Volkswagen calls it off with Proton

Battousai

Nov 16, 2003
www.durifto.blogspot.com
FRANKFURT: Volkswagen (VW) has scrapped plans to cooperate with Proton Holdings Bhd to build and sell VW brand cars for the local market.
“We had a very specific idea how we wanted to proceed there. Unfortunately the Malaysian government, Khazanah and Proton had different ideas. Therefore, what we wanted in the cooperation with Proton will not materialise,” chief executive Bernd Pischetsrieder told investors gathered in Dearborn, Michigan, on Wednesday.

full report here
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/1/13/business/13102730&sec=business

So what comes next for our "National Treasure"? Whats the masterplan for survival in coming years?

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
I heard Proton was very pleased with the succes of Proton SaWi, they're gonna launch Proton Kangkung.

But I'm waiting for the Proton Timun.

zan

Feb 20, 2005
lets hope for the best for Proton.

i cant wait to see the verrryyyy long overdue of new SRM. and hopefully, they will stick to using present satria name, instead of having new name for every model.

zephyr3d

Apr 29, 2005
near steven's
zan said:
lets hope for the best for Proton.

i cant wait to see the verrryyyy long overdue of new SRM. and hopefully, they will stick to using present satria name, instead of having new name for every model.
i doubt it will be the same name... remember that sawi is supposedly TRM? tiara replacement model... :)

gloss

May 23, 2005
SJ
Battousai said:
If everyone already bought sawi, can still buy kangkung?
Personally I prefer brinjal or hamchoy

all vege are good for us la.. buy sawi get free kangkung n hamchoi... but dunno these vege can get cook or not.. cuz claim by ploton the outer part so hard... maybe after cook hard to chiew....

zan

Feb 20, 2005
zephyr3d said:
i doubt it will be the same name... remember that sawi is supposedly TRM? tiara replacement model... :)
that's why laa...dunno why proton so anti-climax one.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
noooooooooooo, i can now not get proton GOLF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bastige !!!!!!

sad. proton need to merge/JV. we just dont have the econommic of scale to complete. whatever ideas they have just flew out the window. to now knock on mitsubishi is asking for trouble.

saving grace?

Battousai

Nov 16, 2003
www.durifto.blogspot.com
So don't cook, make salad.

Just read that Proton stock price is down about 20% since VW's announcement. I guess Proton better make sure they have a DAMN good new product lineup and make it happen FAST.

Plus, apparently MV Augusta was hastily sold in anticipation of a VW entry into Proton, but that's not happening anymore.

NOSkill

koolspyda said:
noooooooooooo, i can now not get proton GOLF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bastige !!!!!!

sad. proton need to merge/JV. we just dont have the econommic of scale to complete. whatever ideas they have just flew out the window. to now knock on mitsubishi is asking for trouble.

saving grace?
If there's a Golf under Proton, it'll be called as some shitty name like Proton Takraw.

SRM will be called Proton Silat or something even stupidier.

zan

Feb 20, 2005
correct, proton dont have the economic of scale to compete.

that's why i always think...how come proton cant be sold in our neighbouring countries?? no doubt other than brunei and singapore, many asian ppl cant aford the luxury to buy cars, let alone imported cars (remember proton has no overseas assembling factory). why cant proton produced cheaper cars then? is it so difficult? or the board of directors are thinking of short term business only?

for example, produced basic spec Waja for thailand, indon, vietnam, and for philipine (LHD i think).
throw away the power windows, power mirrors, alloy wheels, and other unnecessary equipment like fog lights, rear disc brake (use drums laa cheaper) even ICE. apply use of carb instead of EFI. i think this can reduce waja price to about 30K only.

and i also think, we imported reconditioned japanese cars back in the 80s and 90s. why cant we disposed our proton cars to oversea now due to oversupply especially in the used sector??

example like Laos, Kampuchea, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea...try look at any used car dealers in klang valley...at any time they may have 5 iswaras, 10 wiras and 3 wajas in their showroom... poor them.

wira_na

Mar 9, 2004
:shcokedcamo: :emoticon_U: :cry_smile: i read in a forum at www.autoworld.com.my that states that SRM will only be launch at 2007 as proton got "BIG BIG" plan to facelift the existing wira model to become proton awana! muaahahahahaha....anyone got more details ar abt this? Wahh, pro-ton really good ar at facelift arr....wira adi facelift till the face also misfigured jor.....hehehe....

THUMBS UP and HOORAY TO PROTON!!!

zan

Feb 20, 2005
alamak! just converted my 96 wira to SE look... sighh..but this is good news for consumers.

even though, it was understood Wira SE and CE (collector's edition) will be the last wira before they end the assembly line.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
NOSkill said:
If there's a Golf under Proton, it'll be called as some shitty name like Proton Takraw.
SRM will be called Proton Silat or something even stupidier.
if it did happen; VW & proton marriage for Golf platform in proton i dont care what chitty bang-bang name the give lo. :wink:

if it cost at under RM70K; all the noise can be rectified (locally by people not in proton); power windows failure & all -change . so as long it has the VW chasis feel as i cant afford RM220K for a VW golf proper ler. (drawing pararel to perodua Myvi & toyota boon) :wink:

AccordRacing

Feb 2, 2005
kepong
www.zhapalang.com.my
zan,actually the car parts very cheap 1,if u can buy the car body,u seperate buy all stuff also no need as expensive as the price sales in the market,just 1 thing can explain it all,they wan profit margin high,without caring the quality,may be u will ask why they dont wan improve it all?its litle conflict also,if without proton,many ppl will lose their job such like foreman,parts supplier,tranport,factory worker n so on,besides many ppl also hard to afford car due to the replacement parts will be more expensive n just can send back to speacialist workshop to repair,just share my mind

NOSkill

wira_na said:
:shcokedcamo: :emoticon_U: :cry_smile: i read in a forum at www.autoworld.com.my that states that SRM will only be launch at 2007 as proton got "BIG BIG" plan to facelift the existing wira model to become proton awana! muaahahahahaha....anyone got more details ar abt this? Wahh, pro-ton really good ar at facelift arr....wira adi facelift till the face also misfigured jor.....hehehe....

THUMBS UP and HOORAY TO PROTON!!!
Even this sand nigger says "Fuck Proton Arowana".

ehaab

Jul 3, 2005
I think this was a golden opportunity for proton to get back on the right track ..but as usual the "People with Power" had other ideas.

let see what happens to proton..actually, now i am getting sick of bashing proton..as it is hopeless now...they just dont learn from past mistakes made.

zan

Feb 20, 2005
AccordRacing said:
zan,actually the car parts very cheap 1,if u can buy the car body,u seperate buy all stuff also no need as expensive as the price sales in the market,
true, true..

actually, its the tax and custom excise that make the car prices go sky high.

for example, waja price in 2003

Nett Selling Price
inclusive of GASA............ 41,192.74 (UNBELIEVEABLE!!)
Sales Tax.........................4,863.74
Excise Duty......................9,646.92

this not including insurance and road tax yet..! :D

p/s still, i do think the price is on the high side. if waja nett price coming off assembly line is about 28-30K then it will have big chance of penetrating thailand and indonesian market. its too expensive once exported as CBU to those countries.

Time: 4 to 5pm, 21 Nov 2007

Place: SportsPlanet Futsal stadium (big one) ,Subang

Incident:
After finished my exam today, just went to SportsPlanet with my friends.The parking lots were mostly occupied so I just did what other cars did,side parking near to the stadium building.
When I went to take my car around 5pm,I saw my front left door was banged! :mad: I dunno when did the incident happen coz that time was raining heavily, I couldn't hear any sound from the outside! Now the door...