what the most powerful NA engines

si|verfish said:
Litre just tells you how big it is, not how much it weighs. And an engine alone isn't going to get you anywhere. Weight is the worst enemy when it comes to performance. So lighter engine = good. Don't care how many litres they use so long as it has huge power and low as possible weight.

Engine weight or entire car's weight?? i guess then entire weight that the engine has to handle would be more substantial.... and theres other enemies like wind-drag and heat... this is where aerodynamics and cooling plays its role.... to many variables laa....

MK84 said:
K20A? F20C? Those will only give you 120bhp/litre stock.

This engine pumps out close to 150bhp/litre. 383bhp. 2.6 liter. 10,000rpm. Dry weight, 88kg. The PowerTec RPA V8.
http://www.radicalextremesportscars.com/news_folder/v8_assy/0001.jpg
http://www.radicalextremesportscars.com/news_folder/V8_christine/l_v8curve.gif

And it's for a road-legal car too.

if there was such a thing as power/cylinder... this engine would lose... :p :D :p

but than again... thats freakin high man... 383 bhp from a 2.6L... the RB26 is forced induced and puts out 280bhp...

Have to remember also. RB26 is restricted to 280bhp.

How about the Mazda RX-8

I heard the Mazda RX-8 is a NA engine...well.. not a normal engine but a Rotary Engine with no turbo.

It's only a 1.3 litre engine producing power output 200++ bhp if not more....

InitialD said:
I heard the Mazda RX-8 is a NA engine...well.. not a normal engine but a Rotary Engine with no turbo.

It's only a 1.3 litre engine producing power output 200++ bhp if not more....

true.. :D

yes, but rotary engine drinks petrol like i drink alcohol.

i'm sure RB26DETT will churn out much more than 280bhp if not for the restriction.

eh, your PowerTec have to fall under DNQ la... not fair comparison.

minivan said:
Engine weight or entire car's weight?? i guess then entire weight that the engine has to handle would be more substantial.... and theres other enemies like wind-drag and heat... this is where aerodynamics and cooling plays its role.... to many variables laa....
Well, the engine goes into the car does it not? So if it is powerful but heavy, the performance still might not increase by much compared to a less powerful, less heavy engine. So, less weight is good. HP/Displacement doesn't equate to faster car. HP/Weight does.

its rotary... just spins there like nobodys business, yup.. the torque is shitz...
diesel engines have huge wheel spinning torque...:D

si|verfish said:
Well, the engine goes into the car does it not? So if it is powerful but heavy, the performance still might not increase by much compared to a less powerful, less heavy engine. So, less weight is good. HP/Displacement doesn't equate to faster car. HP/Weight does.

you're right... power-to-wieght is operative when it comes to performance...

ok, to be specific and thus a productive discussion..... let's narrow it to which are the most powerful stock N/A 4-wheel commercial production rides out there.

0-100 times, quartermile times, topspeed, max power, max torque.... etc....

hayabusa and powertec all, dun play play laaa...

i think Honda's Type-R DC5 Teg is most certainly up there in the Japanese class.

minivan said:
its rotary... just spins there like nobodys business, yup.. the torque is shitz...
diesel engines have huge wheel spinning torque...:D
I was actually refering to the PowerTec engine :) but yeah it applies to the Wankel as well.

differ said:
ok, to be specific and thus a productive discussion..... let's narrow it to which are the most powerful stock N/A 4-wheel commercial production rides out there.

0-100 times, quartermile times, topspeed, max power, max torque.... etc....

hayabusa and powertec all, dun play play laaa...

i think Honda's Type-R DC5 Teg is most certainly up there in the Japanese class.
What do you classify as commercial production rides? Does BMW M cars for example count? How about a sports cars like Porsches and Ferraris.

WBH8668 said:
i guess japanese car is the best can produce NA result...i think is skyline R34..

alamak... bro, i don't think R34's are NA. Are there NA variants i don't know off??
Nway...
NA = naturally aspirated. No turbo, charger, kompressor, whatever they call it... (no forced induction)....

si|verfish said:
I was actually refering to the PowerTec engine :) but yeah it applies to the Wankel as well.

Don't be deceived by the dyno chart, with 196ft lbs of torque at 7000rpm, that's more than the F20C. And it has better torque curve to boot.

But then again... F20C is pretty much torqueless also. LoL. :D Hence the increase in stroke and size to 2.2.

minivan said:
alamak... bro, i don't think R34's are NA. Are there NA variants i don't know off??
Nway...
NA = naturally aspirated. No turbo, charger, kompressor, whatever they call it... (no forced induction)....

http://www.mk84.com/avatar/naaaaa.gif