PROTON gets govt help under 9MP

it's a reasonable n acceptable tat R & D cost so high.....becoz u need to pay for take up a pen, need to pay to open da cap & need to pay to sign da contract or watsoever agreement.....all lump into R&D cost.....tat's how u can see da ridiculous figure....

Dique said:
it's a reasonable n acceptable tat R & D cost so high.....becoz u need to pay for take up a pen, need to pay to open da cap & need to pay to sign da contract or watsoever agreement.....all lump into R&D cost.....tat's how u can see da ridiculous figure....

and don't forget about entertainment fee as well :shades_smile:

ya bro....entertainment is the most important...untuk mereka dan keluarga mereka sahaja....

i think all of the protong R&D department staffs , just sitting there waiting for they're salary only leh ( gaji buta ) .

MALAYSIA BOLEH !

BN BOLEH !

PROTONG BOLEH !

Spend 25.7billion of the rakyat's money on Proton? Sure thing. Just make sure ALL 25.7 billion goes into the company and is managed by proper means... then we may see something similar to a Golf GTi.

Cant afford to subsidise fuel, but can afford to bail out MAS and other companies eh...

trancebum said:
CORRECTION to my posting. Here are the 'development costs' for respective models:

EXPENDITURES (INTERNALLY FUNDED)
Waja development : RM817 million
Gen2 development: RM500 million
SRM development: RM445 million
Savvy development: RM467 million

Source: http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/article_399/page_m.asp

Another source mentions the costs to be >RM1BILLION:
:The Waja, which cost $US300 million to develop, is built in a new facility at Proton's Shah Alam factory near Kuala Lumpur."

source: http://www.redbook.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/76FCF046488967C8CA256A690083426E?OpenDocument

even that much spent, they cant even get glove box right..
i wonder how much is actually spend and how much have been filtered into someone`s pocket..

narx said:
even that much spent, they cant even get glove box right..
i wonder how much is actually spend and how much have been filtered into someone`s pocket..

i feel same.

sure got some bigman" paly number game into pocket !!

bolehland la !!

let say they ask f1 chassis maker reynard to develop chassis with abt rm$200million,pininfarina to design the outlook for another rm$200million then bmw engine for another rm$200million....we got a dream car for rm$600 million equal to usd$150million which consider very very rich budget for a top notch car project...still there are rm$200million which can build a automatic robotic production line...but waja cost the same and the end product so....

toyota only spend abt rm$700million per yr in R & D...we spent that amt just in one model...sumore wif mitsubishi lancer chassis and old 80s engine....rediculous

links said:
toyota only spend abt rm$700million per yr in R & D...we spent that amt just in one model...sumore wif mitsubishi lancer chassis and old 80s engine....rediculous

toyota spent 760bil yen, about 6.5bil USD.
http://www.corporateinformation.com/corpinfo2.asp?cusip=C39290080

but then, the ratio cost of r&d vs sales is another thing. proton isnt even near.

boggysv said:
toyota spent 760bil yen, about 6.5bil USD.
http://www.corporateinformation.com/corpinfo2.asp?cusip=C39290080

but then, the ratio cost of r&d vs sales is another thing. proton isnt even near.

aiks,mine info was wrong ....last read from a mag that they spent abt usd$7000m every yr in R & D.including hybrid and electric turbine system

but with the scale of proton....and the outcome of the project.....the R & D cost simply too high...

Two Words

thc926b190.jpg

stop the demand & it will die sooner or later
with lotsa used car around, they will not survive
& we can only hear & see the gov decisions
because we are in bolehland, when gov say this & taht they want us to say BOLEH !!

The cost for R&D is not that high, its the "side cost" which is high. Some of the people in management may know how to do management, but they may not even have the passion for cars...

just say everybody who work with proton have to use proton's car in return. sure like hell they control the quality of the car.

boggysv said:
aiks...now blur.....long scale or short scale?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_and_short_scales

USD$7000m is USD$7billion......BMW spent about EURO$6.5billion yearly should be around USD$8billion... but the kind of out put is totally awesome, both also studying hybrid technology now.

another question,

Waja is with Mitsubishi platform and engine but howcome the development cost is so much higher then Gen2 and Savvy which supposed to be using new developed platform and engine????? Usually most of the cost in a car development will be used in platform and engine so Waja should have lower cost since its using present platform to modify and no significant new technology in electrical and suspension are in the project.

Does it mean actually GEN2 and Savvy also sharing the mitsu platform from Waja?