NEW SATRIA R3 Topic

• Thread starter shaunchen
  • Start date
  • Replies 243
  • Views 21K
My friend also driving an R3. I tell you, whenever I sit on his body hugging bucket and the hear the deep rumble of the exhaust when he accelerate, I get a hard on man!

Just collected my car from PESC Mutiara today from first service. Sent the car at 7.45am this morning and was 3rd in queue. Gave them a couple of things to sort out on top of the 1,000km first service. Power windows, left speaker not working, right speaker rattling and stiff gears.

To my pleasant surprise they called me at 1.30pm to collect my car.

Got there and checked everything. Damn. Left speaker still not working. Everything else was solved. Waited for another hour before they told me I had to setup another appointment for next week to get the wiring sorted out. Replacing the speaker did not solve the problem.

Sigh. Another trip down Mutiara next Wednesday morning. Will need to leave the car there the whole day.

Oh btw, my mileage went up by 20kms since I left the car there. <_< I wonder why they needed to 'test' my SR3... Grr...

Uh dude, the speaker thingy can normally be solved at any car electrician or ICE shop. If you're doing your tinting, ask em to fix it for you. Normally it would be FOC.

I did that and now no need to wait for Mutiara queues ;)

Originally posted by prozac@Jan 5 2005, 23:42
Uh dude, the speaker thingy can normally be solved at any car electrician or ICE shop. If you're doing your tinting, ask em to fix it for you. Normally it would be FOC.

I did that and now no need to wait for Mutiara queues ;)
They solved the normal rattling right speaker with no problems at all. The left one is the one not working. Cheet!

Is it just me or does my car suddenly feel laggy after service? The car is ultra-smooth and quiet, but seems to have gone 'milder'. :( I don't want a 'mild' car!

Originally posted by Crash@Jan 6 2005, 17:42
Is it just me or does my car suddenly feel laggy after service? The car is ultra-smooth and quiet, but seems to have gone 'milder'. :( I don't want a 'mild' car!
Dang...should've done a dyno run before and after the 1st service, eh? Then you can slam the dyno charts right onto the Mutiara Damansara manager's table.

Now that's starting to worry me. For some reason, most of the jinxes from Proton stem from the service centres. Much like how I started to get idling probs on my 1.6XLi after its first service at EON. Turns out the throttle body was damaged by the mechs during that 1st service. Didn't find out till 20,000km later when I almost crashed so many times due to the engine stalling while driving :angry:

Do check your oil levels. Some mechs might add too much oil to your engine. Engine will definately be smoother, but it's also drowning in oil at the same time.

IIsaw asked me to check my ignition timing. Should be 5 degree BTDC. I'll get it checked by my own mech. I'll also check if its due to my drop-in PiperCross filter. Will get the CAI installed tomorrow and see how that goes.

The car is laggy, dude. Quite apparent. Not nervous and frantic as it initially was. :( Grrrrr....

Yes, the service quality is worrying. What can we do about that? Nothing.

:) so guys hows the R3 running..?
realli rare...cannot c on the road oso...
car running well afta dis period of time..?

Loaded up my car with 250kgs worth of passengers yesterday. Can still feel the pull when I accelerate.

But I think the question on everyone's minds is how it'll perform compared to the early GTi. :)

BTW, sousuke, I heard on Friday there were lots of chicks at the MRCS centre. Were you by chance one of the lucky fellas to sweat together with them? :D

Originally posted by prozac@Jan 9 2005, 09:20
Loaded up my car with 250kgs worth of passengers yesterday. Can still feel the pull when I accelerate.

But I think the question on everyone's minds is how it'll perform compared to the early GTi. :)

BTW, sousuke, I heard on Friday there were lots of chicks at the MRCS centre. Were you by chance one of the lucky fellas to sweat together with them? :D
haha...well i was there...but mostly hang/helped out w/ the GTi club...the rest of the chicks(which IMHO not that interesting :P ) were at the back moving other stuff...where'd u go lah?leaving this poor R3 fellow alone hanging out w/ the GTi club for a TT after that ^_^;;

Originally posted by sousuke+Jan 9 2005, 09:29 -->
QUOTE (sousuke @ Jan 9 2005, 09:29 )
--QuoteBegin-prozac
@Jan 9 2005, 09:20

haha...well i was there...but mostly hang/helped out w/ the GTi club...the rest of the chicks(which IMHO not that interesting :P ) were at the back moving other stuff...where'd u go lah?leaving this poor R3 fellow alone hanging out w/ the GTi club for a TT after that ^_^;; [/b][/quote]
gd ma ur car stand out frm the others hahaa.. :P

Sorry mate had a prior engagement that night. Also had 2 appointments on sat night. But I'll be there tonite. Really need to work off the kilos if I wanna do century sprints after my 1st service :lol:

haha...i guess u'll be the only R3 then tonite...have some family stuff to do ;)

Guys, you may be interested to know that I put my SR3 to the test yesterday evening at PowerZone. I paid a visit after a pal of mine (drives a 4G13P with PowerZone cam + extractor), who was doing an exhaust mod, asked me to drop by at PZ. Told me that the PZ guys especially Sirazul was eager to have a look at the SR3. So I thought, what the hell not, plus the fact that I wanted to de-cat the SR3 anyways.

I got there and instantly popped the bonnet for all to see. Sirazul brought out his GTechPro and asked if I wanted to do a 0-100km/h test run. I told him the car isn't run in, but I'd give it a shot. Zul showed me to a lonely 300m stretch in Glenmarie where we did our first run. The boys at PZ were eager to see if the SR3 really lived up to its stated specs. Being the amateur and absolute drag beginner, I launched the car at 3,000rpm, upshifted at 6,000rpm, popped to second then third...

10.2 seconds.

Swell, Verne. Crap! :lol: We turned round and did another run. Still tentative and conservative, I clocked 9.78 seconds.

Last and final run. Launching at 3,000rpm again, I floored the bugger and continued to upshift at 6,000rpms. 9.2 seconds.

Obviously a non-drag specialist *ahem*, I passed the wheel to Sirazul. He launches at 3,000rpm, upshifts to 2nd at 7,000rpm, pulls it to 7,000rpm again before upshifting to 3rd. I could really feel the pull as the Yokos screeched for traction.

http://www.macxcess.com/images/r3/gtechpro.jpg

8.56 secs. Whoa.

I am still sceptical at how accurate the GTechPro device is, but Sirazul mentioned that stock GTis can manage only late 9s to as high as 10.5s, depending on which year the models were made.

http://www.macxcess.com/images/r3/gtechpro2.jpg

The boys at PZ were excited at the results. I got the SR3 de-catted. Sirazul showed me the LSD kit PZ advertised in Hypertune and explained how it worked. I had a first hand experience of the PZ LSD and reverse handbrake, with a 6.5 second SGTi, owned by Nazrin (nice CF hood bro) of the SGTi Club. With 142 bhp at the wheels, the Powerzone cams powered SGTi is as frantic as they come. The burble at idle is addictive. Nazrin showed me a dyno-sheet of this car - 142bhp atw, 158 Nm max torque. The power + torque curves were haywire, maxing at 5000rpm, dips, then pulls up again to around 7,000rpm. I had sold my Matspeed J5 to Nazrin and he has yet to install it. Once he gets the mapping right, the SGTi would probably do even faster times I reckon.

Nazrin took my SR3 for a spin and I did his. His car is as frantic and addictive as they come. The only thing I dislike were the seats and the lack of steering feel, unlike my SR3. Steering felt very loose although the car pulled and pulled! He loved the SR3 seats and commented that my SR3 was understeery at some high speed corners. Found that a strange remark although it could be due to the fact that the tires were not properly warmed up before we took it for a spin.

http://www.macxcess.com/images/r3/r3-decat.jpg

All in all an interesting day. Oh btw, de-catting is the way to go! The car feels so much punchier and the exhaust note at WOT is fantastic. Touched 199km/h today from KL to Malacca and back. The car is so planted. Yums. So much for gentle run-in. *Gulp* Nice. Go get your cat taken out fellas, you won't regret it!

Woiii....go PZ never call your R3 kaki ya? :angry: Heheh just kidding.

Thought somebody wants to take it easy till 5000km, hmmm? :rolleyes: It looks like the advertised figures from R3 is very doable. Any test results after taking out the cat?

I just got my 1st service done. Gear changes are much smoother now but still a bit rubbery. I'm sure it'll benefit a lot more from a change to stuff like Redline later on.

Oh and I just found a nail embedded straight into my rear left tyre. What bad luck to start the year with! :(

Originally posted by prozac@Jan 10 2005, 14:25
Woiii....go PZ never call your R3 kaki ya? :angry: Heheh just kidding.

Thought somebody wants to take it easy till 5000km, hmmm? :rolleyes: It looks like the advertised figures from R3 is very doable. Any test results after taking out the cat?

I just got my 1st service done. Gear changes are much smoother now but still a bit rubbery. I'm sure it'll benefit a lot more from a change to stuff like Redline later on.

Oh and I just found a nail embedded straight into my rear left tyre. What bad luck to start the year with! :(
It wasn't planned la dude. I'll call you guys when I do a dyno. :D

Like I said it wasn't planned, so when Sirazul asked if I wanted to do a test, I spontaneously said yes, to satisfy my curiosity. Car feels good though. Taking out the cat is a good move. No more apparent lagginess. Just wished I had done another test run with the GTech after.

Yes, I agree the gear change is so much slicker after first service.

Nails in tires are a pain in the ass. Used to get one or two when I had my Persona. Don't know if it was done deliberately, but its really an inconvenience.

i guess someone else is also having fun after taking the cat off :lol: so when's the next TT session? :P