Pak Lah bashed Proton??

it's basically ppl's mentality...
if you compare not by the outlook; lots of reviews and test drivers are backing Savvy as a better car to drive than Myvi.

It's the bad names that's associated with Proton that deters ppl from buying the brand. So basically Branding is an important part in doing business......
What they should do to save their ass is basically do a re-branding exercise.

Re branding by coming out with better technologies and better QA and obviously let other ppl know about it. Without a re-branding exercise, Proton is going down the sewerage pipe!

Basically Proton also lacks ppl who is business minded.
No one knows how to do business...
look at the sales of MV Agusta.......stupid I might say!
if I'm going to sell it of at 1 Euro; I would rather keep it and I guessed the assets if really go bankrupt is also worth more than 1 Euro.....
duh~~
The top management needs a lot of reference from management and business books!.......

Proton is a sure tutup kedai case. RM500m ++ loss is significant enuf to warrant special protection from the courts from creditors. Fortunately for them, the still have the name Danaharta to back them, and whose money is Danaharta using to pay off the debts ??? u guessed it...taxpayers. The rakyat is indirectly funding a loss making entity....it won't be so bad if we, the rakyat, can actually see some light at the end of the long tunnel, its worst when we see nothing at all at the moment.
How could a fantastic partnership with Mitsu go down the drain ? How can mgt let a partner like that go ?? How can mgt not have calculated their potential loss in revenue adn branding if they let Mitsu go ? How in the world did they not calculate worst case scenario ? Ego. Mgt got so fat headed that they snubbed Mitsu, and worse of all both parties ended up losers.
The company can't afford to be put under receivership of worse case liquidated simply becoz of the employment of thousands of locals in the co. (referring to the lower scale employees) These ppl have families to feed & need that monthly income.
Being a consumer, I'd be happiest if they bow their head down and relinquish mgt decision making to a top JAPANESE marque. I would say that is their best bet considering the type of market that Proton markets to. A european, american or korean partnership would jst not bode well with their customer base. Eg. Are we the consumers going to spend premium for parts for a local car ???? I'll bet 98% of their existing customer base & 100% of any new customer would not. This isn't a Merc or BMW or heck even Toyota/Honda class here. Proton cars are marketed towards low/medium income base consumers for heaven's sake !! And the irony is that they, the mgt, fail to understand this and keep thinking that they have a world class product ! Either they are incompetent or they are stupid, either way is the same thing.
In short, bring back the old proven formula to the company that has worked so well, stop being egoistical and FOCUS FOCUS FOCUS on their customers !! .

They should stop coming out with 'new' models just for the sake of coming out with new models.
All the money wasted on piece of shit cars could go to better r&d, better quality control and the result, a better car that everyone is proud to own.

Proton is lost not knowing what kind of market or even product that they are selling.
Im seriously irritated with all the stylings 'trying' to be euro influenced. Don't try. DO

jeeez they can't even get the bloody cup holders to work properly.
If they can't make better designs, they better just stick to copy & paste method like what they have been doing when they were tied with Mitsu. Those cars of that era were good. Now its all just shit.

Proton dont think soo much liao... just turbocharged the waja wira gen-2 satria.. sure sell like hot cakes... hahaaz

Proton now need to find a Jap company to coorperate and rebadging would do .. imagine Proton COlt hehe ..i sure hell would get a colt proton than a savvy..after all it is designed and proven by mitsu ..

Basically Proton also lacks ppl who is business minded.
No one knows how to do business...
look at the sales of MV Agusta.......stupid I might say!
if I'm going to sell it of at 1 Euro; I would rather keep it and I guessed the assets if really go bankrupt is also worth more than 1 Euro.....
duh~~
The top management needs a lot of reference from management and business books!.......

No offense, but you would do well with an accounting book. :p

Agusta had debts and negative financial statements ranging in the tens to hundreds of millions.

cos there's no transparency for the public to evaluate; we don't know the actual whole story.
anyway, by looking at buying a company with 70million euro and decided to dispose it by 1euro is basically outrageous!
I don't know the actual case behind the doors of Proton which is shut so tight.
It could be in the wrong run they might be loosing more......we don't know. It might just be a conspiracy to shun some others away, we also don't know.

MV Agusta is quite a unique brand in the bikers community. I seriously think that we would make a profit if we know the way to market it. Maybe not in M'sia, but we have the whole world. Proton had the chance to market to the whole world.

Either they really given up because there's no way MV could make it; or they never even tried to put in the effort.

All the above is just a personal opinion. No pun intended.

why they dun wan to bring lotus into Malaysia????
wat i think is becoz they dunwan the lotus name turn busuk!!!!
remember proton come out wit crap since mitsu hand off proton

so better leave lotus wit thoose matsalleh

but we can see Gti as a good example of Lotus involving in Proton ..after that no more lo ..even the R3 satria is from Proton Motorsport ..not Lotus

tuned by r3 sound better, would u want nissan tuned by bmw or u want nissan tuned by nismo? get it..

whats the use when R3 is not getting the sales up ? i rather Nissan tuned by BMW if Nismo is like R3 .. Lotus owned by Proton ..then use their tech ..

*insert captain obvious pic

not everyone is a petrolhead you know.

basically the failure of proton is mainly contributed by politics, inside and outside of the company.

other factors like tech, customer service, design, quality are the sub factors that rely on main factor (i.e. managements, policies, execution etc...)

but if we think back, why politics has so strongly polluted proton? well, thanks to NAP and those government craps. 20 years ago, no one believe the opposition voices about protecting proton, now after 2 decades, isn'it proven that this monkey trick is not working? of course suddenly pull out the funding/subsidization will kill proton before tomorrow but yet, when now proton is in real deep shit, maybe they should revamp their internals rather than finding scapegoats like VW to pump in $$, let them continue screw the company with more $$? how long this will last even VW deal are made tomorrow? another 3 years then again fall back into the same problem.

finding the root cause of the problems is the only way to solve proton crisis. otherwise we -- the rakyat will continue paying their losses daily, weekly, monthly and yearly, wouldnt it be great if those hard earnt $$ distributed to do something else good?

i wonder are there any car makers/assembler companies around the world did failed, but return after a few years by accepting failures, shutdown and restructure and back to business later? accepting failure is not a death penalties, it depends whether they have the same guts as they screw rakyat $$ as revamp or otherwise.

just my 2 cents.

i heard last time taiwanese do have their own national car. but after few years
shut down edi n the company now assembly toyota

I MIGHT BE WRONG

cos there's no transparency for the public to evaluate; we don't know the actual whole story.
anyway, by looking at buying a company with 70million euro and decided to dispose it by 1euro is basically outrageous!
I don't know the actual case behind the doors of Proton which is shut so tight.
It could be in the wrong run they might be loosing more......we don't know. It might just be a conspiracy to shun some others away, we also don't know.

MV Agusta is quite a unique brand in the bikers community. I seriously think that we would make a profit if we know the way to market it. Maybe not in M'sia, but we have the whole world. Proton had the chance to market to the whole world.

Sorry, I dont mean to nitpick on you. But the public doesnt give Proton enough credit.

Proton is not stupid, not good enough they may be (even after 20 years of protection), but not stupid. If they could find a way to do what you said, Im sure they would have, but no one probably wanted to pay so much for a bag of debts at that time. If they kept Agusta their current loss would probably be close to a billion instead of just a 'mere' 590+m, they did release some financial information about the case sometime ago IIRC.

Such things happen not only in Proton, Ford, Jaguar and even Mitsubishi Motors and Nissan for example were in trouble as well. So were a lot of major companies. Maserati, like Agusta has had many ownership transfers.

Managing a car manufacturing company is not like managing a biscuit factory, the public doesnt seem to realise that. Operations research is a multi billion dollar industry, if many people are as capable as they think they are in such management they should be paid tens of thousands a month in salary.

My two cents.

b00n: post is not directed at you btw, just in general.

Sorry, I dont mean to nitpick on you. But the public doesnt give Proton enough credit.

Proton is not stupid, not good enough they may be (even after 20 years of protection), but not stupid. If they could find a way to do what you said, Im sure they would have, but no one probably wanted to pay so much for a bag of debts at that time. If they kept Agusta their current loss would probably be close to a billion instead of just a 'mere' 590+m, they did release some financial information about the case sometime ago IIRC.

Such things happen not only in Proton, Ford, Jaguar and even Mitsubishi Motors and Nissan for example were in trouble as well. So were a lot of major companies. Maserati, like Agusta has had many ownership transfers.

Managing a car manufacturing company is not like managing a biscuit factory, the public doesnt seem to realise that. Operations research is a multi billion dollar industry, if many people are as capable as they think they are in such management they should be paid tens of thousands a month in salary.

My two cents.

b00n: post is not directed at you btw, just in general.

why bother giving credit still after so long, its not like we lack funds or market for Proton, its just that the certain way thats its management decides to shoot themselves in the foot.

as for the managerial position you do know it takes more then just its qualification to get it ? got lobang ?

Im not saying that Proton has good management. Im saying that the management just isnt as bad as people think it is, or they wouldnt have been rolling out new models at all and the company wouldnt have been operational.

>as for the managerial position you do know it takes more then just its qualification to get it ? got lobang ?

Read what I said carefully. Youre completely missing the point of my post. A qualified or not person getting a position in Proton's management or not has nothing to do with the stereotypical Proton bashers Im referring to.

zeroed, no harm.......
do agree that car industry is hard to manage.
Even Daimler & Chrysler had to go their own separate ways.......
Now the strongest group I think is still GM i.e. General Motors.
I think the company basically have stakes in most major car makers. For mast consumer that is.

But seriously for the last 10-20 years......Proton does have a head start in our auto industry. It's only when politics is involved that gave us the bad reps that is being remembered like what was commented by davidv00

If they never mixed politics and business I believe they can excel. But no way politics are out of the way cos it basically belongs to our Tun and his henchos.......

So anything attacking him, it would be those that's under his management....i.e. Proton.

And again, xin; R3 was never meant to be tuners like NISMO, RALLIART, HKS etc....
R3 is a separate department for Proton's motorsport involvement. It's basically R3 that's helping Proton a favour by creating limited edition Satria R3 to get the market going. Or the launch is just a marketing gimmick to attract the crowds.

And what's with all lots of ppl saying if the car is turbo charged lar....tuned lar...blah blah...

We're building a family car which talks about comfort, usefulness and affordability.
Not racing and fun car.....Proton is not meant to go classic or exotic that's maybe why Lotus wasn't in there in the first place. As Lotus is meant to be branded as exotic super/sports car..where as Proton is meant to be mass produced for the family markets.

Write your reply...