What is Your Electronic Crossover Tuning?

icecube

Just got my active setup. So wanna know what the best tuning for each channel. I know some speaker might sound different with different freq. just need a rough idea of what freq. you guys using.

will post mine when i check it out tonight.
thanks!

dude, your question is so wide...answer can be few pages. Can narrow down what do you want actually ?

i scared hor if i tell u that i cross my tweets at 1.6khz, u go and do urs.... thn u will smell smoething leh. whahahaha

Originally posted by g88@Mar 20 2005, 16:40
dude, your question is so wide...answer can be few pages. Can narrow down what do you want actually ?
[snapback]824861[/snapback]​

dun lah scary him....let him tell his story first :P

Originally posted by g88@Mar 20 2005, 16:40
I Want to know like the following...

High = 1.6k
mid = 2.5k - 100khz
sub= 120khz

some rough numbers ....

Originally posted by normality78@Mar 20 2005, 22:01
i scared hor if i tell u that i cross my tweets at 1.6khz, u go and do urs.... thn u will smell smoething leh. whahahaha
[snapback]825312[/snapback]​
1.6k is quite high freq. and sharp for tweeter doesnt it? so i want to know what freq that most ppl set their crossover tat to achieve a "natural" sound in their setup.

Originally posted by icecube+Mar 21 2005, 01:05 -->
QUOTE(icecube @ Mar 21 2005, 01:05 )
--QuoteBegin-normality78
@Mar 20 2005, 22:01
1.6k is quite high freq. and sharp for tweeter doesnt it? so i want to know what freq that most ppl set their crossover tat to achieve a "natural" sound in their setup.
[snapback]825762[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

1) Mid bandpass-50Hz to 2,300Hz.
2) Tweeter highpass-2,500Hz.
3) Sub lowpass-58Hz.

Originally posted by icecube+Mar 21 2005, 01:01 -->
QUOTE(icecube @ Mar 21 2005, 01:01 )
--QuoteBegin-g88
@Mar 20 2005, 16:40
I Want to know like the following...

High = 1.6k
mid = 2.5k - 100khz
sub= 120khz

some rough numbers ....
[snapback]825750[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

hehe.bro the sub is wihtout the klahh.only hz..........

Originally posted by pisces+Mar 21 2005, 01:30 -->
QUOTE(pisces @ Mar 21 2005, 01:30 )
Originally posted by icecube@Mar 21 2005, 01:05
--QuoteBegin-normality78
@Mar 20 2005, 22:01

[snapback]825762[/snapback]​

1) Mid bandpass-50Hz to 2,300Hz.
2) Tweeter highpass-2,500Hz.
3) Sub lowpass-58Hz.
[snapback]825817[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Hehehehheheheh
Uncle, the tweeter freq is only applicable for tua liap or dynamic tweeters only :P :P
It can make normal tweeters smelly with that freq..hehehe
For the topic starter, as for normal tweeters (a non tua liap or dynamics tweeters)
U should start around between 3.2 to 3.5kHz and above.
BTW, can u tell us what tweeters that u're using. From there I think our sifus can enlighten u which frequency u should start with

I am using Epsilon 1" Soft Dome tweeter. (forgot wat model, will check it out if u guys need the details)

Model : EP-DT8A
Max music power: 50W
Nominal Power: 30W
Impedande: 4Ohm
Sensitivity : 89db/WATT (1M)
Freqency Respond : 1.5Khz-20khz.

Do i need to use the original transistors for sound filtering tat came with this tweeter?

Interesting:

tweeters high passed at 1.8kHz
mids bandpassed at 1.8kHz to 150Hz
woofers bandpassed 150Hz to 66Hz
subwoofer bandpassed 66Hz to 25Hz

Originally posted by icecube@Mar 21 2005, 09:57
I am using Epsilon 1" Soft Dome tweeter. (forgot wat model, will check it out if u guys need the details)

Do i need to use the original transistors for sound filtering tat came with this tweeter?
[snapback]826366[/snapback]​

According to the specs, ur tweeters can be considered as dynamics tweeters. U can try out from 2kHz and above. I might be wrong but according to the specs it suppose capable. About the capacitor, u need to remove it.

BTW, I'm running my component set in passive crossover. So i just use hi pass and low pass only from my amp e-cross :).

Originally posted by ISWARA GT-R+Mar 21 2005, 14:59 -->
QUOTE(ISWARA GT-R @ Mar 21 2005, 14:59 )
--QuoteBegin-icecube
@Mar 21 2005, 09:57

According to the specs, ur tweeters can be considered as dynamics tweeters. U can try out from 2kHz and above. I might be wrong but according to the specs it suppose capable. About the capacitor, u need to remove it.

BTW, I'm running my component set in passive crossover. So i just use hi pass and low pass only from my amp e-cross :).
[snapback]827384[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
Oh okie. thanks. the lowest i can go with my e-crossover is at 2.5K ...
What kinda tua-liap tweeter are we talking here? Is it the one like from the home theather system tweeter type? i saw one iswara use before but i dunno its for looks or sound .....

Originally posted by icecube+Mar 22 2005, 20:49 -->
QUOTE(icecube @ Mar 22 2005, 20:49 )
Originally posted by ISWARA GT-R@Mar 21 2005, 14:59
--QuoteBegin-icecube
@Mar 21 2005, 09:57

[snapback]827384[/snapback]​
Oh okie. thanks. the lowest i can go with my e-crossover is at 2.5K ...
What kinda tua-liap tweeter are we talking here? Is it the one like from the home theather system tweeter type? i saw one iswara use before but i dunno its for looks or sound .....
[snapback]831563[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Yeah tua liap tweeters are big tweeters (2"-4" in diameter)usually use for home audio application. By frequency characteristics, it perform like dynamic tweeters but it has better high extension.

iswara-gtr.. according to zenn.. if not mistaken the standard rs pro passive cross the tweeter at 2.5khz region. And he said that last time he had tried crossing the tweeter at 1.2khz still can jalan.. powerrr... wohaaha

Yeah tua liap tweeters are big tweeters (2"-4" in diameter)usually use for home audio application. By frequency characteristics, it perform like dynamic tweeters but it has better high extension.
[snapback]831918[/snapback]​

So meaning can get any home audio application tweeter (8ohm) and place in car ?
any specific stuff that need to be looked into like ohm,watt,etc?

Originally posted by 5soul@Mar 23 2005, 02:02
iswara-gtr.. according to zenn.. if not mistaken the standard rs pro passive cross the tweeter at 2.5khz region. And he said that last time he had tried crossing the tweeter at 1.2khz still can jalan.. powerrr... wohaaha
[snapback]832377[/snapback]​

Yeah, if i'm not mistaken he used that freq during finals in IASCA 2003 for 2 weeks. During RS Audio seminar last year, they did a demonstration using RS Pro tweeter runinng full range. So far no problem.

Originally posted by icecube@Mar 23 2005, 21:42

[snapback]831918[/snapback]​

So meaning can get any home audio application tweeter (8ohm) and place in car ?
any specific stuff that need to be looked into like ohm,watt,etc?
[snapback]835078[/snapback]​

Yes. Usually the problem with home tweeter would be the impedance. Since most of them are 8ohm, u need more powerful amplifiers to drive them . Reason behind it because as the impedance increase, it'll cause the amplifier draws smaller power. For example an amplifier will produce 100 watts rms at 4ohm but it'll produce around 50 watts rms at 8ohm. The advantage here will be on the damping factor but then too small power can cause the tweeter cannot perform at it's full potential. The best way for choosing will be a 4ohm tweeter or a small power tweeter with high sensivity for 8ohm.

Originally posted by ISWARA GT-R@Mar 23 2005, 22:27
Yes. Usually the problem with home tweeter would be the impedance. Since most of them are 8ohm, u need more powerful amplifiers to drive them . Reason behind it because as the impedance increase, it'll cause the amplifier draws smaller power. For example an amplifier will produce 100 watts rms at 4ohm but it'll produce around 50 watts rms at 8ohm. The advantage here will be on the damping factor but then too small power can cause the tweeter cannot perform at it's full potential. The best way for choosing will be a 4ohm tweeter or a small power tweeter with high sensivity for 8ohm.
[snapback]835132[/snapback]​

Can we use 4 tweeters instead? 2 for each channel in parallel? That will result in a 4 ohm load right?