Proton ------ Proton again.

Proton need real business-minded people to run the company. The more Chinaman, the better... after all, it's all about making money to grow bigger.

Screw national project, identity, treasure, ideology and politicians!

Even AB's speech was not convincing! The way he talks akin like trying to hide the facts that VW have moved on. Who would meet VW bosses without mentioning a name or date?

If no announcement by mid of Apr, we all can forget about the VW already.

we have been screwed for 20 years jor... n we will continue get screw for many years...

just wait n see who will get the chance to spoonfeed this over growth baby...

read newspaper this morning... one of the part mentioned by naza was the gvt shud give local company a chance to help proton to continue survive and help proton to seek for foreign partner ... *naza said they dun keen on the share for proton... they just wan to help* will any1 belief it?

we have been screwed for 20 years jor... n we will continue get screw for many years...

just wait n see who will get the chance to spoonfeed this over growth baby...

read newspaper this morning... one of the part mentioned by naza was the gvt shud give local company a chance to help proton to continue survive and help proton to seek for foreign partner ... *naza said they dun keen on the share for proton... they just wan to help* will any1 belief it?

hell no! just wan to help my foot. First of all, naza is the least choice of the two - another is the 'former' owner. naza is only a car assembler.

adding satnavs, front lips, 16 inci rims, is no car-making business, Naza. ever heard of prototypes? designs? engine developments? not to mention various tests. so, it is obvious Naza don't do car-making business. its just an assembler. and aahh..rebadging engineering. this is better than korean's reverse engineering. right?

Proton needs to come to the street and ask these people, what kind of car or any idea of cars that appeal to men and women these days. after all, these people will buy the cars. or MPVs. or whatever proton producing.

The population of Proton lovers is not that large, not too strong to support Proton along. so, the fan base is not strong, thanks to shabby work and quality. but yes, i 'm positive proton can survive, or even win back market share, once they sorted out the problems and drive politics away.

Maybe, for a starter, proton can roll out coupe of the existing waja. of course you need to plan things over, but the parts are there and the basics are all there. Proton just need to shorten the length and perhaps, better one or two things only. and also, quality.

Yeah proton should come out with a kick-ass sports car. It's the only way to win back the hearts and minds of the people.

Add turbo also a good idea hehe

proton is so ego one..long time ego when petronas propose to use E01 engine from sauber they dun want..they said want to use his own engine 'CAM no PRO' now siapa susah?? that campro spoil their market already....if proton use E01 for sure this car can 'boom'.....

hell no! just wan to help my foot. First of all, naza is the least choice of the two - another is the 'former' owner. naza is only a car assembler.

adding satnavs, front lips, 16 inci rims, is no car-making business, Naza. ever heard of prototypes? designs? engine developments? not to mention various tests. so, it is obvious Naza don't do car-making business. its just an assembler. and aahh..rebadging engineering. this is better than korean's reverse engineering. right?

fyi DrMpower,

Naza has its own R&D centre in Gurun at its manufacturing plant. Naza will come up with its own models, not so soon. but there will be.

on the other hand, Proton came up with its R&D and rapid prototype development program after 13-15 years operating, that was in late 90s to prepare for AFTA.

IMO, the Waja platform can be used to built an MPV. just like the Stream (on Civic), Odyssey (on Accord) or Wish (on Avensis if not mistaken).
MPV is the 'in' vehicle nowadays.

actually, its not all to blame on Proton. neither Proton nor Dr.Mahathir knew back in 1982 that they will face with AFTA today.

alwasy remember the basics; Proton was created with a few objectives in mind
1) to make cars more affordable to the people.
2) to get technology transfer from Japan
3) to generate good industrial growth for Malaysia

i have to agree with Dr.Mpower. Proton have to penetrate into a bigger market and take bigger risk in order to profit.
think of this

1. Indonesia 220 million population. proton cannot get 0.1% to buy?

2. Thailand 60 billion people. 0.05% perhaps??

3. India? Papua New Guinea?? Vietnam??

and yet they want to compete with strong established brands in UK and Australia. how many units they sold in UK last year?

AFTA will never come into effect... it has been delayed and delayed and delayed again... just like the deadline to announce their new share holder...

if proton is to recover... i think they will need a MAJOR revamp in their organization and workforce structure... kick out those who is not contributing and retain those who is (easier said than done)...

Pride and Ego will keep Proton away from those ideas mentioned here to remedy our nasional car company's problems.

pride and ego???... money and greed i say...

where is the pride in maintaining such an organization???

This proton issue has been discussed countless times already. Talk until mouth dry also no use. We can't change anything. It's up to them whether they want to exhaust the country's funds to keep proton alive. Oh wait, it's our money too!

Either way, we're screwed!

yes... DAMN RIGHT YOU ARE... the only way is to kick out those people who are not contributing to the growth of Proton as a organization... (and you damn well know who i mean)...

Proton is viewed as a small car manufacturer in many peoples eyes... that is why it won't sell in other markets.. and they damn hell never did anything to do somethings about it ...

Yeah proton should come out with a kick-ass sports car. It's the only way to win back the hearts and minds of the people.

Add turbo also a good idea hehe

too much work for them bro.. they just wan to create something simple and easy...and make loads of money of it...

Get a chinaman to be proton's CEO. Sure got profits one.

Proton will end up being a jigsaw puzzle car.. a piece from this manufacturer... and a piece from that manufacturer...hihihih

I have many friends that drove PROTON b4 but now all of us OP not to get ONE anymore. Do you guys notice such trend ? They rather buy 2nd hand Jap or Perodua.

I remember in an article stating that only 16% of the current owner of Proton would repurchase another Proton in the future.

drMpower, is satnav available in msia ? didnt know that

aiyohh...so sorry. NAZA do not provide satnavs, but they install those DVD/ surround system inside that biggest vehicle they ever rebadge. forgot that name lah. so sorry.

but satnavs are available on the 7 serieses.

fyi DrMpower,

Naza has its own R&D centre in Gurun at its manufacturing plant. Naza will come up with its own models, not so soon. but there will be.

on the other hand, Proton came up with its R&D and rapid prototype development program after 13-15 years operating, that was in late 90s to prepare for AFTA.

IMO, the Waja platform can be used to built an MPV. just like the Stream (on Civic), Odyssey (on Accord) or Wish (on Avensis if not mistaken).
MPV is the 'in' vehicle nowadays.

I used to live in Guar Chempedak, where Gurun is only 5 kilometres away. Infact, my dad's house is still there and I go back quite often during holidays.

The thing with R&D centre in Gurun is that the facility now used for doing R&D on how to produce better RE-BADGING vehicles. You see that 2.0 L Citra? that's the end product of Naza R&D centre, as far as I and few thousand Gurunians are concerned. Another is the Sportivo Version of the Pininfarina design I-dont-remember-the-name vehicle.

You see, designing and R&D are not that easy things to do. but they are worth every cents once that department is running well.

so i'm guess their strategic partnership(LOLZzz..) talk with Volkswagen Group is already over??

sometime i wonder wtf with Proton and government... why dont they face the mirror to see themself and how big is their d**k head... strategic partnership with the world 4th biggest car manufacture???

I have many friends that drove PROTON b4 but now all of us OP not to get ONE anymore. Do you guys notice such trend ? They rather buy 2nd hand Jap or Perodua.

I remember in an article stating that only 16% of the current owner of Proton would repurchase another Proton in the future.

I remember that article too. And I remember some of that 16% saying they were going to buy Proton again because they had no choice in terms of money. :Not_Impressed:

so i'm guess their strategic partnership(LOLZzz..) talk with Volkswagen Group is already over??

sometime i wonder wtf with Proton and government... why dont they face the mirror to see themself and how big is their d**k head... strategic partnership with the world 4th biggest car manufacture???

strategic partnership within their own geng moar kicks ma. with VW no more kick already where the fun then ?

Write your reply...