Spun my car

syking

Yo,

Just wanna share some experience. A few years back,
was driving down to town (from Bangsar highway to Jalan Duta) it was raining and I spun my car on the highway. It was 4am in the morning luckily no cars around. I spun at one corner (near a pedestrian bridge) that is so-so sharp going downhill. That time I was practising my left-foot braking with my saga so I was trying to keep my saga in one lane at all times. Well, apparently my tires lost traction with the ground due to the rain and I spun like crazy. At that moment I can only see pillar-road-pillar-road. Tried to counter the oversteer but the tires arent touching the road, also was quite green back then. Surprisingly, I didn't hit anything at all. Eversince then been going to wide open areas to train defensive driving typically how to counter oversteering on wet roads. So you guys got similar experience to share?

Oh here's something....funny. My friend who rides a kapchai was resting under a bridge on federal highway during a rainy day. He was waiting for the rain to stop and fell asleep. When he woke up, he was in the hospital with some broken limbs. Sad....but funny.

hahaha...until now i jus nearly spun when i drift(watch too much initial-d) wif my dad old skool during a raining day...
dun so lazy la...y use left foot to break ur car~haha...

i remember last year when i was travel to work on a wet saturday morning i hv my car spun rite after subang tol at the turn off to the nkve highway to kl... the speed was low but just dun know y the car spun like no body business n hit the divider... try to counter steer couldnt help too n hv my right head lamp n signal broke to piecess... not to say the bumper too... was lucky tat the other traffic was able to hit the brake fast if not i think i will hv my rest of my life on top of the hazy sky liao...

i did once encountered this but late at night w/o raining/wet tarmac near kota dmsr toll. my car spun i did manage to counter-steer-wif my wife & sister inside!! finally i can feel the true feeling drifting wif FF car e/though my wife scold me like hell. my speed at that time? almost 110km/h!! ekekeke.. :biggrin:

i used to race wif my brother+gf that night & he's driving wira aerobak & he did drift too!! e/though both of us kena marah but we felt AWESOME. gosh, how i really want a FR car.. :rolleyes:

if over the limite..counter also useless liao..
i always use kapchai to test and train my senses of countering ......

luckily i did manage to control lorr.. if not, sure dun want 2 post coz definately i'll be laughing stock of u guys..

nvm la... thats what inspire drifters to practice more ma... without practice how to brush up ur skills??... countersteer takes practice to do it right geh... so, even if u spin out also part of learning process...

SkYwAlKeR said:
nvm la... thats what inspire drifters to practice more ma... without practice how to brush up ur skills??... countersteer takes practice to do it right geh... so, even if u spin out also part of learning process...

hehe.. that's true. & it also true that i watched Initial-D alot.. full collection. wat i believe is, practice make perfect. btw, i'll keep trying to learn from the drifting sifus out there (w/o my wife as the passenger. ekekeke)

waja3348 said:
hehe.. that's true. & it also true that i watched Initial-D alot.. full collection. wat i believe is, practice make perfect. btw, i'll keep trying to learn from the drifting sifus out there (w/o my wife as the passenger. ekekeke)

ofcoz w/o wife lor,u will kena again if u bring her along...haha...

ha ha ha..i had such bad experience twice. both cases on wet surface, and similar situaution (accelerating out of corner). i learnt it was due to the inner wheel lost traction so spinning more than the outer wheel.

during the humiliating lost control incident lucky no other road users, but after my car stopped in the middle of the road but facing the othe rway round then only oncoming vehicles started to show up. malu wehh....

what else can do? restart car and cabut laa....

happened 2 me also few months back early in the morn at 3am or 4am was driving about 100km/h only alone in the car... spun my car on a oil/water patch on the LDP (big corner with lotsa yellow indicator lines jus after kelana jaya LRT, the damn sui unlucky one)... after wrestling with the steering and applying brakes at certain points i VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY narrowly missed the huge truck charging behind me and i ended up stopping a centimetre from the divider.... HOLY SHIT! jus wan 2 say, u CAN drive fast or race on public roads if u wish, but pls pls pls b careful. n realise that jus cos it hasn't rained in awhile don't mean the entire network of roads is perfectly dry n grippy.

also, SOME corners r jus meant 2 b taken SLOW...

zero4 said:
spuun oredi can counter is okie lohhhhhhhhhhhh

actually, the main reason for spun is (referring to my car la..) due to front brake locked when i press the brake. has to tarik handbrake to put me into the motion & counter-steer. today, i got my brake serviced & change to dot4 brake fluid. there goes my RM180.. :frown: but luckily nobody was around.. ekeke... :biggrin:

crystal_method said:
happened 2 me also few months back early in the morn at 3am or 4am was driving about 100km/h only alone in the car... spun my car on a oil/water patch on the LDP (big corner with lotsa yellow indicator lines jus after kelana jaya LRT, the damn sui unlucky one)... after wrestling with the steering and applying brakes at certain points i VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY narrowly missed the huge truck charging behind me and i ended up stopping a centimetre from the divider.... HOLY SHIT! jus wan 2 say, u CAN drive fast or race on public roads if u wish, but pls pls pls b careful. n realise that jus cos it hasn't rained in awhile don't mean the entire network of roads is perfectly dry n grippy.

Dude....that is a very DIRTY place. A lot of ppl died there when LDP was up.

zan said:
ha ha ha..i had such bad experience twice. both cases on wet surface, and similar situaution (accelerating out of corner). i learnt it was due to the inner wheel lost traction so spinning more than the outer wheel.

during the humiliating lost control incident lucky no other road users, but after my car stopped in the middle of the road but facing the othe rway round then only oncoming vehicles started to show up. malu wehh....

what else can do? restart car and cabut laa....

Hhahah yah lor. After I spun my car, I just kept lafing. All the hormones kicking in. Then realised there were a few cars on the opposite site, I dunno which hurt more...my pride or my car.

As far as I know, when FF oversteer it's harder to counter. So nowadays very scared to over do it. Oh I was travelling at 130-140kmh when I spun my car.

i spun my car due to a very very 'super' driver at Jln Kewajipan, Subang bend... I was chit chatting with my fren when at the corner and we were at the middle lane, suddenly one Toyot SEG came whack korner and at the sharp bend, he swerved into my lane, nearly hitting my fender, caused me instantly to countersteer ann braked... lucky it wasnt 360 but car faced to the other way around near the guardrail edi and skidded over to the other exit... I just look right and saw the SEG hantam the other side of the rail edi... me and my friend went over to help the fella cause quite bad he hit the rail. Guess, he's just a kid... 17yrs when my friend asked him. Got a pretty good Nippon Slap from my friend until can see all five fingers on his cheek. Hehehhe...
If my car got one scratch from that.. I sure pijak pijak him edi!! If you're the driver, congratulationslaaa for getting the slap. Sakit tak? I can see you cry though... wakakakak!!

crystal_method said:

That place memang cannot go fast punya.. last time i was going home dunno wat time in the morning. i decide to take the corner at 120km/h at the fastest lane nearest to the divider.. fucking stupid me. i felt my car skidded abit as i go along the road maintaining 120km/h. i dunno man.. i've not kena any accident so far altho i have some lil encounters before.. i guess the lord is watching over me.

And Kopi, the kid already bang the side already u all go there slap him somemore.. haih. he also din tiew u, maybe give ppl chance say sorry next time..

Pickcell said:
That place memang cannot go fast punya.. last time i was going home dunno wat time in the morning. i decide to take the corner at 120km/h at the fastest lane nearest to the divider.. fucking stupid me. i felt my car skidded abit as i go along the road maintaining 120km/h. i dunno man.. i've not kena any accident so far altho i have some lil encounters before.. i guess the lord is watching over me.

And Kopi, the kid already bang the side already u all go there slap him somemore.. haih. he also din tiew u, maybe give ppl chance say sorry next time..

yea ur damn right Pickcell! shit man i thought i was gonna fucking die dude!! serious! u can't even put ur fingers in between my car and the divider man no shit! but i escaped with my life without a single scratch on me or my car. shit that corner is damn kao sui la. it doesn't look sharp / dangerous at all but when u actually take the corner it jus seems ur tayar turns 2 fucking jelly and the road like marble. yikes!