NEW SATRIA R3 Topic

• Thread starter shaunchen
  • Start date
  • Replies 243
  • Views 21K
Just read a few postings ago and its very entertaining to read thinkthink's posting. Whoever he is, out of the blue, this guy suddenly declared himself as the forum's moderator and spoke on behalf all of us.

Anyway, I have a question for the rest of u here.

Why r we discussing about ways to make our cars better? Isn't this thread about the R3? Shouldn't we celebrate it?

OK I know some of you have the confidence to say that: hey, I know all about the complexities of a car. I'm the book of knowledge (that goes for riggy). Some of us missed the point entirely.

The whole idea of R3 and mod cars is making it better to drive. This means making a car not just faster but also fun.

If you add this and that, it makes no sense if its all about adding things and nothing else. If you have more money, you add stuff and thats it. Why?

Carbon bonnets and all that are pointless if the car's difficult or unreliable to use everyday.

Seems that most are speaking as if they are converting their office-going road cars into racing cars. It is nonsense.

How much? Two cents.

big baller: i think the celebratory thread for the r3 is the regular r3 forum. This thread was started for opinions on the r3. I dont have any idea why this topic veered of its beaten path.

i shall accept that remark about the 'book of knowledge' as a compliment. :D

I recently had a discussion with an automotive engineer (attached with one of those french manufacturers in malaysia) about the r3. Surprisingly, he had agreed with me on a few of the points i made. I think his 'book of knowledge' is a few more volumes thicker than mine.

regards

i'm also veering off the beaten path here...

Unfortunately for the french manufacturers, they probably have the same amount of respect from the malaysian motoring public as proton.

There are some differences though, their cars are a whole lot more renown for breaking down, and they depreciate in price quicker than you can pay off the car.

They above may not be true, but i guess that one of the constant mindsets that french manufacturers have to contend with in Malaysia.

yep the public mindset...

but they can be changed.

for example look at subaru in the US.

early 90's it was known as a cheap car manufacturer who builds boring small 4wd cars for the folks who works at farms.

then it decided to bring the WRX to America. every pundit thought "who's going to buy a 4 door turbo car? sedans are not sporty.."
But the WRX had america by storm... as they say and the rest is history.

Subaru is now synonym with performance and forced mitsubishi to bring the evo to america to counter the WRX.

see mindsets can be changed... with exiting products !

Proton can do that too!!

Originally posted by alexz@Dec 21 2004, 13:53
yep the public mindset...

but they can be changed.

for example look at subaru in the US.

early 90's it was known as a cheap car manufacturer who builds boring small 4wd cars for the folks who works at farms.

then it decided to bring the WRX to America. every pundit thought "who's going to buy a 4 door turbo car? sedans are not sporty.."
But the WRX had america by storm... as they say and the rest is history.

Subaru is now synonym with performance and forced mitsubishi to bring the evo to america to counter the WRX.

see mindsets can be changed... with exiting products !

Proton can do that too!!
totally in agreement with you alexz.

i think for proton, all they need to do is deliver a superior product. the mindsets will change automatically after that. They still have a 'captive' audience after all.

agree about mindset...as i said earlier...i own a proton and i love it...but question is, after 2000, is it worth to buy a product with so many flaws in it? price, quality, build quality are issues. Are there perodua bashers aside from it being small and of supposedly low quality materials used? not alot compared to proton. why? is it coz proton was the first? or is it coz perodua inherited disclipine/ work ethics from daihatsu and ultimately the shareholders of daihatsu, toyota? or...too many captains in proton trying to navigate the vessel, proton? one consultant told me that it was a problem for proton when they implemented too many work examples into its structure..imagine mitsubishi base for the factory, vw for production line, toyota for vendor sourcing, honda for R&D but NO proper integration? being rojak isn't good...imagine the waja...you engineer the 1.6 to fit a mitsubishi 1.6, but the 1.8 to fit a renault 1.8...imagine the cost of retooling the chassis to fit either engine....mountings are different...etc...how much cost goes up? how much of the quality issues get settled? ...look at the perdana...my mamak has better tablecloths than the sunshade of the latest v6....after at least a year of ppl owning the latest 'alfa-look' perdana...did they listen to the complaints? they couldnt even force their vendors to come up with better products..how can they help in re-inventing themselves to be the next SUBARU in America?

regards

Mr. Future CEO of Proton,

Price is a very personal and subjective thing. A person who buys an R3 may think a Vios is a waste of money, and vice versa.

We didn't buy the R3 simply because of build quality either. We know what to expect. Or rather, our expectations were placed in other areas.

oh abt the quality... my parents wanted to get our own perdana V6 after using one as a company car. they wanted to buy the new "alfa-look" version. i insisted they get the "mitsubishi-look" V6, coz i've driven the new one all over malaysia once (a few cars at once so got to shuffle between them) and its quality is very poor with cheap plastics and very fragile interior. so with they settled with a 2002 perdana. now they are glad they did not buy the new one coz they have seen themselves their unsatisfied friends new perdana V6.

its not that they cant do a decent car. i think the first few wiras were built with very good quality. i know they can do it (oh yeah the proton company has the highest profit per car in the WORLD!!! it was published in the newspaper not to long ago).

the question is are they willing to sacrifice a little bit of profit for improved quality of their products (not to mention their reputation) ???

you cant blame others (vendors etc etc) for the quality. it was proton who picked the vendors in the first place right?

Drummond Motorsports Suspension (DMS) 50mm Giant Struts..

http://www.dmshocks.com/docs/dms50.html

http://www.dmshocks.com/docs/features.html

Originally posted by llsaw@Dec 24 2004, 09:09
Drummond Motorsports Suspension (DMS) 50mm Giant Struts..

http://www.dmshocks.com/docs/dms50.html

http://www.dmshocks.com/docs/features.html
Slurp! Even the HKS HIper ones cost RM8K!

hahhaa..u wish.. :P i already persuaded him to join this forum..but he's not 'ricer' oops 'racer' type hehehe :lol: ..anyway i wish i own his car..too bad no money liow.. :(

No need to be ricer/racer to join this forum. ZTH is a place for everyone to learn more about their cars and share their experiences.

Originally posted by igor_is300@Dec 29 2004, 22:19
hehehe joking lah.. anyway i will persuade him 1 more time.. :) after he gets his r3..
Hahah understood. It's important for him to also check out our cars and know what problem spots to look for when he gets his.