm not sure how to do it because I heard from fren who heard from another fren oni wan.

Maybe I can ask my fren again k?.

My :turtle: more slower than your :turtle: lor.

At leart Your "1/4" race cammed NA tuned :turtle: can tarpau Vios mar.

Aiyo, don bully the Vios people lar.

turbo charged 4g92 sohc only 130bhp?n it cost around 3k rite?but transplant 4g93 dohc cost u only 4500 and stock already have 140bhp.so maybe transplant is better liao.if boring in future can do hybrid mivec perhaps.rite?

Joeker said:
200 hp 1.6? I'm not sure how to do it because I heard from fren who heard from another fren oni wan.

Maybe I can ask my fren again k?.

My :turtle: more slower than your :turtle: lor.

At leart Your "1/4" race cammed NA tuned :turtle: can tarpau Vios mar.

Aiyo, don bully the Vios people lar.

Hahahaha :tongue: You sure or not your :turtle: slower than my :turtle:

So many "people" give you kudos one that your :turtle: that is actually a :ridinghor

:bath: Anyway I kena tapau by VIOS not I tapau VIOS :albertein

satria 1.6 dohc

softmuffin said:
hI there turbo kaki,

I just wonder can you all tell me izzit possible for me to installa a turbo kit
for my satria 1.6?

Block 4G92
4G93Head
1.6 sohc ECU

what else do i need or must i change to a turbo engine?

How much it will cost me?
please advice

how much to convert from 1.6 sohc to 1.6 dohc? just change the head rite?
i need simple mod only...not going for turbo yet
just get satria 1.6...gatal tangan already:biggrin:
izzit worth? please advice