Proton Satria R3 Lotus Racing Edition

It is a good effort and mind you, the Neo has a very good chassis even from the factory. And supposedly, the chassis is strong enough to take a 2.0l power plant, what more only a 145hp 1.6l one. From day one, R3/Lotus has been more on chassis/lightweight tuning (just look at all the Lotus cars out there), which means a relatively modest output is more than sufficient to propel the car to super car times. No point having 5.0l engine with a heavy body, waste fuel and bad for the environment. Cheers all. On that note, i think this car is worth owning but i myself cannot afford it, yet.

Again,proton not targeting ppl who had low income like me to get the car pay installment leh,its limited and fitted with some fantastic goodies.For some buyer of this car they already had Bmeer,merc,or audi la wei but no harm for new bie to hav it as long as they can efford it.Its juz becoz PROTON badge on it that is why ppl feel so sick of it..Its clearly mention this car tune by R3 division,means lacal la no lotus ppl involve beb,only the handling and the chasis part their give idea.Like the thousand gti out there its far better then some similar level of import car.Well honda does this a year ago when the offer mugen rr version which is RM300K++,where by the FD2R only RM198K..so RM100k extra if you`ll had and start modded it would be more then 250whp or war far more power and goodies. Yet there is a ppl love it but less condem it,since it imported car.I dun like all proton car model but when they do sumting good i compliment them aswell.

yup, lotsa ppl not really know the back of the rm115k... when some1 in this forum trying to compare some Jap made rm5k abs with the Ohlins 1... wat the fuck & another guy dun even know wat is AP Racing, as for him, AP Racing just a "Not Well Known" brand out there...

if base on the rm115k, the bare NEO CPS is rm60k as the statement has been made by 1 of the forumer as below, 60k for the car, the Ohlins DFV r quoted atleast rm16k for McPherson strut type, AP Racing 4 pot with floating rotor atleast cost bout rm8k coz its just a street use model, not the real racing or formula series, that i would more prefer Pro5000++ series, other than that, i'm not sure bout the Titanium header, so just put a side, how bout add another full exterior kits, without Fiber fender & carbon hood, most of u oredy know that the genuine R3 kits can cost u how much, so the fender will cost atleast rm1k & the wet carbon hood can cost bout rm1.2k(if u dunno how mush is the cost of material, just shut the mouth up) plus the rm300 per pair of the carbon pillar garnish, full stainless steel ekzos system, simply rm1.4k while the uderdrive pulley, atleast rm600. here we come to the cam, if just regrind cam, rm1k shld b ok, but if the special made cam by R3, atleast cost ur rm2.2k & with R3 ECU with tuning, rm3k(minimum)... the cam pulley oso cost bout rm800 per pair from R3 as well... just simply a few things, just add it up & see how much u shld pay if buy a CPS & try to follow the spec of the Lotus 1...
the Advanti wheel shld cost at rm2.3k i guess, so with RE001 rubber, estimated rm3.3k...
Interior wise, Nappa leather, most of ppl know the leather only for S-Class & above in Merc right.. hahhaa, how much will it cost if re-wrapped the seat?? bout rm4k for front & rear seat...
almost forgot the Hard Bush kits, mostly will quoted at rm1.2k for whole car... so, just add it up & get the almost rm115k for this Lotus Neo...
so, with the price tag of 115k, & own a limited & road legal race car alike(the outlook) is worthy for me... atleast i dun scared JPJ will kacau me when look at my Carbon Hoods...

just hope they will have Stage-2 or 3 engine tuned up plan for this car la... just hope so...

AIYAAA...TOO MUCH EXPENSIVE FOR A LOCAL CAR.... RM115K..? ONLY WITH THOSE PARTS THAT NOT WELL KNOWN...?? LIKE THE AP Racing brake caliper....AND ENGINE FINE TUNE TO 145HP ONLY MAA...COME ON PROTON....

AP racing brakes, Ohlin coilovers, advanti rims, 145PS and 115k RM doesn't rhythm..

i believe they could have spent more time on R&D and slap on a turbo to make it 220hp on a AWD system that they used for their rally and then include all the bombastic brands for their parts.
Seems like they are trying to keep price down but want to add super expensive parts.

Anyway from my point of view, a brand new neo cps only cost 60k, we can spend 20k to do a custom turbo set up and bring its output up to 220hp(with reliability). spend another 5k on average branded BBK, 5k on avg japanese coilovers, 5k on japanese rims, 5k on exterior bodykit, cf bonnet etc and probably another 8k on bucket seats.

total cost = 60+20+5+5+5+5+8= 108k
this is just a estimated figure and i believe proton has the expertise and better economy of scale than a ordinary car enthusiast and this figure could be further much reduced. So probably they are trying to earn a huge chunk out of their current limited edition.

just my 2 cents...don't flame me :)

Congrats R3.

Now what I wish R3 could have done, is to make one stooopidly outrageous Neo. Just one, just for fun. Like the Golf GTI made by VW with the W12 Bentley engine. Fearsome one that.

vw can pick from quite a longe range of hi-performance engines.
the most powerful proton engine, to date, is the perdana's.. you dun wan that in a neo. :biggrin:

vw can pick from quite a longe range of hi-performance engines.
the most powerful proton engine, to date, is the perdana's.. you dun wan that in a neo. :biggrin:

Well... the Lotus Evora can have an unker-Camry engine init. A tuned one at that. Good for 280ps NA. Not too shabby at all.

And that's not just for one funky showcar. That's for e-v-e-r-y Evoras out there.

Why can't R3 just shove a tuned 6A12 at the back of the seats, just for kicks? Or maybe a S2000-spec Campro?

Well... the Lotus Evora can have an unker-Camry engine init. A tuned one at that. Good for 280ps NA. Not too shabby at all.

And that's not just for one funky showcar. That's for e-v-e-r-y Evoras out there.

Why can't R3 just shove a tuned 6A12 at the back of the seats, just for kicks? Or maybe a S2000-spec Campro?

imo you can't have that sort of mods in about 3 weeks. besides, with stock engine still bolted in place, the price ends up 60K too expensive aledi. :biggrin:

they can do it provided they have extra funds for R&D,build-up cost,safety tests and price tag that comes with it. How much are u willing to pay for a rear engine proton?

Fair point. Extra funds. R&D.

Just one thing: how much are you willing to pay for the W12-engined Golf?

You can't even if you want to. It's not open for sale.

How much are you willing to pay for the SR20-engined Waja?

Same thing. It's not open for sale.

Both are showcars.

Well, if you want to ask Proton to make a production version of the showcar, you can.

I know I didn't.

As you know Proton is a young car company unlike the larger,more experienced ones that date back years of heritage and history that have extra funds and time to produce one-offs from production cars, or so to say,prototypes that reflects their company status and ability to create new ideas.

Even as your quote goes, "Why can't R3 just shove a tuned 6A12 at the back of the seats, just for kicks? Or maybe a S2000-spec Campro?"...What is there to prove?

As you know Proton is a young car company unlike the larger,more experienced ones that date back years of heritage and history that have extra funds and time to produce one-offs from production cars, or so to say,prototypes that reflects their company status and ability to create new ideas.

Even as your quote goes, "Why can't R3 just shove a tuned 6A12 at the back of the seats, just for kicks? Or maybe a S2000-spec Campro?"...What is there to prove?

And your point is?

Proton is by no means a young company. Nearly 30 already dude.

It is the conservative attitude that keeps Proton from evolving. This whole idea that if we do just a little bit and partner up with other car companies for technology we will be able to just scrape by. Were it different and Proton was looking for major market share (the right way, in a fair open market), perhaps then you would see a Mivec 6A12 in the engine bay of the Neo, til then...

Whoah bro, easy...

The discussion starts with "What I wish..." and it remains that. A wish.

Then delicious fruits were added like 'V6 cannot put in Neo', 'price will be sky-high', and it becomes rojak buah ady. When one-off showcar oso need to kira?

I can't remember wishing for a production car. I wish for a one-off showcar. Wish oso kena shoot down meh? Chia lat lar liddat. :biggrin:

Looking at this for an example, by their makes and long heritage to R&D new cars along the way makes proton a young company unlike the larger ones i mentioned.
20 Famous Car Manufacturers - Famouswhy

Anyway, my point is proton is still concentrating in providing cars for the lower-medium income group.Trying to make it affordable for the ppl,of course the AP issue is another topic. But right now they just recently tapped into the sports segment for their production cars and still relatively new at it. So when i read some of these comments, I can't help but to wonder why is everyone comparing a good effort of this neo from R3 to cars which has a longer history and experience? namely 2nd hand JDM's. And to those car makers who could produce one-offs, they have alot of funding and time...its out of topic anyway.

YouTube - IGNITION.MY FIRST DRIVE: PROTON Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing

Adian Yein drives the SNR3LR

---------- Post added at 09:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:01 AM ----------

It is kind of odd that it would only do a claimed 9.2 seconds, when the original 4g93 GTI was posting 7.8 seconds brand new (Before the Siemens ECU). The weight is relatively the same. In fact the horsepower is more in the Lotus R3 Neo... weird.

Claimed weights.. as we know is open to intrepretation. weight as tested, such as those done by race teams are different to weights listed in brochures

And most SGTI owners know that 7.8 seconds couldn't be emulated. Do remember R3's original Satria R3 could only do an actual 8.7 seconds.

CAMPRO power delivery pales in comparison to 4G93 power delivery.

I did it in my SGTI premod :D

Yeah i know about proper engine break in could have helped ;)

I did it in my SGTI premod :D

Yeah i know about proper engine break in could have helped ;)

With proper Timing Gear and with corrected speedo? or with hand timing and based on the over reading std speedo? :hmmmm:

If it's the former, I'm impressed. If it's the latter , don't worry, many were fooled too :burnout:

Timing gear yes, proper timing gear no. Corrected speedo *shrug*, your guess would be as good as mine.

You know me, i'm as superficial as it gets. :D

looks cool but seriously proton should come up with another version of 1.8 GTi instead. i seriously believe there is a strong demand in that category.

will be cool if they make sumthing like 100hp per liter...but overall i still love tat proton really has make a lot of improvement thru all these years

Adian should adjust the mirror before driving...in the wet - bad example. Lesen dari mana weiii :biggrin: Impressive vid though. The part about airbags explains a lot!

It's just too bad a car with this engineering isn't available to the masses (of 150) as the SR3 was.